Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-15-05, 09:10 PM   #1213
garycoleman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

With my 6800, I tried everything possible to remedy my freeze ups and corruption then I had no choice other than to RMA it. When I got my replacement, it works pefrectly, no freeze ups at all. And this is with a Nforce 3 motherboard, which a lot of people had problems with.
garycoleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-05, 09:24 PM   #1214
uOpt
FreeBSD cheering section
 
uOpt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Posts: 609
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by oneils
Hey Martin, I guess you would have to right click on your desktop, choose properties/settings/advanced and then click on the tab with your card's name (6800ultra). In the first page of your card's menu options you should see the processor name, IRQ, BIOS, TV encoder, then Adapter information. Under adapter information it will show what bus the card is operating on. Right now, for me, the bus is listed as AGP8x. I am using forceware 66.72 (I got it from guru3d.com). Previously, when I had forceware 78.01, the bus was listed as PCI 0x. Games I played suffered, roughly, a 50% cut in performance. My 3dmark05 score dropped from 4600 to 2000. So, I uninstalled the new forceware driver and installed the older one, which worked.

Is this happening to you? Again, thanks for all the help.

S.O.
Looks like I am fine. This is the K8V-X with my Ultra.

I would have been surprised if there was a problem, I played through most of Far Cry in HDR on this combo.

[Edited to add: ] I should mention that the board is not quite perfect. Overclocking is problematic because of missing PCI/AGP lock and lack of RAM controls. It is picky about RAM - I have a stick Cruicial Ballistix PC4000 which apparently is not to the board's liking and corrupts memory under heavy load. My Kingston Value is fine, and faster
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	l.png
Views:	261
Size:	85.5 KB
ID:	13347  
uOpt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-05, 08:29 AM   #1215
oneils
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 95
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Cracauer
Looks like I am fine. This is the K8V-X with my Ultra.

I would have been surprised if there was a problem, I played through most of Far Cry in HDR on this combo.

[Edited to add: ] I should mention that the board is not quite perfect. Overclocking is problematic because of missing PCI/AGP lock and lack of RAM controls. It is picky about RAM - I have a stick Cruicial Ballistix PC4000 which apparently is not to the board's liking and corrupts memory under heavy load. My Kingston Value is fine, and faster
Thanks Martin. I guess I'll try out that version (77.77) and see if I have any luck. Again thanks, and I apologize to everyone for hijacking this thread.

I too did get random locking on my old mother board - a Soltek K8AN-RL, nforce 3 150. It stopped, however, when I disabled write combining in the troubleshoot section of the advanced settings tab of my rig's display properties. At least it stopped in HL2 and CS Source. It still remained in Far Cry though. Maybe it was just a steam update that did it for those games?

Anyway, I ended up gettting the Asus K8V-X not because of the stuttering but because I could never get into the bios, even after resetting the cmos. This proved annoying because I couldn't disable the onboad sound to install my sound card, or change boot priority to perform a clean install of windows etc... so I just replaced it.

Regards,
S.O.

p.s. nice thumbnail attachment, I should have though of that! Also, I'm sorry, I don't know enough about RAM timings or overclocking to help you with that problem you're having with the Ballistix. It is confusing that the value ram would be faster...?? The manual does indicate that double sided ram will operate at 333mhz...but I don't even know what double sided ram is ...? Would your pc4000 ram be double sided?
__________________
Intel DC 6300
BFG 8800GTS OC2 640mb
Vista 32bit
3x320gb Seagate Barracudas
2gb RAM

Last edited by oneils; 09-16-05 at 10:08 AM. Reason: typos
oneils is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-05, 11:40 AM   #1216
uOpt
FreeBSD cheering section
 
uOpt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Posts: 609
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by oneils
I don't know enough about RAM timings or overclocking to help you with that problem you're having with the Ballistix. It is confusing that the value ram would be faster...?? The manual does indicate that double sided ram will operate at 333mhz...but I don't even know what double sided ram is ...? Would your pc4000 ram be double sided?
No, it is a single-sided single 256MB module. The Kingston Value is one or two double-sided 512 MB modules.

The performance is pretty much identical which is not surprising given that they end up having the same timings. The K8V-X does not have manual timing control exact for 1T/2T so I am stuck with the SPD values - which happen to be the same for both modules. It seems this board doesn't like HTT over 220 and RAM over 200 so there is no way of driving the Ballistix to its max.

I did benchmark, however, that the speed advantage of the RAM fiddling is neglectible for my workload (mostly compilation). The fasterRAM values ran long enough to see what the speedup is.

As I said, fine board but don't expect tightening up anything manually. The base speed with no fiddling is better than my A8N-E was, though.
uOpt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-05, 02:15 PM   #1217
Demanufakture
Demanufakture
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 457
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Demanufakture
I have gotten to the point that I am just tired of worrying about this stupid stutter bug. If the stutter occurs again on my system I'm going to be replacing my Chaintech ZNF3-150 Zenith for a Chaintech SK8T800 Via K8T800 motherboard. I'm tired of this issue.
Well it happened again. Screw it, I'm getting a Via board I think. Or do you guys think I should just get a new Nforce 3 250? Tired of this. Worst thing is now it happens with fastwrites on or off. I've messed up my board. Time to replace it.

EDIT: Actually I just ordered a Chaintech VNF3-250 Nforce 3 250 board for $56.00. Should arrive in a couple of days. Can't wait to get back to some stutter free gaming.
__________________
Antec Neo HE 550w SLI Ready PSU
AMD Athlon 64 3400+ 1MB L2 Cache@2.20Ghz
Chaintech VNF3-250 Nforce 3 250 (5.11)
2x Seagate Barracuda 80GB
Sony DDU1622 48x/16x DVD-ROM
Plextor Plexwriter 40/12/40 CDR-W
Corsair Value Select 2,048MB PC3200 DDR400
Acer AL1916 19" LCD (1280x1024x32@75hz)
EVGA e-Geforce 7800 GS CO Superclocked@460/1350Mhz (174.74)
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (2.09.0016)
Creative Labs Inspire 5.1 5300 Speakers
Windows XP Pro (SP2/Direct X 9.0c/IE7/WMP11)

Old GPU cards I still have (PNY Geforce 4 ti 4600/BFG Tech Geforce FX 5800 Ultra/BFG Tech Geforce FX 5950 Ultra/BFG Tech 6800 GT OC)
Demanufakture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-05, 03:44 PM   #1218
d2thez
Registered User
 
d2thez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 274
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Dude I truly hate to tbe the one to break this to you, but you have likely only spent another $56 to experience the same issue. It is rampant of all Nforce3 boards, and the only known solution is a VIA board or ATI videocard.

I hope for you it works, but likely you will experience the exact same stuttering....
d2thez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-05, 04:11 PM   #1219
Demanufakture
Demanufakture
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 457
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by d2thez
Dude I truly hate to tbe the one to break this to you, but you have likely only spent another $56 to experience the same issue. It is rampant of all Nforce3 boards, and the only known solution is a VIA board or ATI videocard.

I hope for you it works, but likely you will experience the exact same stuttering....

No you don't understand. Turning off AGP fastwrites used to work perfectly and got rid of the problem. However recently a thunderstorm zapped my cmos battery and messed up my motherboard. The reason I can tell it is messed up is because when my pc verifies the dmi pool data it used to say update success every once and a while. Now, since the thunderstorm, my pc never says update success anymore. Even though it boots up just fine and windows runs normally, now when I run any direct 3d game I get this 5 second pause. Even though I have agp fastwrites off in the bios I still get the stutter now and I am pretty sure it is because my pc won't ever say update success anymore when it is verifying dmi pool data. I am pretty sure that when I replace my messed up nforce 3 with a new nforce 3 I will be able to play again with agp fastwrites off without any stutter. Any feedback on this would be much appreciated.

EDIT: I cancelled my order because I want to make sure that I get a good new board. So do you think I should go for the Chaintech k8t800 board instead? Are there any issues related to it or will it work flawlessly? Some feedback would be much appreciated. I really want to get rid of this stutter issue and would appreciate some feedback on whether I should get another Nforce 3 or a VIA board. Either way I'll be getting Chaintech,FYI.
__________________
Antec Neo HE 550w SLI Ready PSU
AMD Athlon 64 3400+ 1MB L2 Cache@2.20Ghz
Chaintech VNF3-250 Nforce 3 250 (5.11)
2x Seagate Barracuda 80GB
Sony DDU1622 48x/16x DVD-ROM
Plextor Plexwriter 40/12/40 CDR-W
Corsair Value Select 2,048MB PC3200 DDR400
Acer AL1916 19" LCD (1280x1024x32@75hz)
EVGA e-Geforce 7800 GS CO Superclocked@460/1350Mhz (174.74)
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (2.09.0016)
Creative Labs Inspire 5.1 5300 Speakers
Windows XP Pro (SP2/Direct X 9.0c/IE7/WMP11)

Old GPU cards I still have (PNY Geforce 4 ti 4600/BFG Tech Geforce FX 5800 Ultra/BFG Tech Geforce FX 5950 Ultra/BFG Tech 6800 GT OC)
Demanufakture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-05, 04:50 PM   #1220
Demanufakture
Demanufakture
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 457
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Any ideas as to how to get my pc to say update success after it verifies dmi pool data? I suspect if I a can get the mobo to that again I will have fixed my problem with my board. Should I maybe try clearing my CMOS?

EDIT:Screw it, I'm going to get a new Nforce 3. After reading in the release 75 notes I see that they have a known incompatibility with VIA and ATI AGP 3.0 chipsets. Obviously the nforce 3 has an issue as well but not as severe as the VIA and ATI chipsets have. I am just going to get a new Nforce 3 and continue playing with AGP Fastwrites off. I've tried everything to fix my old nforce 3 and can't get it to say update success. I am going to buy the VNF3-250 Nforce 3 250 from Chaintech after all.
__________________
Antec Neo HE 550w SLI Ready PSU
AMD Athlon 64 3400+ 1MB L2 Cache@2.20Ghz
Chaintech VNF3-250 Nforce 3 250 (5.11)
2x Seagate Barracuda 80GB
Sony DDU1622 48x/16x DVD-ROM
Plextor Plexwriter 40/12/40 CDR-W
Corsair Value Select 2,048MB PC3200 DDR400
Acer AL1916 19" LCD (1280x1024x32@75hz)
EVGA e-Geforce 7800 GS CO Superclocked@460/1350Mhz (174.74)
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (2.09.0016)
Creative Labs Inspire 5.1 5300 Speakers
Windows XP Pro (SP2/Direct X 9.0c/IE7/WMP11)

Old GPU cards I still have (PNY Geforce 4 ti 4600/BFG Tech Geforce FX 5800 Ultra/BFG Tech Geforce FX 5950 Ultra/BFG Tech 6800 GT OC)
Demanufakture is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-17-05, 04:52 AM   #1221
joshua7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 226
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Cracauer
Looks like I am fine. This is the K8V-X with my Ultra.

I would have been surprised if there was a problem, I played through most of Far Cry in HDR on this combo.

[Edited to add: ] I should mention that the board is not quite perfect. Overclocking is problematic because of missing PCI/AGP lock and lack of RAM controls. It is picky about RAM - I have a stick Cruicial Ballistix PC4000 which apparently is not to the board's liking and corrupts memory under heavy load. My Kingston Value is fine, and faster
Is ECC ram really that important? (in an earlier post)
Why did you buy an old k8t800 board when there is the pro version? With working pci/agp clocks...
__________________
Asus Rampage II GENE
i7 920 D0 @ Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Scythe Kamakaze
3x1GB Kingmax PC3-10066 DDR3
Gainward HD4850 GS GLH 512MB
Samsung F1 HD642JJ 640GB
Samsung F2 EcoGreen HD154UI 1.5TB
Pioneer DVR-212D
Creative SB X-FI
Corsair HX520W
CoolerMaster RC-690
Genius SW-5.1 HT DHT510
Samsung 193p+
Razer Diamondback Acid Green
joshua7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-05, 04:55 AM   #1222
joshua7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 226
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Demanufakture
Any ideas as to how to get my pc to say update success after it verifies dmi pool data? I suspect if I a can get the mobo to that again I will have fixed my problem with my board. Should I maybe try clearing my CMOS?

EDIT:Screw it, I'm going to get a new Nforce 3. After reading in the release 75 notes I see that they have a known incompatibility with VIA and ATI AGP 3.0 chipsets. Obviously the nforce 3 has an issue as well but not as severe as the VIA and ATI chipsets have. I am just going to get a new Nforce 3 and continue playing with AGP Fastwrites off. I've tried everything to fix my old nforce 3 and can't get it to say update success. I am going to buy the VNF3-250 Nforce 3 250 from Chaintech after all.
Oh man... You really don't want to do that. Why to switch to another nf3 board with possibly the same problem?
I can tell you that the Via board is at least that good as my DFI Lanparty UT nf3 250gb which I used to have.
__________________
Asus Rampage II GENE
i7 920 D0 @ Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Scythe Kamakaze
3x1GB Kingmax PC3-10066 DDR3
Gainward HD4850 GS GLH 512MB
Samsung F1 HD642JJ 640GB
Samsung F2 EcoGreen HD154UI 1.5TB
Pioneer DVR-212D
Creative SB X-FI
Corsair HX520W
CoolerMaster RC-690
Genius SW-5.1 HT DHT510
Samsung 193p+
Razer Diamondback Acid Green
joshua7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-05, 11:48 AM   #1223
Demanufakture
Demanufakture
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 457
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua7
Oh man... You really don't want to do that. Why to switch to another nf3 board with possibly the same problem?
I can tell you that the Via board is at least that good as my DFI Lanparty UT nf3 250gb which I used to have.
Because I never had problems with my nforce 3 and the latest drivers with agp fastwrites off before a storm came and killed my cmos battery. Ever since then the stutter happens with any driver I use and my pc wont ever say update success anymore when it verifies dmi pool data, even though it still boots up normally. I think it is safe to assume that if I got a new nforce 3 that I can play games again all I want with the latest drivers with the agp fastwrites off. This is what I'm hoping for. I still haven't lost faith that nvidia will eventually fix this issue. The question is, when? Hopefully maybe with the 8x.xx series Forceware. Besides, doesn't it say in the release notes for release 75 that there is a problem with the via agp 3.0 chipset? Shouldn't you be affected by this bug if your using the latest drivers? How bad is that issue. I have all weekend to change my order because it will not be processed until monday. Any comments, suggestion would very much appreciated.
__________________
Antec Neo HE 550w SLI Ready PSU
AMD Athlon 64 3400+ 1MB L2 Cache@2.20Ghz
Chaintech VNF3-250 Nforce 3 250 (5.11)
2x Seagate Barracuda 80GB
Sony DDU1622 48x/16x DVD-ROM
Plextor Plexwriter 40/12/40 CDR-W
Corsair Value Select 2,048MB PC3200 DDR400
Acer AL1916 19" LCD (1280x1024x32@75hz)
EVGA e-Geforce 7800 GS CO Superclocked@460/1350Mhz (174.74)
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (2.09.0016)
Creative Labs Inspire 5.1 5300 Speakers
Windows XP Pro (SP2/Direct X 9.0c/IE7/WMP11)

Old GPU cards I still have (PNY Geforce 4 ti 4600/BFG Tech Geforce FX 5800 Ultra/BFG Tech Geforce FX 5950 Ultra/BFG Tech 6800 GT OC)
Demanufakture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-05, 01:50 PM   #1224
Demanufakture
Demanufakture
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 457
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

I may have, and I repeat, MAY have fixed the issue I was having with nforce 3 150. I downloaded rivatuner 2.0 and activated the hidden drivers options through coolbits 2.0. Then I turned agp fastwrites back on in the bios. Then after rebooting I set rivatuner and the driver to not use agp fastwrites. It seems, repeat, SEEMS to have got rid of the 5 second pause/stutter issue I was having. I'll do some more game testing to make sure and I will report back. FYI, I am testing this issue in Joint Operations Typhoon Rising/Escalation.
__________________
Antec Neo HE 550w SLI Ready PSU
AMD Athlon 64 3400+ 1MB L2 Cache@2.20Ghz
Chaintech VNF3-250 Nforce 3 250 (5.11)
2x Seagate Barracuda 80GB
Sony DDU1622 48x/16x DVD-ROM
Plextor Plexwriter 40/12/40 CDR-W
Corsair Value Select 2,048MB PC3200 DDR400
Acer AL1916 19" LCD (1280x1024x32@75hz)
EVGA e-Geforce 7800 GS CO Superclocked@460/1350Mhz (174.74)
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (2.09.0016)
Creative Labs Inspire 5.1 5300 Speakers
Windows XP Pro (SP2/Direct X 9.0c/IE7/WMP11)

Old GPU cards I still have (PNY Geforce 4 ti 4600/BFG Tech Geforce FX 5800 Ultra/BFG Tech Geforce FX 5950 Ultra/BFG Tech 6800 GT OC)
Demanufakture is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.