Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-17-05, 02:28 PM   #1225
joshua7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 226
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

I really do not know what you mean. What is release 75?
I use Forceware 77.50 and have no problems at all.
__________________
Asus Rampage II GENE
i7 920 D0 @ Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Scythe Kamakaze
3x1GB Kingmax PC3-10066 DDR3
Gainward HD4850 GS GLH 512MB
Samsung F1 HD642JJ 640GB
Samsung F2 EcoGreen HD154UI 1.5TB
Pioneer DVR-212D
Creative SB X-FI
Corsair HX520W
CoolerMaster RC-690
Genius SW-5.1 HT DHT510
Samsung 193p+
Razer Diamondback Acid Green
joshua7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-05, 04:51 PM   #1226
uOpt
FreeBSD cheering section
 
uOpt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Posts: 609
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua7
Is ECC ram really that important? (in an earlier post)
Why did you buy an old k8t800 board when there is the pro version? With working pci/agp clocks...
My ECC RAM reasoning is here:
http://cracauer-forum.cons.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=18

Asus does not have a socket 754 board with working PCI/AGP lock at this time. When I bought the K8V-X I planned not to overclock and wanted ECC, and there is no socket 754 board doing both the lock and ECC from any vendor, to my best knowledge. But now I discovered that my 2.4 GHz Newcastle does 2591 MHz without any problems whatsoever and now I want to overclock. Argh!

I have an Abit KV8-Pro floating around which does has a working lock. But it does not do ECC, the temperature sensoring has been ruined by connecting it to their toy proprietary "uGuru" chip and I have to run some crazy non-public beta BIOS to have the lock actually working. Abit delivered these boards which are made with the lockable Via chipset with no working BIOS support for it. If I have the tiniest hint of a problem with the BIOS I use right now I can't upgrade.

I ordered a bunch of socket 939 parts and might get rid of the whole 754 business. If somebody wants to buy or trade some of the 754 stuff let me know (p.m. of course, don't want to abuse this as a forsale thread).
uOpt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-05, 05:37 PM   #1227
Demanufakture
Demanufakture
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 457
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua7
I really do not know what you mean. What is release 75?
I use Forceware 77.50 and have no problems at all.
In the release notes for all of the Forceware 75 Graphics Drivers it mentions an incompatability with forceware release 75(77.72 and up) with VIA and ATI agp 3.0 chipsets. Look for your self. Is your card running on the agp bus just fine? If you could tell me if your k8t800 via board works just fine in all of your games, especially BF2, then I'll probably get a via board. I need some via people with k8t800 chipsets to tell me if they have any problems gaming with the chipset. Thanks in advance.
__________________
Antec Neo HE 550w SLI Ready PSU
AMD Athlon 64 3400+ 1MB L2 Cache@2.20Ghz
Chaintech VNF3-250 Nforce 3 250 (5.11)
2x Seagate Barracuda 80GB
Sony DDU1622 48x/16x DVD-ROM
Plextor Plexwriter 40/12/40 CDR-W
Corsair Value Select 2,048MB PC3200 DDR400
Acer AL1916 19" LCD (1280x1024x32@75hz)
EVGA e-Geforce 7800 GS CO Superclocked@460/1350Mhz (174.74)
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (2.09.0016)
Creative Labs Inspire 5.1 5300 Speakers
Windows XP Pro (SP2/Direct X 9.0c/IE7/WMP11)

Old GPU cards I still have (PNY Geforce 4 ti 4600/BFG Tech Geforce FX 5800 Ultra/BFG Tech Geforce FX 5950 Ultra/BFG Tech 6800 GT OC)
Demanufakture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-05, 06:58 PM   #1228
MidnightWatcher
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 53
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Since nVidia refuses to even acknowledge the stutter bug with the nforce3/6800 combo, they've intentionally introduced the "VIA/AGP" bug in an effort to frighten "ignorant" buyers away from VIA motherboards. All nVidia cares about is their bottom line, not us.

So let's make their bottom line hurt, and refuse to buy any more nVidia-based products ever again UNTIL they acknowledge the nForce3/6800 "Stutter Bug" (TM) *AND* release a true FIX.
MidnightWatcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-05, 07:34 PM   #1229
Goth
Registered User
 
Goth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 113
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Demanufakture
In the release notes for all of the Forceware 75 Graphics Drivers it mentions an incompatability with forceware release 75(77.72 and up) with VIA and ATI agp 3.0 chipsets. Look for your self. Is your card running on the agp bus just fine? If you could tell me if your k8t800 via board works just fine in all of your games, especially BF2, then I'll probably get a via board. I need some via people with k8t800 chipsets to tell me if they have any problems gaming with the chipset. Thanks in advance.
I'm not having any problems at all running 77.77 driver on WinXP 64
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+ 2.5Ghz (venice core)
ASUS A8V Deluxe
2048MB OCZ Gold PC4000
BFG 6800 Ultra OC
Maxtor 80GB ATA133
Sony 16X DVD RW
WinTV 250
SuperFlower 550w PSU 30A 12V Rail
WinXP x64
Goth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-05, 08:37 PM   #1230
oneils
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 95
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
If you could tell me if your k8t800 via board works just fine in all of your games, especially BF2, then I'll probably get a via board.

Hi Demanufacture, when I first installed the Asus K8V-X I also did a clean install of windows xp (with sp1, without sp2). I then installed via's hyperion 4.51 chipset drivers (latest drivers are 4.56). I then installed forceware 78.01. This disabled the agp bus. In the BIOS agp was enabled, but the nvidia driver menu (you can read through my older posts a bit lower on the page) recognised my card as a pci card, not an agp card. I had no problems with stability at all, but performance was basically cut in half. I then uninstalled the video driver and via's agp driver. Then reinstalled via's agp driver (it was the only one I could find...I wasn't sure how to install a generic agp driver) and installed forceware 66.72. Everything is now working fine, no problems with HL2, CSS or Far Cry. Those are the only games I've tried so far. But, they were the ones that gave me problems with my old Soltek K8AN-RL Nforce 3 150 board.

I'll soon be trying out BF2, just haven't got around to installing it. I will be trying it either late saturday or on sunday.

S.O.
__________________
Intel DC 6300
BFG 8800GTS OC2 640mb
Vista 32bit
3x320gb Seagate Barracudas
2gb RAM

Last edited by oneils; 09-17-05 at 08:38 PM. Reason: inserted quote
oneils is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-05, 08:53 PM   #1231
MidnightWatcher
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 53
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Is the nForce3/6800 stutter bug present on WinXP 64?
MidnightWatcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-05, 09:06 PM   #1232
Demanufakture
Demanufakture
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 457
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightWatcher
Is the nForce3/6800 stutter bug present on WinXP 64?
Interesting question. I would like to know as well.
__________________
Antec Neo HE 550w SLI Ready PSU
AMD Athlon 64 3400+ 1MB L2 Cache@2.20Ghz
Chaintech VNF3-250 Nforce 3 250 (5.11)
2x Seagate Barracuda 80GB
Sony DDU1622 48x/16x DVD-ROM
Plextor Plexwriter 40/12/40 CDR-W
Corsair Value Select 2,048MB PC3200 DDR400
Acer AL1916 19" LCD (1280x1024x32@75hz)
EVGA e-Geforce 7800 GS CO Superclocked@460/1350Mhz (174.74)
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (2.09.0016)
Creative Labs Inspire 5.1 5300 Speakers
Windows XP Pro (SP2/Direct X 9.0c/IE7/WMP11)

Old GPU cards I still have (PNY Geforce 4 ti 4600/BFG Tech Geforce FX 5800 Ultra/BFG Tech Geforce FX 5950 Ultra/BFG Tech 6800 GT OC)
Demanufakture is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-17-05, 11:01 PM   #1233
uOpt
FreeBSD cheering section
 
uOpt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Posts: 609
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Demanufakture
If you could tell me if your k8t800 via board works just fine in all of your games, especially BF2, then I'll probably get a via board. I need some via people with k8t800 chipsets to tell me if they have any problems gaming with the chipset. Thanks in advance.
Both the Asus K8V-X and the Abit KB8-Pro fixed all the games I had the stutter in. I mentioned the games I used earlier. However, I never played BF2. I kept everything else the same (cpu, ram, psu etc.).

And as I said, base speed, not overclocked, was also better.
uOpt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-05, 12:03 PM   #1234
pizzadude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightWatcher
Originally Posted by MidnightWatcher
Is the nForce3/6800 stutter bug present on WinXP 64?
Yes, it occurs on my X64 setup.
pizzadude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-05, 05:31 PM   #1235
Demanufakture
Demanufakture
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 457
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

I figured out what I am going to do. Geforce FX cards are not affected by this stutter bug on Nforce 3 boards. I just so happen to be a proud owner of an FX 5800 Ultra , FX 5950 Ultra and my 6800 GT OC. I ordered a Chaintech VNF3-250 Nforce 3 250 to replace my slightly messed up ZNF3-150 Nforce 3 150 chipset. I always regreted getting the 150 when the 250 came out. Anyways, I am going to put my system back together with my new Nforce 3 and my old BFG Geforce FX 5950 Ultra in order to get rid of this annoying stutter bug. I am just going to have to put my 6800 gt oc on the shelf until nvidia fixes the issues with 6800 cards and the nforce 3. Can't wait to be able to use any driver I want again with my FX 5950 Ultra. Sure it will be slower than my 6800 gt oc, but I can live with that to get rid of this dam stutter issue.
__________________
Antec Neo HE 550w SLI Ready PSU
AMD Athlon 64 3400+ 1MB L2 Cache@2.20Ghz
Chaintech VNF3-250 Nforce 3 250 (5.11)
2x Seagate Barracuda 80GB
Sony DDU1622 48x/16x DVD-ROM
Plextor Plexwriter 40/12/40 CDR-W
Corsair Value Select 2,048MB PC3200 DDR400
Acer AL1916 19" LCD (1280x1024x32@75hz)
EVGA e-Geforce 7800 GS CO Superclocked@460/1350Mhz (174.74)
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (2.09.0016)
Creative Labs Inspire 5.1 5300 Speakers
Windows XP Pro (SP2/Direct X 9.0c/IE7/WMP11)

Old GPU cards I still have (PNY Geforce 4 ti 4600/BFG Tech Geforce FX 5800 Ultra/BFG Tech Geforce FX 5950 Ultra/BFG Tech 6800 GT OC)
Demanufakture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-05, 06:11 PM   #1236
Goth
Registered User
 
Goth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 113
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightWatcher
Is the nForce3/6800 stutter bug present on WinXP 64?
Yea it's just as bad on the WinXP 64.
The only way I got rid off the stutter bug was to get a via board
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+ 2.5Ghz (venice core)
ASUS A8V Deluxe
2048MB OCZ Gold PC4000
BFG 6800 Ultra OC
Maxtor 80GB ATA133
Sony 16X DVD RW
WinTV 250
SuperFlower 550w PSU 30A 12V Rail
WinXP x64
Goth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.