Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-05-04, 08:33 AM   #121
andyrock
Registered User
 
andyrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: EU / Portugal
Posts: 110
Default Re: 1.0-6106 for X86-32 thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by rufnut
anyone tried the smaller pkg0 drivers for 6106 ?
I did... I always download the pkg0 file... it's smaller and has no precompiled kernel interfaces. That's the only diference.
__________________
AndyRock

--
1. Toshiba M30-742 | Centrino/Pentium-M 1700mhz | Geforce FX 5200Go
2. Celeron (Tualatin) 1400mhz | Geforce Ti 4800SE
andyrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-04, 11:29 AM   #122
erek
 
erek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 220
Send a message via ICQ to erek Send a message via AIM to erek
Default Re: 1.0-6106 for X86-32 thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by erek
alright, i want to request a change:
I have a BFG GeForce 6800 GT OC the PCI (device) ID is 0x0045 and is not recognized by the 6106 drivers:
Code:
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: unknown board/AGP/SSE/3DNOW!
OpenGL version string: 1.5.1 NVIDIA 61.06
also i'd like to know specifically not based on speculation why my core temperatures differ by ~20C in Linux from Win32, my gpu idles at ~53C in win32, but a constant 70+ C in Linux, "ripperda" speculates that because the drivers /statically/ start engines such as "overlay" up front instead of when the engine is needed /dynamically/ (win32) that the heat could be from that, so could you PLEASE take a more win32 approach to this, even though 70+ C is WELL within specifications of operation, i still find it quite WARM for this type of weather in my area which is only going to get a lot warmer...

why does it feel like i'm ultimately being ignored on this? i paid a lot of money for this card and expected some support in return for the pricetag..
erek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-04, 12:06 AM   #123
MadEgg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 88
Default Re: 1.0-6106 for X86-32 thread

Hmm. Performance has improved over the last version, my ut2003 flyby-asbestos score increased from 76 to 80. Not a huge gain but still.

But the tv-out and console problems still have not been solved. I still get the occasional scrambled consoles or lockups when switching virtual consoles or when exitting X after using tv-out on my A-Bit Siluro Ti4400 with BIOS version 04.25.00.37.00, the latest available for that card. I upgraded it because of an advice somewhere on this forum as that might help on this problems which it didn't.

I would really like some insight on this from Andy or someone else from nvidia as what exactly is the problem and why it hasn't been solved yet, for me and others as I read on this forum. I really like the performance gain and nvidia-settings thing, and I do appreciate the work on the drivers but I would much rather have a stable working card with a stable working tv-out.
__________________
Proud owner of GF 6800 Ultra AGP and GF 6600 AGP
MadEgg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-04, 03:31 AM   #124
dae
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 40
Default Re: 1.0-6106 for X86-32 thread

I also had the well known problems with virtual consoles (vesafb), until I switched from DVI to VGA. And at once the garbled consoles were gone. Now to the funny part: I can use the DVI port, if I also connect the VGA (to the same monitor of course). So, DVI only does not work, but all other combinations does. I don't use TV-out.

Last edited by dae; 07-06-04 at 06:49 AM.
dae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-04, 04:43 AM   #125
lotheac
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 25
Default Re: 1.0-6106 for X86-32 thread

My virtual terminals still don't work, and I can't seem to figure why. I don't have _any_ secondary display devices, don't use the DVI cable and even added Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "DFP,TV" to my XF86Config-4. So, I'm back to using 4620, still. No 4k stacks though.
lotheac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-04, 06:01 AM   #126
MadEgg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 88
Default Re: 1.0-6106 for X86-32 thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by dae
I also had the well known problems with virtual consoles, until I switched from DVI to VGA. And at once the garbled consoles were gone. Now to the funny part: I can use the DVI port, if I also connect the VGA (to the same monitor of course). So, DVI only does not work, but all other combinations does. I don't use TV-out.
I didn't use DVI before because it already gave me problems on Windows. Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time did not work if I connected my monitor to the DVI-port, it would say 'No valid video mode found' or something like that. Took me ages to figure out what was the problem, helpdesk couldn't help me any further.

Anyway, I'm using CRT only or CRT/TV and both give me problems with consoles and framebuffer.
__________________
Proud owner of GF 6800 Ultra AGP and GF 6600 AGP
MadEgg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-04, 06:06 AM   #127
dae
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 40
Default Re: 1.0-6106 for X86-32 thread

So to sum it up: the virtual console issue has not been resolved... :-) I hope it will soon. The last driver version that worked without any workarounds was 46.20.
dae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-04, 07:51 AM   #128
SuLinUX
 
SuLinUX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 847
Default Re: 1.0-6106 for X86-32 thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by erek
why does it feel like i'm ultimately being ignored on this? i paid a lot of money for this card and expected some support in return for the pricetag..
Well first you have to estabish if it's a driver issue, sensors telling you the wrong temp in Linux. Why do you think nvidia are going to respond here?, they dont in the WIndows forum.
__________________
AthlonXP 2600+ / nForce2 Asus A7N8X-X / PNY GeForce FX5900 Ultra / 1024Mb Samsung Ram /nForce Sound / Hansol 920D Plus 19" monitor / Lite-On 32x12x40 / 2x Maxtor HD 40Gb/80Gb / nVidia 7174 driver / Gnome 2.10.1 / Kernel 2.6.11.9 / Slackware 10.0
SuLinUX is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-06-04, 07:56 AM   #129
SuLinUX
 
SuLinUX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 847
Default Re: 1.0-6106 for X86-32 thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadEgg
I didn't use DVI before because it already gave me problems on Windows. Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time did not work if I connected my monitor to the DVI-port, it would say 'No valid video mode found' or something like that. Took me ages to figure out what was the problem, helpdesk couldn't help me any further.

Anyway, I'm using CRT only or CRT/TV and both give me problems with consoles and framebuffer.
I've been using my CRT monitor though the DVI connector since using Linux and never had any issues with it. I also find it sharper than the standard vga port.
__________________
AthlonXP 2600+ / nForce2 Asus A7N8X-X / PNY GeForce FX5900 Ultra / 1024Mb Samsung Ram /nForce Sound / Hansol 920D Plus 19" monitor / Lite-On 32x12x40 / 2x Maxtor HD 40Gb/80Gb / nVidia 7174 driver / Gnome 2.10.1 / Kernel 2.6.11.9 / Slackware 10.0
SuLinUX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-04, 01:36 PM   #130
dzr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to dzr Send a message via MSN to dzr Send a message via Yahoo to dzr
Default Re: 1.0-6106 for X86-32 thread

I'm having a similar problem to blackbard in comment #53. Everything seems to be fine except Quake 3 which looks exactly like blackbard's screenshot. Here's another screen shot:

http://www.dzr-web.com/q3shot.png

I have a GeForce4 440 Go graphics card and the latest (6106) NVidia driver installed on FC2 with kernel 2.6.6-1.435.2.3. Note that I did not install the 6106 driver via NVidia's official installer, but from beta livna.org RPMs (see http://bugzilla.livna.org/show_bug.cgi?id=83). Therefore, this may well be a packaging bug rather than a bug with the driver or the game.

Tux Racer, Chromium, the OpenGL X Screensavers, and Unreal Tournament 2004 Demo are all absolutely fine and play/work as expected. However, in Quake 3 the 3D rendering is all messed up, and everything looks "blocky".

If anyone knows why only Quake 3 would be affected like this, and knows what the likely problem is it would be very useful if they could let me know so that I can report back to the packager.
dzr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-04, 05:23 PM   #131
Arthur
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 14
Default Re: 1.0-6106 for X86-32 thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwy
My advise is for you to find out which AGP chip set your motherboard uses. If it is not listed in the README.txt, you will likely have the most sucess adding/modifying the following:
Option "NvAGP" "0"

Good Luck.
Yep tried with agp disabled, no difference. I've got a SIS650, which is actually listed as being supported. However I couldn't get the drivers to use the nvidia agp drivers, as they said the agpgart was already loaded. Couldn't spot it in `lsmod`, so assumed it was compiled into the default kernel.
Arthur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-04, 05:33 PM   #132
markguz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5
Default Re: 1.0-6106 for X86-32 thread

Hi there,

New drivers seem to be a big improvement in all but one area.

After I installed the latest drivers, twinview borked.

My attached monitor still displays fine @ 1600x1200 and but my laptop display only occupies exactly 50% of the screen split vertically down then middle. The laptop is a HP Compaq nx9105 with a 1280x800 Wide aspect lcd. The built in card is a GeForce4 420 Go 32M. I am running SuSe 9 with a stock 2.6.7 kernel from kernel.org
Everything worked fine until I put the new drivers in.

here is the relevant excerpt from my XF86Config:

Section "Device"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce4 420 Go 32M"
Driver "nvidia"
Identifier "Device[0]"
Option "TVStandard" "PAL-B"
Option "TwinView" "True"
Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "31.5-100"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "59-76"
Option "MetaModes" "1600x1200, 1280x800"
Screen 0
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
EndSection

I've also tried using the NVAgp settings but they change nothing ;-(

Any help would be appreciated.

THanks

Mark Guz
markguz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.