Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-30-02, 08:23 AM   #1
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default weird idea for performance boost, lower multi, raise fsb

I know, confusing title... but here is my idea:

If you take a 333 capable motherboard and an AthlonXP, unlock the AthlonXP and LOWER the multiplier, but in turn increase the FSB to 166/166, would you see a great performance boost because of the faster data rate?

example:

AthlonXP 1600 = 133 x 10.5 = 1400mhz

unlocked 1600 = 166 x 8.5 = 1411mhz

I figured the advantage of this is you don't overheat the AthlonXP nor do you require extra equipment like water cooling, yet you get the benefits of a faster bus, yes?

What do you all think?
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-02, 09:25 AM   #2
monkeydust
Registered User
 
monkeydust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 495
Default

Yeah, that's the norm for overclocking unlocked cpu's. Lower the multiplier so you can raise your FSB higher which in turn increases the performance of everything on the bus.
__________________
AMD X2 4800+
ASUS A8N-SLI
2 x 1GB OCZ PC3200 Platinum
eVGA 8800 GTS 620/1000
2 x 300gb Maxtor Maxline III SATA2 HD
Creative X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
NEC 16X Double Layer DVD±RW Drive
Lian-Li v1200 w/OCZ Powerstream 600w PSU
Dell 2001FP 20.1" LCD
3DMark06 - 8553
monkeydust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-02, 10:27 AM   #3
SnakeEyes
Registered User
 
SnakeEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lake Zurich, IL
Posts: 502
Send a message via ICQ to SnakeEyes
Default

Absolutely. That's what I did first when I started with my KT3Ultra and my XP2100+. So long as you can maintain the more agressive memory timings, up'ing the fsb synchronously results in better performance, even with a clock speed that is relatively close. Of course, I've also overclocked mine now (1846Mhz from 1729MHz), using a fsb of 161MHz asynchronous (the best tradeoff between agressive memory timings and fsb speed, for my rig.) This took much benchmarking (of video performance, memory performance, processor performance, etc.) to cover all the areas, and repeating for each fsb/memory timing combination I tried, until I was satisfied that I had a decent compromise. I also found that while some of the benchmarks were higher with certain settings, others actually decreased, and system stability wasn't completely tied into the maximum processor MHz NOR the highest fsb. There's some sort of complex interaction between the different possible variables that made it stable at 180MHz fsb synchronous (one successfully tested example) while in another it wasn't with only a 167MHz synchronous.

I spent a few weeks playing with this, as several friends can attest. Ask |wm|crashdump or |wm|pneumatic about all the times they wanted me to come play UT and I just replied that I couldn't: tweaking.
__________________
Snake-Eyes
SnakeEyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-02, 11:38 AM   #4
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default

thats right gator, there's nothing weird about. Outta every mb/cpu I've o'ced, raising the fsb has yielded much better results than just changin' the multiplier because theoretically it o'c everything that runs on the bus. Although the downside is, I've seen a lot more probs with higher fsb too....
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs

Last edited by |JuiceZ|; 07-30-02 at 11:41 AM.
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-02, 06:42 PM   #5
NeoGeo
Geforce 4
 
NeoGeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: South Coast, England, UK
Posts: 146
Default

if you raise the FSB to say 166, you can get some nice performance, and my board has a choice on how you wanna split the FSB ratio around the system... im at 4:2:1 at the mo... so 33MHz goin to my PCI, 66MHz to my AGP, and 133 to my FSB... the other option is 5:2:1, so if i do raise to 166 the PCI isnt affected at still runs at 33MHz, but the AGP runs at like 83MHz lol... i havent actually got any decent memory so i cant play about much at the mo... but what kinda experiences have people had running their AGP bus so high?
__________________
AthlonXP 2500 Barton
MSI K7N2 Delta (MS-6570)
Nvidia Geforce FX 5600 128MB VIVO
512MB (2x 256MB) Crucial PC2700
2x 120GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 8MB
16x DVD
52x/24x/52x Lite-On CD-ReWriter
550 watt Q-Tech PSU
Superflower silver case
T1 Internet Connection
AOC 17" 7Klr
MS Keyboard+Mouse
NeoGeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-02, 07:49 PM   #6
Feanor
Registered User
 
Feanor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 37
Default

Do be careful on the memory used though (look around to see what memory OCs better) and also peripherals. Unless one can change the clock ratio between the PCI (as well as AGP) bus and main memory...some cards just do not take well to running at a 41.5 MHz PCI bus... Some gfx cards have been more finicky about AGP clock speed then others as well... Test with memory and peripherals to be sure
Feanor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-02, 12:30 PM   #7
TheOneKEA
Fifteen-K Saiyan Bastard
 
TheOneKEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere in England, waiting for ROTK and drooling over the A64 3000+
Posts: 417
Send a message via ICQ to TheOneKEA Send a message via AIM to TheOneKEA Send a message via Yahoo to TheOneKEA
Question

I've read in many places that the 5:2:1 ratio is best for a 166MHz FSB because it keeps the PCI bus at the right speed (from what I've read, stuff on the PCI bus doesn't like to run faster than normal).

Would you need a really good AGP card (nVidia) and some really good DDR memory to run an AGP bus at 83MHz?
TheOneKEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-02, 03:26 PM   #8
Spectral
DJ Spectral
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Detroit
Posts: 99
Default

I wish I had the ability to select 5:2:1 on my board... Im stuck with 4:2:1
__________________
AthlonXP1900+@2100+, Abit KR7A-Raid, Radeon 9700 Pro (core370/mem666), 256Megs PC2100, 2x 40gig WD7200, Soundblaster Audigy Platinum, KDS VS 19" CRT, Klipsch ProMedia 5.1s, Creative 12x DVD, TDK 24x CDRW, 500Watt PSU, Win2kSP3.
Spectral is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-05-02, 05:01 PM   #9
NeoGeo
Geforce 4
 
NeoGeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: South Coast, England, UK
Posts: 146
Default

yeah that sucks on the kr7a, but hey it was never intended for 166 bus usage....
__________________
AthlonXP 2500 Barton
MSI K7N2 Delta (MS-6570)
Nvidia Geforce FX 5600 128MB VIVO
512MB (2x 256MB) Crucial PC2700
2x 120GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 8MB
16x DVD
52x/24x/52x Lite-On CD-ReWriter
550 watt Q-Tech PSU
Superflower silver case
T1 Internet Connection
AOC 17" 7Klr
MS Keyboard+Mouse
NeoGeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.