Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-22-04, 02:10 PM   #196
Shocky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 986
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

Quote:
Originally Posted by surfhurleydude
You specifically said your framerate was locked at 42 FPS. There is only one explanation for your framerate being locked at 42 FPS, Vertical Sync being activated and you not being able to maintain the 85 frame per second requirement of your monitor's refresh rate. Try enabling triple buffering. Now if you're saying that your frames go over 100 FPS in some areas, then your frames are NOT locked at 42 FPS like you said and you've been giving extremely confusing information.
Weird, your right. I've never seen vsync kill my framerate like this before, Usually locks at 85 not 1/2 of refresh. Oh well thx.
Shocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-04, 02:43 PM   #197
Zetto
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 294
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

I installed the new patch but did not enable sm3 - I think it's still beta, and we don't have final dx9c anyways. However, with new official whql 6176 FarCry 1.2 started too crash on too often on my 6800gt. Before this patch, I was using tommti's r300 path workaround and it was rock solid. Now, it's like all hell broke loose. I re-enabled r300 path and it rock solid again. Any ideas why Far Cry 1.2 keep crashing on me? I got dx9b, winxp sp1, everything is working fine, but far cry just won't keep it up at default path for nvidia cards or whatever...
Zetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-04, 02:55 PM   #198
bmg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 233
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

Anyone having problems with the fixed machineguns after installing the 1.2 patch?

Update: I see others on the Ubi forum with the same problem with side-side movement of the fixed guns.
__________________
I7 950 processor/Ultra 120 Extreme cooling/Asus P6T Deluxe V2 motherboard/6Gb corsair 1600C7 ram
Evga 280 FTW video/Mitsubishi 2070SB 22" monitor/SB XFi-Titanium sound
Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000w Power Supply/Coolermaster RC-832 case

Last edited by bmg; 07-22-04 at 07:24 PM.
bmg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-04, 11:29 PM   #199
Shamrock
Royalty gone awry
 
Shamrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,612
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

How do you keep your saved game? I know I've read about making a new profile then saving the last map you completed or something in the console?
__________________
They're after me Lucky Charms!

AMD Phenom II 955BE
16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1333Mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850
Logitech Z-5300 5.1 THX surround sound
HANNS-G 28" LCD
ZBoard Merc Gaming Keyboard
CoolerMaster HAF-932 Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Pro x64
Shamrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-04, 11:55 PM   #200
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,993
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shamrock
How do you keep your saved game? I know I've read about making a new profile then saving the last map you completed or something in the console?
at console type: \save_game nameofyoursavegame

then at any time at console type: \load_game nameofyoursavegame

As long as you keep these unique (if you don't specify Far Cry will save it as "quicksave" filename) you can have as many as you want.

UPDATE: Here's a good link you might find handy too: http://www.tweakguides.com/Farcry_10.html
Clay is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-23-04, 10:41 AM   #201
Dot50Cal
Registered User
 
Dot50Cal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 138
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

I've discovered a serious issue with SM3.0 when you're flashlight is on. Geometry dissapears when you activate you're flashlight. See details here http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...84&postcount=6 Clay do you think this could be because we have the old version of fxc.exe?

I am correct in assuming you have Far Cry and the new fxc.exe right? I see that you have a 6800 series card so if possible I can send you my quicksave at the area where its happening to see if you get the same thing. PM me if you want to do this.
__________________
Core 2 Q9550
EVGA 8800GT
ASUS P5K DELUXE
G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB)
Creative GigaWorks S750 7.1

Last edited by Dot50Cal; 07-23-04 at 11:00 AM.
Dot50Cal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-04, 12:33 AM   #202
Sc0rp10n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 177
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

please see the treads about the 1.2 patch being recalled by ubisoft...
Sc0rp10n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-04, 03:30 PM   #203
Zetto
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 294
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for v1.2 Far Cry patch

heh, final dx9.0c is released, now get us 61.77
Zetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-04, 04:08 PM   #204
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for v1.2 Far Cry patch

Yea Directx 9.0C is not on the regular www.microsoft.com/directx page yet but lookie here

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...1-914185249413

Does that mean it's coming very very soon?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-04, 05:53 PM   #205
GlowStick
CoD4!
 
GlowStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,786
Send a message via AIM to GlowStick
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for v1.2 Far Cry patch

Should i install the dev dx9c over my riped one?
__________________
Intel i7-2600K, Corsair 8Gig, Corsair H100, Corsair 650D, Corsair HX750, ATi 6970, WD Caviar Black 2TB
Sony Vaio SB: i7, 8Gig, Intel 320 300gig
GlowStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-04, 06:00 PM   #206
hoop
$The KingPin$
 
hoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: arlington,texas
Posts: 193
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for v1.2 Far Cry patch

Can ya'll tell me best way to install this please?
__________________
DELL 2408 LCD
COOLER MASTER 690 Mid Tower Case
Intel E8400 o/c@ 4.05ghz
e-GeForce 8800GTX
XFX nForce 780i
Corsair 2GB DDR2-800 Xtreme
COOLER MASTER Real Power 850 Pro
Swiftech H20-120 Compact Liquid Cooling
Creative X-Fi Platinum
PSN: khoop
hoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-04, 06:04 PM   #207
hoop
$The KingPin$
 
hoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: arlington,texas
Posts: 193
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for v1.2 Far Cry patch

Quote:
Originally Posted by GlowStick
Should i install the dev dx9c over my riped one?
i'm asking the same thing but this doesnt come with tha flix crapp or anything thats why i was asking how to install this.
__________________
DELL 2408 LCD
COOLER MASTER 690 Mid Tower Case
Intel E8400 o/c@ 4.05ghz
e-GeForce 8800GTX
XFX nForce 780i
Corsair 2GB DDR2-800 Xtreme
COOLER MASTER Real Power 850 Pro
Swiftech H20-120 Compact Liquid Cooling
Creative X-Fi Platinum
PSN: khoop
hoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-04, 07:22 PM   #208
Dot50Cal
Registered User
 
Dot50Cal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 138
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for v1.2 Far Cry patch

Yes. I did and I have no problems. In the Nvidia Card discussion there is a thread explaining how to install it over the old one.

Also I am no longer getting geometry dissapearing when you turn you're flashlight on with the sm30 path running. This is with the new fxc.exe in bin32 as well.
__________________
Core 2 Q9550
EVGA 8800GT
ASUS P5K DELUXE
G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB)
Creative GigaWorks S750 7.1
Dot50Cal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-04, 07:54 PM   #209
bmg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 233
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clay
Sorry everyone, I just received word that we cannot make the updated fxc.exe file available for download.
Microsoft just released the dx9c sdk. http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en
It's a 227mb download. fxc.exe is in the Utilities folder. You don't have to actually do the full install just to get fxc.exe, when the install starts just specify where you want the unpacked files to go and then cancel the install after that's done. Grab fxc.exe and you're set.

Update: I just noticed that *********.com has the fxc.exe available for download. Much better than having to download the sdk just for one file.
__________________
I7 950 processor/Ultra 120 Extreme cooling/Asus P6T Deluxe V2 motherboard/6Gb corsair 1600C7 ram
Evga 280 FTW video/Mitsubishi 2070SB 22" monitor/SB XFi-Titanium sound
Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000w Power Supply/Coolermaster RC-832 case
bmg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-04, 05:42 PM   #210
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: FarCry 1.2 Patach Out

Quote:
Originally Posted by surfhurleydude
Really, I don't see what the big deal is, the reason I know it works without having to do a damn thing is because I open up the console once I start Far Cry and hit the page up key a few times and it says:

Pixel Shaders 3.0
Vertex Shaders 3.0
Using NV4x path
Using pixel shaders 3.0, 2.0, and 1.1.

or something to that extent.
Yep after installing the new 61.77 drivers and the final directx 9.0c, I start up far cry without the devmode crap in the shortcut and I see the same thing.
You still need to type \r_sm30path 1 in the console or put it in your shortcut to enable sm3.0 though.

Last edited by betterdan; 07-27-04 at 07:57 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Far Cry 3 preview and E3 presentation footage News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 10:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.