Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-21-02, 01:11 AM   #1
tokevino
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5
Post Quake 3 for Linux?

I've read some of the articles here about Q3A and Linux. I have a Q3A disc for WIN. Does it contain a version for Linux? If not, where can I get / buy a copy?

Thanks.
tokevino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-02, 05:44 AM   #2
lanwah
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

hi

if you have Quake3 (windows full version) it is possible to get it working on linux

first make a folder called...
/usr/local/games/quake3

then place your Quake3 cd in your cdrom and mount it
mount /dev/cdrom

then goto /mnt/cdrom/quake3/
and copy the folder baseq3 to
/usr/local/games/quake3/

then download the linux binaries
ftp://ftp.idsoftware.com/idstuff/qua...t-1.32.x86.run

and install

then just type
sh quake3 or ./quake3

to run the game

hope this helps
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-02, 11:11 PM   #3
tokevino
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5
Talking Thx a lot!

Information is very helpful! Thx a lot.
tokevino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-02, 12:23 PM   #4
luigi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 11
Default Almost the same applies also to Return To Castle Wolfenstein!

I had to say this, since I have not played Quake at all after I got Wolf to run with Linux.

Only difference is, that you need to install the windows version somewhere and after that copy the game data (the "main" directory) under /usr/local/games/wolfenstein/

Then get the installer from www.castlewolfenstein.com and have fun!

The game works perfecly and you will have a good time shooting the windows players.
luigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-02, 11:05 AM   #5
king baytor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 6
Question

what installer??? please help.... i've already copied the rtcw order from my windows partition to linux... plz... tell me what installer i have to download ... and how to use it...
king baytor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-02, 01:10 PM   #6
luigi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by king baytor
what installer??? please help.... i've already copied the rtcw order from my windows partition to linux... plz... tell me what installer i have to download ... and how to use it...
It is very easy the make this work.
Download links to the installer are
1. http://www.3dgamers.com/dl/games/ret...l.x86.run.html
2. http://www.fileshack.com/file.x?fid=132

Once you have downloaded the file, just open terminal (command prompt) and go where you saved the file and type these two commands:
chmod u+x wolf*
./wolf-linux-1.4-full.x86.run

The installer asks some questions and then you can start playing.. (Of course you had to copy the "main" directory from windows wolf to /usr/local/games/wolfenstein before you started the installer.)
luigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-02, 09:42 PM   #7
king baytor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 6
Lightbulb

kuul... wow.. it works.. thx...
king baytor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-02, 11:24 PM   #8
Budious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 12
Default

Is there any way to run the Team Arena expansion on linux or does ID not support it?
Budious is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-16-02, 08:46 AM   #9
luigi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 11
Default Yes, it is possible.

Quote:
Originally posted by Budious
Is there any way to run the Team Arena expansion on linux or does ID not support it?
If you downloaded the linux version of Quake3, you already have support for that. (It is the same binary for both games.) The only thing what you need to do, is once again copy the maps from your windows version. Maps are saved in *.pk3 files. If they are inside a directory like "teamarena" you must copy the whole directory.

Also, make sure to check out the many quake3 mods that are freely available from the net. some links:

www.urbanterror.net
www.quakerally.com
www.q3f.com

All these are free, and work with Linux.

Luigi.
luigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quake II Is 15, You Are Old News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 12-08-12 09:20 AM
Scientists Link Deep Wells To Deadly Spanish Quake News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 10-22-12 04:10 AM
302.17 = FPS drops in Quake Live Lamieur NVIDIA Linux 0 06-18-12 01:13 PM
Point release 1.32 for Quake 3 is out styles-T Gaming Central 16 10-10-02 12:42 PM
Doom 3 technology for Quake 1 Kruno Gaming Central 104 10-09-02 09:56 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.