Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-21-05, 08:41 AM   #1249
d2thez
Registered User
 
d2thez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 274
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Well thanks to the author of NBITOR, I think we have a way of determining for sure if temps is the cause.

With the new 2.5 version, available at www.mvktech.net, allows the disbaling of temp monitoring according to its new release notes. I have used the program before but I am at work so can't test.

Maybe someone with experience and balls will disable the temp monitoring and overclock their 6800 to a point where it would normally cause the freezes and stuttering and flash this modded bios to their card and give it a whirl.

Just a thought about a way to finally eliminate for sure one possible cause.

The second idea I have had while meditating on this problem is this: Release notes for the 75 series state problems with the AGP 3.0 controlers on VIA and ATI chipsets, and that the implemented a special work around for those motherboards in the form of PCI calls to memory instead of AGP calls.

If anybody can find the reg entry that toggles this special workaround, maybe we can turn it on on our Nforce3 motherboards and see if it fixes our freezing.

Just another thought!
d2thez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-05, 08:49 AM   #1250
starmind
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 20
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

hello, really good suggestion about temps, because i noticed that when i run the asus agp tweaker & monitor, i have freeze exactly at it scan refresh time, the same freeze that i have aleatory in games. I was trying to found if something is doing same scan but fail to do it, maybe it's this motherboard or 6800 internal scan, i think more about the MB because i was last week using old a7n8x card with exactly same drivers & stuff that k8n-e deluxe without any freeze
starmind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-05, 02:16 PM   #1251
starmind
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 20
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

I have tried the trick to put a new OC speed at same level on 2D and 3D in the asus panel and it seems that i have no freeze in game now i have to tried more long time but seems this trick is a good thing.

What i noticed too when running the rivatuner monitoring is that when i run a game and use alt + tab to go back to riva and go back to game, then i have the freeze immediatly and just one time, so i go back to riva and see that the OC have left to default one severals seconds... in riva i could see 3 levels of oc "standard, low and 3d" , the low one is still at default hardware, if i change it to same that the 2 others, i have to start a daemon and then the freeze come back, but in the monitoring the OC level dont change this time... little confusing thing...

So i will just use the 2d and 3d light oc in the coolbit2 panel at 420 - 1134 and see if after more long time i see again freeze or not
__________________
Asus k8n-e deluxe repaced by MIS K8N Neo Platinium, A64 3400+ 1MB, 6800 Ultra Pov, audigy 2 Zs, 2*512 MB DDR 3700 400. (FW off, light oc no freeze)
starmind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-05, 10:13 PM   #1252
Nutty
Sittin in the Sun
 
Nutty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,835
Send a message via MSN to Nutty
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

I finally fixed all my issues.

Stuttering was being caused by running in PCI mode. God knows how this happened. Installed latest official nforce3 chipset drivers fixed this. At 1st this broke all d3d apps to run at 0.1fps until I disabled Fast-writes.

The 5 second freeze locks were due to my gpu being clocked too high. Brought down to just over what it should be from stock and all the hard freezes have gone too..
Nutty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-05, 02:28 AM   #1253
macatak
Registered User
 
macatak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: QLD Australia
Posts: 1,349
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Previously i didn't have any freezes unless i overclocked my GFX card, that was until i installed the Serious Sam2 Demo then my setup started doing the freeze/unfreeze thing(no o/clocks), tried disabling Fast Writes but that didn't help, went back into the BIOS and re-enabled FW but disabled NV/ATI Speedup and now the game doesn't freeze.
__________________
WinXP Home Edition SP2/Athlon 3500+Newcastle/MSI K8N Diamond/BFG7800GTX OC/Antec 550TrueControl 2.0/1GIG DDR400Kingmax/Acer AL2016W LCD/SB Live!/Audigy2 ZS
macatak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-05, 10:15 AM   #1254
starmind
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 20
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

maybe the new nvidia idea is to freeze all people that OC video cards, in order to have them buying new ones instead
__________________
Asus k8n-e deluxe repaced by MIS K8N Neo Platinium, A64 3400+ 1MB, 6800 Ultra Pov, audigy 2 Zs, 2*512 MB DDR 3700 400. (FW off, light oc no freeze)
starmind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-05, 12:00 AM   #1255
uOpt
FreeBSD cheering section
 
uOpt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Posts: 609
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by d2thez
Well thanks to the author of NBITOR, I think we have a way of determining for sure if temps is the cause.

With the new 2.5 version, available at www.mvktech.net, allows the disbaling of temp monitoring according to its new release notes. I have used the program before but I am at work so can't test.
It's not temps. My temperatures were fully normal.

Also, as I wrote, the problem went away when I plugged the same card, memory, PSU etc into the Via mainboards. I even overclock the CPU in the Via boards which I never did wth the NVidia board.
uOpt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-05, 03:46 AM   #1256
starmind
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 20
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

maybe it's the way it detect the temp and not the temp itself

but i tried the trick to put same light oc value to 2d / 3d on one other nvida card msi k8n neo plat and it give exactly same result, only one freeze when starting the game or switching to game with alt + tab but no freeze at all after that.
__________________
Asus k8n-e deluxe repaced by MIS K8N Neo Platinium, A64 3400+ 1MB, 6800 Ultra Pov, audigy 2 Zs, 2*512 MB DDR 3700 400. (FW off, light oc no freeze)
starmind is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-23-05, 01:31 PM   #1257
Demanufakture
Demanufakture
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 457
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Well I can now report that it seems my new mobo has fixed my problem. Now I can use my 6800 gt oc again with the latest drivers with agp fastwrites off, how it used to be on my old board, without any freezes.
__________________
Antec Neo HE 550w SLI Ready PSU
AMD Athlon 64 3400+ 1MB L2 Cache@2.20Ghz
Chaintech VNF3-250 Nforce 3 250 (5.11)
2x Seagate Barracuda 80GB
Sony DDU1622 48x/16x DVD-ROM
Plextor Plexwriter 40/12/40 CDR-W
Corsair Value Select 2,048MB PC3200 DDR400
Acer AL1916 19" LCD (1280x1024x32@75hz)
EVGA e-Geforce 7800 GS CO Superclocked@460/1350Mhz (174.74)
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (2.09.0016)
Creative Labs Inspire 5.1 5300 Speakers
Windows XP Pro (SP2/Direct X 9.0c/IE7/WMP11)

Old GPU cards I still have (PNY Geforce 4 ti 4600/BFG Tech Geforce FX 5800 Ultra/BFG Tech Geforce FX 5950 Ultra/BFG Tech 6800 GT OC)
Demanufakture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-05, 04:33 PM   #1258
d2thez
Registered User
 
d2thez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 274
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Well it appears us sufferers who remember OldPueblo relaying a message from Kyle at HARDOCP saying that Nvidia would release a driver on nzone to fix the freezing/stuttering problem soon have new hope.

On Nvidia's FTP there is a new folder with the numer 78.05. Hopefully.....
d2thez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-05, 06:14 PM   #1259
oldfartjc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ. USA
Posts: 26
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by d2thez
Well it appears us sufferers who remember OldPueblo relaying a message from Kyle at HARDOCP saying that Nvidia would release a driver on nzone to fix the freezing/stuttering problem soon have new hope.

On Nvidia's FTP there is a new folder with the numer 78.05. Hopefully.....
I gave up on nVidia addressing this problem a month ago and now enjoy gaming again with my ASUS A8V Deluxe VIA chipset board and 6800 GT instead of trying every possible so called fix to get my MSI Neo 2 platinum to work with D3D games. I wouldn't get my hopes up to high as they haven't fixed it yet and its been well over a year since the problem was first reported to them. Also, why would a folder labeled 78.05 be any different than a folder named 78.01 which are the newest drivers? These drivers didn't fix the problem any more then the last gazillion driver updates. I hope they figure it out so I can build another machine with my Neo 2 Platinum without having to worry about an nVidia 68xx video card working with it in D3D games.
__________________
AMD 3700+ San Diego @ 2.64 GHz/Retail HSF
Was a MSI Neo2 Platinum/Bios Ver. 1.A
Now an ASUS A8V Deluxe Ver. 2 Bios 1014
OS: Win XP Pro/SP2
Antec SmartPower 350W +3.3V/28A +5V/35A +12V/21A
BFG 6800GT OC 370/1000
1 Gig OCZ PC3500 2.5-3-3-7-2T Dual Channel
Maxtor 250 Gig ATA 133/Primary IDE Master
WDC 80 Gig ATA 100/Primary IDE Slave
Seagate 160 Gig SATA Drive
Plextor DVDR PX-708A Sec. IDE Master
Liteon JLMS XJ-HD166S Sec. IDE Slave
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz Sound Card
oldfartjc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-05, 05:57 AM   #1260
macatak
Registered User
 
macatak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: QLD Australia
Posts: 1,349
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by macatak
Previously i didn't have any freezes unless i overclocked my GFX card, that was until i installed the Serious Sam2 Demo then my setup started doing the freeze/unfreeze thing(no o/clocks), tried disabling Fast Writes but that didn't help, went back into the BIOS and re-enabled FW but disabled NV/ATI Speedup and now the game doesn't freeze.
*update* It appears most of my problems with the Demo were related to my onboard sound, since changing the number of sounds the demo is now running great, i have also re-enabled NV/ATI Speedup and haven't had any freezes, *touch wood*
__________________
WinXP Home Edition SP2/Athlon 3500+Newcastle/MSI K8N Diamond/BFG7800GTX OC/Antec 550TrueControl 2.0/1GIG DDR400Kingmax/Acer AL2016W LCD/SB Live!/Audigy2 ZS
macatak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.