Go Back   nV News Forums > Website Related > Feedback Forum

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-15-04, 01:04 PM   #13
ricercar
fugue master
 
ricercar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: silicon valley
Posts: 1,603
Thumbs down hot button

It's plain silly when the sig is longer than the post it's attached to. Shows more interest in advertizing the self than in responding to the thread.

Besides, does anyone bother to read a sig when it's simply a list of gear? I know I don't. Personally I'd rather read a dissenting political opinion than a shopping list.
__________________
I used to drive a Heisenberg, but whenever I'd glance at the speedometer, I'd get lost.
ricercar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-04, 01:07 PM   #14
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,992
Default Re: hot button

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricercar
Besides, does anyone bother to read a sig when it's simply a list of gear? I know I don't.
Not every time, of course not. The purpose of listing gear is for the benefit of those that you may be responding to with technical/benchmarking/gaming/troubleshooting questions, etc.
__________________
SLI GeForce 7800 GTX 512MB @ 550/1700 | MSI K8N Neo4/SLI | A64 X2 4400+ Toledo | CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) TwinX PC 3500 | Silverstone ST65ZF 650W| 93.71| XP SP2 and a Dell 2405FPW

I personally believe that us americans are unable to do so because osama.

People out there in our nation don't have that, And I believe that our education like such as south africa and such as the Iraq.

everywhere "such as". And I believe our education should help the US should help the south africa and the iraq and the asian countries so we can build up our future.
-- Miss Teen South Carolina

Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-04, 01:24 PM   #15
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Setting signature limits

Quote:
Originally Posted by MUYA
what about mine
Your sig is a good story to read before bed time
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-04, 01:25 PM   #16
DaveW
Its me! Hurray!
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brit in USA
Posts: 1,203
Default Re: Setting signature limits

I was thinking about posting this myself.

I think an appropriate SIG would be 2 lines. One your system specs, and the other a favorite quote or something.

When I say system specs I mean the basic specs. Putting system specs in your sig is useful for diagnosis of problems. E.g. if game X runs really slow or crashes on my PC and you say "it works fine for me", then I look in your sig for what your specs are. Sig specs should be functional and not a space for bragging about your PC. For this purpose, sig specs should include....

-----

Your CPU model and speed and possible your overclocked speed, e.g. "P4 2.8 @ 3.2". I really don't care what stepping it is or what water cooler you have on it.

Your motherboard manufacturer and model number, this can be relevant to PC stability issues.

The amount of system ram and its type e.g. "1 Gig DDR 400". I don't care if you have dual channel enabled or not.

Your graphics card chipset, model, maybe amount of ram, possibly your _normal_ o/c speeds (not the o/c speeds you had it at once for 5 minutes) e.g. "9800 Pro 128 @ 330/315". Perhaps too the drivers you are running (aslong as you don't mind updating your sig all the time).

Your model sound card e.g. "Audigy 2", this is very relevant to troubleshooting stability issues, sound problems in games (particularly w/ 5.1 speakers), and performance problems.

Perhaps the make and wattage of your PSU. This can be relevant to system stability if you have one of the newer graphics cards.

Your O/S version and perhaps the service pack e.g. "WinXP SP2"

-----

What we DON'T need to read again and again in your sig are:

The type of airforce grade aluminum case you have.

The model of your L33T cordless optical mouse or your glow-in-the-dark cordless keyboard.

Your monitor... yes its cool that you have a 21 inch LCD with a 10 ms refresh rate, but the rest of us don't need to be constantly reminded of it.

The model number of your 1500 dollar speaker set.

Your CD and DVD drives.

The model, capacity and raid configuration of your harddrives. Other than the basic "my disk is full" problem, drive size is irrelevant to gaming.

The color of any component. I don't care if your monitor matches your case. Its not relevant to me.

The full complete specs of the secondary, tertiary and home office PCs you have, as well as the old 386 linux box you have in the corner.
__________________

Core2 Q9400 @ 3.0, eVGA GTX 260, 4G DDR 800, Vista64
DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-04, 01:27 PM   #17
vampireuk
**** Holster
 
vampireuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: The armoury
Posts: 2,813
Send a message via AIM to vampireuk
Default Re: Setting signature limits

__________________
I put children in microwaves.
vampireuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-04, 02:16 PM   #18
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,992
Default Re: Setting signature limits

That was great DaveW
__________________
SLI GeForce 7800 GTX 512MB @ 550/1700 | MSI K8N Neo4/SLI | A64 X2 4400+ Toledo | CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) TwinX PC 3500 | Silverstone ST65ZF 650W| 93.71| XP SP2 and a Dell 2405FPW

I personally believe that us americans are unable to do so because osama.

People out there in our nation don't have that, And I believe that our education like such as south africa and such as the Iraq.

everywhere "such as". And I believe our education should help the US should help the south africa and the iraq and the asian countries so we can build up our future.
-- Miss Teen South Carolina

Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-04, 02:27 PM   #19
UDawg
Retired spammer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,799
Default Re: Setting signature limits

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar


yer just compensating for something...
You should know cheeky monkeh
UDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-04, 02:47 PM   #20
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: Setting signature limits

Quote:
Originally Posted by UDawg
You should know cheeky monkeh


That's too funny!
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-15-04, 02:58 PM   #21
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Setting signature limits

Quote:
Originally Posted by UDawg
You should know cheeky monkeh


I know you know too numbnuts...

Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-04, 03:30 PM   #22
UDawg
Retired spammer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,799
Default Re: Setting signature limits

/blushes.

Well, MUYA get around. What can I say?
UDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-04, 04:14 PM   #23
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Setting signature limits

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clay
MUYA can have a 14' long sig for all I care. *shaddap Gib*

Oh and Chris, I think yours is fine but it might be nice to shore it up a bit by removing some of the line breaks.

It was fine until I highlighted my threads, Guess I wont advertise them anymore
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-04, 04:15 PM   #24
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,992
Default Re: Setting signature limits

what do you mean "highlighted", I think it looks fine
__________________
SLI GeForce 7800 GTX 512MB @ 550/1700 | MSI K8N Neo4/SLI | A64 X2 4400+ Toledo | CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) TwinX PC 3500 | Silverstone ST65ZF 650W| 93.71| XP SP2 and a Dell 2405FPW

I personally believe that us americans are unable to do so because osama.

People out there in our nation don't have that, And I believe that our education like such as south africa and such as the Iraq.

everywhere "such as". And I believe our education should help the US should help the south africa and the iraq and the asian countries so we can build up our future.
-- Miss Teen South Carolina

Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$1,049.99 - EVGA Signature 04G-P4-2692-KR GeForce GTX 690 4GB 512-bit GDDR5 PCI Expre News Archived News Items 0 05-23-12 05:10 AM
EVGA GeForce GTX 670 Lineup Detailed, Signature Listed For $409.99 News Archived News Items 0 05-09-12 06:30 AM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-30-02 11:59 PM
btw, should 0x or 1x AF be the default setting in the 40.41 drivers JamesDax NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 12 08-31-02 03:12 AM
Feedback on Digital Vibrance setting JohnsonLKD NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 13 08-27-02 03:49 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.