Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-21-04, 01:59 PM   #61
GlowStick
CoD4!
 
GlowStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,786
Send a message via AIM to GlowStick
Default Re: FarCry 1.2 Patach Out

To make my thread far superior to other threads im gonna try to include some Info. However, only install these Beta files at your own risk!

To enable SM3.0 You first need a few things.

1) Nvidia NV40 Product
2) SM3 enabled Drivers
3) DX9c Installed
4) FarCry 1.2 Patch Installed
5) The proper commandline to run FarCry with

Assueming you have a NV40 Product, ill go on how to install SM3 Enabled Drivers!

Step 1

First, grab the lateist and greatist Nvidia Drivers off their site.

http://download.nvidia.com/Windows/6...glish_whql.exe

These drivers DO support SM3, however the INF files are not enabled to do so. However, you can enable this by makeing a simple INF modification.

To do this, i recomend you have WinRAR installed. The Nvidia driver installer is a self extractable Zip file. Right click on the file and choose Extract Here, then select a location you will rember.

Next, browse to that new directory and open the file called 'nv4_disp.inf'. Scroll to the very bottom of this file and paste in this code.

Code:
[nv_SoftwareDeviceSettings]
HKR,, D3D_35173345, %REG_DWORD%, 0x61243847

[nv_ClearRegistrySwitches]
HKR,, D3D_35173345
Then run the file Setup.exe in the same directory, follow the on screen instructions and reboot.

Step 2

The next step is the most difficult, you need to now install DirectX9.0c.

I have taken the liberty of hosting all the files you will need, so download this file and unzip it someware you will rembmer.

http://glowstickinsightbb.shackspace.com/dx9ckit.rar

The first step is you have to boot into safe mode. To do this, go to Start -> Run, then type in 'msconfig' and hit Enter

Next, go to the boot.ini Tab, and click on /SAFEBOOT
Click on 'OK' then it will ask you if you want to reboot your computer, choose Reboot.

Now you should be in safe mode, locate the files you unrared from the dx9ckit.rar folder and run the programs in this order.

DX-9.0c.exe
DX9.0c_hotfix.exe
dx9c_regfix.reg

Next, go back into 'msconfig' and uncheck the /SAFEBOOT, when it asks you to reboot, do so. When you boot windows normaly, run dxdiag to make sure your Direct X Version is Direct X 9.0c. If it is you installed it correctly!


Step 3

Here is the most easy step, install the FarCry 1.2 Patch! Simply download it from your favorite source! The install should be self explanitory.

http://www.fileshack.com/file.x?fid=4787
http://www.3dgamers.com/dl/games/far...tch12.exe.html

Step 4

Congradulations! Your almost ready to run FarCry with SM3 path enabled!

The next step is easy, simply right click on your FarCry shortcut icon, and go to Properties. Now add the following code at the end of your path in the Target text box.

Code:
-DEVMODE "r_sm30path 1"
Here is an example of how it should look like on a standard install of FarCry

Code:
"C:\Program Files\Ubisoft\Crytek\Far Cry\Bin32\FarCry.exe" -DEVMODE "r_sm30path 1"
Now run the game, if you see yellow letters at the top saying SM3.0 Beta path is enabled it worked correctly!

Enjoy!
__________________
Intel i7-2600K, Corsair 8Gig, Corsair H100, Corsair 650D, Corsair HX750, ATi 6970, WD Caviar Black 2TB
Sony Vaio SB: i7, 8Gig, Intel 320 300gig
GlowStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-04, 02:01 PM   #62
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,993
Default Re: FarCry 1.2 Patach Out

@GlowStick I merged the other (late) thread into yours here.
Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-04, 02:16 PM   #63
Cheeseh
monngspng
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 43
Default Re: FarCry 1.2 Patach Out

jeesus, twice i've tried to download the patch from the same place different servers).. the patch is corrupt twice. .. got this error when trying to execute it..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	patch.jpg
Views:	409
Size:	15.3 KB
ID:	7092  
Cheeseh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-04, 02:18 PM   #64
surfhurleydude
Radeon 9900 Pro
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 497
Default Re: FarCry 1.2 Patach Out

Really, I don't see what the big deal is, the reason I know it works without having to do a damn thing is because I open up the console once I start Far Cry and hit the page up key a few times and it says:

Pixel Shaders 3.0
Vertex Shaders 3.0
Using NV4x path
Using pixel shaders 3.0, 2.0, and 1.1.

or something to that extent.
surfhurleydude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-04, 02:20 PM   #65
anzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: FarCry 1.2 Patach Out

Hmm no gain outdoors and a small gain (at best) in doors.
anzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-04, 02:22 PM   #66
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: FarCry 1.2 Patach Out

Thanks Glow for the info . this should get sticky !!

P.S : i have all the things needed to play FC in SM3.0 path except step (1) which is the NV40 product . will that work ??
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-04, 02:26 PM   #67
DarthBinky
Author/Gamer
 
DarthBinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Utah, USA, planet Earth
Posts: 47
Default Re: FarCry 1.2 Patach Out

Inside the support folder you'll find "ReadmeSM30.txt" and "ReadmeSM20b.txt" documents clearly explaining how to enable either SM3.0 or SM2.0b in the new patch (though GlowStick already covered everything).

Also, if you don't like the glaring yellow text "SM30 Beta Path" that appears at the top when SM3.0 is enabled, you can do a hex edit of "XRenderD3D9.dll" to blank out that display string.
DarthBinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-04, 02:29 PM   #68
Rabbitfood
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 41
Default Re: FarCry 1.2 Patach Out

GlowStick
Thanks alot
__________________
Pentium 4 3.0Ghz, Asus P4C800/DELUXE, 2xCorsair XMS3500 DDR-DIMM 512MB PC3200
Gainward 6800Ultra/2600 GS,Antec True Power 550 Watt,SB Audigy 2 ZS
Rabbitfood is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-21-04, 02:30 PM   #69
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default Re: FarCry 1.2 Patach Out

Good job on the first post Glow
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-04, 02:34 PM   #70
sonyman
Made in Japan
 
sonyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 327
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 in FarCry v1.2 / Patch Feedback

What about fxc.exe? It is mentioned in the SM3.0 readme.

Scott
__________________
Nvidia GeForce 9400M & 9600M GT
sonyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-04, 02:44 PM   #71
surfhurleydude
Radeon 9900 Pro
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 497
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

I don't like that yellow crap at all, how do you do a hex edit to get rid of it?
surfhurleydude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-04, 02:46 PM   #72
Ponch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 7
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

Yeah, I want to get rid off that stupid yellow letters too
Ponch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-04, 02:46 PM   #73
anzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

MP is seeing some nice gains. Check this out.

SM2.0


SM3.0


Something lowered the poly count, is this instancing?
anzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-04, 02:52 PM   #74
aAv7
 
aAv7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,250
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

this patch is full of missing texture bugs
__________________
[SIZE="1"][B]CPU:[/B] AMD64 3200+ Winchester @ 2.2 [B]RAM:[/B] 2GB Kingston Dual Channel DDR 400 [B]Motherboard:[/B] Gigabyte K8 Triton nForce4 [B]VideoCard:[/B] eVGA GeForce 7800GTX 512MB [B]Hard Drive:[/B] WD 250GB Sata [B]OS:[/B] Dual boot, Windows XP Home/Windows Professional x64 Edition Retail[B] Audio:[/B] X-Fi Xtreme Music [B]Mouse:[/B] Logitech MX 310 [B]PSU:[/B] 500W Ultra Connect (34A on the 12V+)[/SIZE]

[SIZE="1"][B]Xbox 360:[/B] w/ Intercooler @ 1280x1024 , Dynasty Warriors 5, Fight Night Round 3, Kameo, NBA 2K6, Perfect Dark Zero CE, and PGR 3[SIZE="1"][/SIZE][/SIZE]
aAv7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-04, 03:47 PM   #75
ynnek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,364
Default Re: How to enable SM3.0 for FarCry v1.2 & Patch Feedback

someone on another forum mentioned that 1.2 deletes all your save games.. and the save games from 1.1 is not compatible...

I'm going to pass on this patch until I beat the game.. meanwhile, I'll just continue to use the force R300 codepath "fix" to get the complete Sm2.0 effects...
ynnek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Far Cry 3 preview and E3 presentation footage News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 10:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.