Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-01-04, 08:26 AM   #1
tru_playaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12
Default Anyone know which FX cards have thermocouples??

With the release of the new driver (CHEERS NVIDIA!!! ) does anyone know which cards have the i2c or otherwise thermocouples which will talk to the 'nvidia-settings' software to give temperature read out?

I have a GeForce FX5600 but no sign of it talking to 'nvidia-settings'

Cheers
__________________
bounce-gaming.net
tru_playaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-04, 08:57 AM   #2
Dragoran
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 711
Default Re: Anyone know which FX cards have thermocouples??

As far as i know only ASUS and MSI cards have this.
Dragoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-04, 09:02 AM   #3
tru_playaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12
Default Re: Anyone know which FX cards have thermocouples??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoran
As far as i know only ASUS and MSI cards have this.
Aha, I managed to detect a sensor bus on the card using the RivaTV module in the past but I couldn't poll it. However my card is a Creative unit which I supect is a rebranded MSI (I could be wrong).

Thanks for the info!
__________________
bounce-gaming.net
tru_playaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-04, 12:05 PM   #4
feeyo
Registered User
 
feeyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 140
Default Re: Anyone know which FX cards have thermocouples??

I have a Asus FX5600 no temp on the nvidia-settings.
__________________
http://www.agilityos.com
feeyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-04, 12:09 PM   #5
SuLinUX
 
SuLinUX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 847
Default Re: Anyone know which FX cards have thermocouples??

I thought the hole FX line and N40 had temps, my temperture shows up fine.
__________________
AthlonXP 2600+ / nForce2 Asus A7N8X-X / PNY GeForce FX5900 Ultra / 1024Mb Samsung Ram /nForce Sound / Hansol 920D Plus 19" monitor / Lite-On 32x12x40 / 2x Maxtor HD 40Gb/80Gb / nVidia 7174 driver / Gnome 2.10.1 / Kernel 2.6.11.9 / Slackware 10.0
SuLinUX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-04, 12:14 PM   #6
elektronisch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 76
Default Re: Anyone know which FX cards have thermocouples??

I also have a fx 5600, mine doesnt have a termperature reading either.

- Elek
elektronisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-04, 12:53 PM   #7
Moled
cheese
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 137
Default Re: Anyone know which FX cards have thermocouples??

my asus 5900 does
Moled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-04, 02:24 PM   #8
tru_playaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12
Default Re: Anyone know which FX cards have thermocouples??

Wierd ain't it - I could definitely find the sensor bus when I had RivaTV installed.

Do you think its down to the Card BIOS??

Mine is: 04.31.20.26.02 (available using the nvidia-settings tool)
__________________
bounce-gaming.net
tru_playaz is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-01-04, 03:03 PM   #9
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Anyone know which FX cards have thermocouples??

In the past (before GeforceFX cards existed) some vendors like msi added hardware monitoring functionality to their cards. It works like this. On the gpu is a special type of bus called the "i2c bus". You can compare it a bit with the pci bus of your motherboard. To this i2c bus various chips can be connected like tvout chips, hardware monitoring chips (useally from winbond) and other chips. This is how that stuff useally works and also explains why rivatv shows the monitoring chip as rivatv contains an i2c driver.

These days most cards use the builtin tvout chip that is shipped with gf4mx, geforcefx and newer cards. I'm not sure how nvidia is handling hardware monitoring with the FX cards. There are multiple things that can be monitored like gpu voltage, fan speeds and temperature. The temperature stuff might be handled with a sensor inside the gpu these days but the fan speed stuff might still be done by an external chip.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-04, 04:15 PM   #10
blueworm
[DEADAGAIN]blueworm
 
blueworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 416
Default Re: Anyone know which FX cards have thermocouples??

Gainward FX5900 show temps allright in nvidia-settings.
BTW what is max allowable HEAT?
__________________
Registered linux user #271604 Get Counted! http://counter.li.org/
lianLi PC60, OCZ powerStream 520W PSU, Asus P5N-E SLI, Core 2 duo E6550, 2Gb GEIL, XFX 8800GT, TB SantaCruz
blueworm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiseat X with two cards: used to work, now segfaulting Artefact2 NVIDIA Linux 10 06-26-12 05:22 PM
basemosaic on 3 video cards shock32638 NVIDIA Linux 1 06-05-12 07:46 PM
Computex 2012: Graphics Cards Round-up News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 01:40 PM
2 Video Cards -- Disable Open GL on single? amites NVIDIA Linux 5 05-30-12 03:51 PM
Defective Gainward GeForce4 Ti 4200 64MB cards HotCarl NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 13 09-24-02 02:04 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.