Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-20-02, 10:53 AM   #1
vampireuk
**** Holster
 
vampireuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: The armoury
Posts: 2,813
Send a message via AIM to vampireuk
Default help...

I've just installed win2k on a partition, everything was fine but now I cant use XP, I select XP at start up and it complains about a file from 2000 been missing. I'm not going to swear but im getting very annoyed at all this crap now. All I want to do is Format E: and delete every single damn remnant of win2k now. But it seems I cant even do that now ffs anyone know what i can do?
__________________
I put children in microwaves.
vampireuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-02, 11:11 AM   #2
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Did the WinXP bootloader get killed?

If you have the WinXP CD, boot off of it and go to the Recovery Console. Use fixmbr and fixboot (I think), and that should fix the bootloader.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-02, 11:16 AM   #3
volt
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 1,556
Default

What happened (I believe) is that Windows (any ver.) tries to install its bootloader onto the primary partition on the primary drive. In the end you end up messing up one bootloader or another. Even if you fix the Win2K loader the XP won't boot.
__________________
[b]Optimization guidelines by Koji Ashida of NVIDIA:[/b][list][*]Use fx12 instructions whenever possible[*]Use lowest pixel shader version[/list][url=http://developer.nvidia.com/docs/IO/10878/ChinaJoy2004_OptimizationAndTools.pdf]source[/url]

[size=1]The politics are invading the technology. We don't really like to mess with politics because that kind of adversarial relationship has nothing to do with pure technical operations and the technical specifications of what we like to play with, the hardware![/size]
volt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-02, 11:23 AM   #4
vampireuk
**** Holster
 
vampireuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: The armoury
Posts: 2,813
Send a message via AIM to vampireuk
Default

so I guess I need the XP cd then.....

I'll head down to sys tommorow then

For now im stuck with 800x600 apparently I dont have a sound card and 16 yes count them 16 colours!! anyone got any crayons?
__________________
I put children in microwaves.
vampireuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-02, 06:02 AM   #5
vampireuk
**** Holster
 
vampireuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: The armoury
Posts: 2,813
Send a message via AIM to vampireuk
Default

Well I have the desktop issues sorted out, I shall always remember to install xp last
__________________
I put children in microwaves.
vampireuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.