Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-22-04, 11:07 AM   #1
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default MSI K8N Neo Platinum and hypertransport

Can someone please explain to me how MSI K8N Neo Platinum uses hypertransport? What is the option in the bios for hypertransport used for? What is it's advantages/disadvantages?

Last edited by discipledoc; 06-22-04 at 11:23 AM.
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-04, 11:09 AM   #2
{Sniping}Waste
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 264
Default Re: MSI K8N Neo Platinum and hyperthreading

There is no hyperthreading with AMD K8.
{Sniping}Waste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-04, 11:23 AM   #3
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: MSI K8N Neo Platinum and hypertransport

Edited because of wrong terminology.
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-04, 11:25 AM   #4
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,795
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default Re: MSI K8N Neo Platinum and hypertransport

Hypertransport shoud already be in use with the chipsets.
__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-04, 11:31 AM   #5
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: MSI K8N Neo Platinum and hypertransport

What is the option in the bios used for?
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-04, 11:35 AM   #6
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,795
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default Re: MSI K8N Neo Platinum and hypertransport

try here dude
http://www.rojakpot.com/default.aspx...ar1=107&var2=0
__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-04, 02:58 PM   #7
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: MSI K8N Neo Platinum and hypertransport

one sec.. gonna look it up in the msi docs

am assuming you have the same or similar bios to me (cept with working locks... you lucky bastard )

-edit- ok its different

you have something called a cell menu somewhere in your bios... this is very different from mine..

anyways the basic thing you are looking for is something called HT frequency...

I presume your mobo handles upto 1000Mhz on the HT bus... the basic clock is 200 x whatever number... it should run @ 800 standard which implies its HT x4... HT x5 will be 1000MHz..

you also have a software Cell menu... check that out as well to see if you have more options...

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Cell menu.JPG
Views:	142
Size:	50.6 KB
ID:	6486  
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-04, 03:01 PM   #8
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: MSI K8N Neo Platinum and hypertransport

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar
one sec.. gonna look it up in the msi docs

am assuming you have the same or similar bios to me (cept with working locks... you lucky bastard )

-edit- ok its different

you have something called a cell menu somewhere in your bios... this is very different from mine..

anyways the basic thing you are looking for is something called HT frequency...

I presume your mobo handles upto 1000Mhz on the HT bus... the basic clock is 200 x whatever number... it should run @ 800 standard which implies its HT x4... HT x5 will be 1000MHz..

you also have a software Cell menu... check that out as well to see if you have more options...


Thanks Saz,
Why are you not going with a better board?
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-22-04, 04:58 PM   #9
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: MSI K8N Neo Platinum and hypertransport

remember I had that car accident...

that changed priorities for me...

@ the moment the neo fisr2 is sufficient for my needs and I don't want to spend money on anything else @ the moment..

my first priority is to save money up for my gf to get a car... then I'll drive her old one and after that I'll decide what to do

ideally I want to get a new video card before I get a new board (unless pci-E becomes prevalent by then)

glad you were able to get your stuff sorted out

I have oodles of athlon64 info if you ever need a tidbit

check for me on the IRC forum if I am logged into NVN m8...

cheers...
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.