Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-22-04, 09:06 AM   #181
Ponch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 7
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clay
OIC. Hmmm, no that doesn't sound right. It sounds like you have everything setup correctly. Do you have the new fxc.exe? I doubt that would make a difference though.
Will you share the new fxc.exe?
I think I would be happy with it
Ponch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-04, 09:11 AM   #182
Shocky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 986
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clay
OIC. Hmmm, no that doesn't sound right. It sounds like you have everything setup correctly. Do you have the new fxc.exe? I doubt that would make a difference though.
I don't know. Pretty pissed of with FarCry atm. even with without enabing the beta path it performs exactly the same. also if you look at the log it fails some of the tests.
Shocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-04, 09:26 AM   #183
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,993
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ponch
Will you share the new fxc.exe?
I think I would be happy with it
Waiting for green light to do so...
Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-04, 09:46 AM   #184
pino
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 32
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clay
Waiting for green light to do so...
well considering that Crytek did not include it in 1.2 patch, i guess the light is red
pino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-04, 10:02 AM   #185
anzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shocky
No you guys don't get it. When playing the framerate seems to lock at 42fps depending what i'm looking at. when its locked at 42fps the flashlight has no effect at all!! not even a single fps drops which suggests theres a problem itself. Makes no sence I know but the game is completely unplayable with it locking to 42fps where it should be getting 60+??? Thats not normal!
Your CPU limited. In some areas it dips to 28fps regardless of resolution and AA & AF levels. You know there is something wrong when you get 28fps with 800x600 and 28fps with 1600x1200 (double the resoultion) and 2xAA & 16xAF.
anzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-04, 10:20 AM   #186
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,993
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

Sorry everyone, I just received word that we cannot make the updated fxc.exe file available for download.
Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-04, 10:33 AM   #187
doodlebob
Nyengh-nugh-huh habba-ba
 
doodlebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 83
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

That sucks, I hope the official DX9c is released soon.
__________________
AMD 64 3500+ Winchester --Thermaltake Tsunami Dream -- MSI K8N NEO2 PLATINUM -- Evga Geforce 6800 -- OCZ ModStream 450W -- Corsair Dual Channel Kit 1GB -- NEC Floppy Drive -- NEC 16X Double Layer DVD±RW -- Audigy 2 ZS-- Hitachi 160GB-- Logitech 5300z
doodlebob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-04, 11:00 AM   #188
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,993
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

Quote:
Originally Posted by doodlebob
That sucks, I hope the official DX9c is released soon.
Yeah, sorry to get any hopes up.

BTW, your avatar is about the coolest avatar I've ever seen.
Clay is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-22-04, 11:25 AM   #189
lutzmoeckl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

hmm when i see your fps in those benchmarks, i'm getting pretty angry!
i just bought a geforce 6800GT (galaxy) and installed the latest nvidia drivers with the edited .inf file.
i also installed dx9.0c and updated farcry to 1.2!

but if i do for example training or regulator benchmarks (with sm3.0 or without - there's no fps difference or only bout 3fps):

\demo regulator
i get only about 50fps! at 1024x768 without FSAA and without AF!!

in "training" it's even worse: only 42fps!

my system:
p4 2.5ghz
1gb ram pc-333 infineon cl2
geforce 6800GT
epox EP-4PEA+ mainboard

so, why do i got so much less fps than you guys? at tomshardware.com they have 90fps at that regulator map. i got bout 40fps less....

can anyone help? does this have anything to do with sm2.0/3.0?
lutzmoeckl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-04, 11:29 AM   #190
rellingsen
Registered User
 
rellingsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Delaware
Posts: 177
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

I guess I'm off to find a unsuspecting soul on a developer forum to see if I can bum just a copy of the xfc.exe file for a project of mine.

I figured they would not give it up. It is property of Microsoft and still probably covered under the MS NDA.
__________________
P4C800E-Deluxe P4 HT 3.2C@3.84 Zalman 6500-CU WinXP SP-2 DX9.0c
2X512mb HyperX PC4000 @ DDR 480
XFX 6800 Ultra running 455/1300
SB Audigy 2-Klipsch Pro-Medias 4.1
22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
2-ATA 100 7200 rpm WD Drives
rellingsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-04, 11:31 AM   #191
surfhurleydude
Radeon 9900 Pro
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 497
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

Your framerates are locked at 42 FPS because you have V sync on and your refresh rate is set to 85 Hz.
surfhurleydude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-04, 11:49 AM   #192
lutzmoeckl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

nope, that cannot be true.

1. i dont have vsync enabled. not in farcry, not in my nvidia drivers. it's not application controlled either. it's flat disabled!

2. if it was enabled, i would not have 100fps or more in some small tunnels or tiny rooms.

the 42fps are the average fps. i guess i forgot to mention that.

p.s.: i got only a agp 4x board. but i was told, that should not be a problem, since no games ever used the 8x bandwidth.
lutzmoeckl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-04, 12:21 PM   #193
surfhurleydude
Radeon 9900 Pro
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 497
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

You specifically said your framerate was locked at 42 FPS. There is only one explanation for your framerate being locked at 42 FPS, Vertical Sync being activated and you not being able to maintain the 85 frame per second requirement of your monitor's refresh rate. Try enabling triple buffering. Now if you're saying that your frames go over 100 FPS in some areas, then your frames are NOT locked at 42 FPS like you said and you've been giving extremely confusing information.
surfhurleydude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-04, 12:37 PM   #194
lutzmoeckl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

please quote me. where did i type "locked"? i can't find it right now, but that's not the point...

i also told you in my 2nd posting that 42FPS is THE AVERAGE FPS count!!! and this is the value of the "\demo training" benchmark in far cry.

i was just wondering, why my GPU gets so f.. slow in complex areas. the 6800GT cards that have been benchmarked have many fps more in those areas (all average values of course).

can it be, that my 2.5ghz cpu is too slow for farcry? i don't have any idea...
lutzmoeckl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-04, 01:07 PM   #195
Demigod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 290
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

The exteriors are far more cpu limited than gpu.
Demigod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Far Cry 3 preview and E3 presentation footage News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.