Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-06-04, 04:36 PM   #133
theduke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3
Thumbs up Re: 1.0-6106 for X86-32 thread

Gentoo, 2.6.3-ck2, KDE.
The ebuild caused errors (can't remember), but the original Nvidia-Driver removed all previous drivers correctly and works great, including the setup-tool.

Thumbs up Nvidia, keep up the good work!

cya,
theduke
theduke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-04, 02:13 PM   #134
MadEgg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 88
Default Re: 1.0-6106 for X86-32 thread

Why doesn't anyone of nvidia ever respond to these things? I'd really love to see at least an excuse for the problems of previous versions still not being solved, like the most important, twinview/tv-out...
__________________
Proud owner of GF 6800 Ultra AGP and GF 6600 AGP
MadEgg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-04, 02:44 PM   #135
catimimi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 52
Default Re: 1.0-6106 for X86-32 thread

Instead of asking for excuses, you have to thank Nvidia which did a great job and is alone to support Graphics cards with TVout under Linux. Did you ask Matrox or ATI to
provide correct drivers for Linux, we need the work of Petr and of Gatos to have something at 640x480 !!

So thanks Nvidia and yes I need TVout at 1024x768 but I'm sure it'll be back soon.

Michel.
catimimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-04, 02:59 PM   #136
Sparrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1
Default Re: 1.0-6106 for X86-32 thread

Just posting an email I have just sent to NVidia:

Hi!

I just downloaded and successfully installed the NVIDIA's Linux driver version 1.0-6106 for X86-32. I own a Geforce4 MX 440-SE AGP-8X 64MB and it worked fine under x.org window manager (i use Slackware 10.0).

The only problem i got is when I am using TWinView, i can't get resolution greater than 640x480 for the TV. I am using CRT with 1024x768 and I would like my TV working with that resolution too (or at least at 800x600, but I don't want to use panning domain!!).

The Windows version of the driver it is possible to configure my CRT to use a resolution of 1024x768 and my TV using the resolution of 800x600 WITHOUT PANNING DOMAIN, so in Windows, I don't need to scrool the mouse pointer to see all the screen on my TV.

Here goes the relevant part of my xorg.conf file:

Section "Device"
Identifier "VESA Framebuffer"
Driver "nvidia"
#VideoRam 4096
# Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
Option "TwinView"
Option "MetaModes" "1024x768,640x480 @1024x768"
Option "HorizSync" "CRT-0: 34.5 - 50.0, TV-0: 60 - 50"
Option "VertRefresh" "CRT-0: 40 - 90, TV-0: 60"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"

EndSection

Note that if I change the line:

Option "MetaModes" "1024x768,640x480 @1024x768"

for:

Option "MetaModes" "1024x768,800x600"

My X Window Manager won't start! :-(

Hope to get some help from you soon!

Best Regards.

Sparrow
Sparrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-04, 03:18 PM   #137
MadEgg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 88
Default Re: 1.0-6106 for X86-32 thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by catimimi
Instead of asking for excuses, you have to thank Nvidia which did a great job and is alone to support Graphics cards with TVout under Linux. Did you ask Matrox or ATI to
provide correct drivers for Linux, we need the work of Petr and of Gatos to have something at 640x480 !!

So thanks Nvidia and yes I need TVout at 1024x768 but I'm sure it'll be back soon.

Michel.
Well, I do appreciate the effort they've put into it but as far as I can see with the latest releases they definitely got their priorities mixed up. I can deal with a quite complicated setup as long as they work stable. Instead they create a settings-utility(which does look cool btw) for somewhat unstable drivers.

As long as my console keeps getting b0rked by trying to use twinview or switching virtual consoles at all, the drivers are only partially usable for me and I still need to turn to Windows for lots of things, which I'd rather not do.

The resolutions-thing on TV-out it quite strange as well as the latest windows drivers do allow me to enable TV-out on 1024x768 and the like...
__________________
Proud owner of GF 6800 Ultra AGP and GF 6600 AGP
MadEgg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-04, 03:43 PM   #138
catimimi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 52
Default Re: 1.0-6106 for X86-32 thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadEgg
Well, I do appreciate the effort they've put into it but as far as I can see with the latest releases they definitely got their priorities mixed up. I can deal with a quite complicated setup as long as they work stable. Instead they create a settings-utility(which does look cool btw) for somewhat unstable drivers.

As long as my console keeps getting b0rked by trying to use twinview or switching virtual consoles at all, the drivers are only partially usable for me and I still need to turn to Windows for lots of things, which I'd rather not do.

The resolutions-thing on TV-out it quite strange as well as the latest windows drivers do allow me to enable TV-out on 1024x768 and the like...

With the 4620 release, eveerything works for your card, twinview, not garbled consoles, 1024x768 tv-out. So what do you want more, use 4620 and wait for 6106 to be OK. It is easy to criticize and to compare to windows which is a system which changes every two years, while Linux is for our happiness in permanent evolution. You have to understand that Nvidia people have to adapt permanently to these evolutions instaed of fine tunig a frozen system.

And I don't work for Nvidia nor for Gates.

Michel.
catimimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-04, 03:52 PM   #139
MadEgg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 88
Default Re: 1.0-6106 for X86-32 thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by catimimi
With the 4620 release, eveerything works for your card, twinview, not garbled consoles, 1024x768 tv-out. So what do you want more, use 4620 and wait for 6106 to be OK. It is easy to criticize and to compare to windows which is a system which changes every two years, while Linux is for our happiness in permanent evolution. You have to understand that Nvidia people have to adapt permanently to these evolutions instaed of fine tunig a frozen system.

And I don't work for Nvidia nor for Gates.

Michel.
4620 is another driver which *does not work* for me. None of the drivers have worked well until back in the 3xxx series where at least the consoles didn't garble normally. Twinview didn't work properly either then though.
Another problem is that those drivers don't work with 2.6 and I hate patching them...

Besides, this problem has existed for ages. Why hasn't it been fixed?

What I would really like to see in a next version(what they announced they are working on ) is TwinView being controllable while X is running(just like it is in Windows for that matter), and the console-bugs being fixed.

Something I'd like to know, do the same console problems occur on the newer nvidia-cards? FX5950 and/or GF 6800?
__________________
Proud owner of GF 6800 Ultra AGP and GF 6600 AGP
MadEgg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-04, 04:30 PM   #140
catimimi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 52
Default Re: 1.0-6106 for X86-32 thread

4620 works well with kernel 2.6 without any patch on the kernel. See www.minion.de

What I can tell is that there is no console problem with windows, since windows doesn't offer virtual consoles !! If you take in consideration that if you want TV out, you are not allowed to use fb console at boot or it will be garbled and that even if TV out is disabled but that a TV is connected to the card, you won't be allowed to have a definition higher that 800x600, I've (with kernel 2.6.7-bk20) no problem either with 4620 or 6106 except that in the last case TVout is 800x600 maximum.
catimimi is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-07-04, 04:44 PM   #141
MadEgg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 88
Default Re: 1.0-6106 for X86-32 thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by catimimi
4620 works well with kernel 2.6 without any patch on the kernel. See www.minion.de

What I can tell is that there is no console problem with windows, since windows doesn't offer virtual consoles !! If you take in consideration that if you want TV out, you are not allowed to use fb console at boot or it will be garbled and that even if TV out is disabled but that a TV is connected to the card, you won't be allowed to have a definition higher that 800x600, I've (with kernel 2.6.7-bk20) no problem either with 4620 or 6106 except that in the last case TVout is 800x600 maximum.
Well I don't have to use the console at all costs on Linux as well, I can do without. But it is rather annoying that I cannot shutdown the system cleanly when using twinview since everything freezes as soon as X shuts down, due to the nvidia drivers.
__________________
Proud owner of GF 6800 Ultra AGP and GF 6600 AGP
MadEgg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-04, 04:55 PM   #142
theduke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3
Default Re: 1.0-6106 for X86-32 thread

catimimi wrote:
Quote:
Instead of asking for excuses, you have to thank Nvidia

full ack.
I can see a consistent development in here.
So, like everything with linux:
If you can't fix it yourself, you have to wait.

No developer have to excuse himself for anything!

cya,
theduke
theduke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-04, 05:07 PM   #143
MadEgg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 88
Default Re: 1.0-6106 for X86-32 thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by theduke
catimimi wrote:

full ack.
I can see a consistent development in here.
So, like everything with linux:
If you can't fix it yourself, you have to wait.

No developer have to excuse himself for anything!

cya,
theduke
That's correct for things I don't have to pay for. I'm not gonna moan about the Linux kernel in any way. But I did pay a lot of cash for my videocard so I would expect it to work properly for that money as well.
__________________
Proud owner of GF 6800 Ultra AGP and GF 6600 AGP
MadEgg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-04, 10:02 PM   #144
jsp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1
Default spurious 8259A interrupt: IRQ7.

6106 is working fine for me on FC2 kernel-2.6.6-1.435.2.3 with a ti4200.
But I do get this in dmesg, which I've never seen before:
Code:
spurious 8259A interrupt: IRQ7.
I guess it's not hurting anything. :shrug:
jsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.