Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-23-04, 01:19 PM   #121
ubersoldat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 60
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Wow. I change the Nvidia Driver to 61.34 and now 3dmark04 didnt freeze. I now get 10442 marks this time. Much faster than 8543. Hopefully that was the problem. You should all do the same too.
ubersoldat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-04, 04:50 PM   #122
awshucks101
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 13
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by ubersoldat
Wow. I change the Nvidia Driver to 61.34 and now 3dmark04 didnt freeze.
That should of been my first thing I did, instead of leaving on the 61.77 drivers. Still though, ANY officially released Forceware should work with this board. I can never recall having this many problems with a new pc component, EVER. I even got so frustrated last night, found a bios editor and flashed the bios core from 1.3 to 1.4. Same problem
...freeze ups in BF:V. This was after playing D3 late into Saturday nite, with no problems after I installed the Intel chipset software. Figured the problem was fixed, until trying to run BF:V.
Reflashed board back to defaults now and gonna try an older official driver. LAST CHANCE.
Found an X800 pro VIVO for the same price I paid for this board, and if the new drivers don't do the trick, so long my new little friend.
awshucks101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-04, 06:45 PM   #123
Boz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 18
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Where did you get 61.34 drivers???
Boz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-04, 07:14 PM   #124
awshucks101
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 13
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

They should be on your install CD with card. I'm still getting the freeze ups in BF:V BTW. The Watchdog logfile calls it an "infinite loop." I play it online with my friends all the time, so I gotta get it to work.
I just emailed EVGA tech support for a new revision 02 bios. I've heard it cures a lot of probs with card. I'm almost at my breaking point though, I really wanted this card to work.
My 465 chip intel board is an old dog, but I'm not upgrading until ddr2 and pci express come out, so I'm stuck with it. Plus, I like the dang thing, works good, I'm used to it.
I've tried every different setting I know, no IRQ conflicts, turned off memory and turbo acceleration, disabling fast writes BLAH BLAH FREAKIN BLAH.
I've read the 61.77's are the first to introduce shader 3.0. But I rolled back to the 61.34's and still had problems.
My sales receipt goes another 20 days...If the new bios doesn't work...Happy Trails my little plastic POS. If you figure out the problem, please post it, and I promise to do the same. Good luck.
awshucks101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-04, 08:40 PM   #125
Boz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 18
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Still no solution. Used coolbits to set my clockspeeds to the same speed. Both 2d and 3d I set to 425 and I still get the lockups. I am still waiting on my larger Powersupply, but I am beginning to doubt that that is even going to cure this problem. I have tried all other solutions on this site but the beefy power supply. Again....... on Nvida's part for putting out a POS card. Is there anyone out there NOT having problems???
Boz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-04, 09:05 PM   #126
ubersoldat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 60
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Ok, still some freezes but it kicks back into the game afterword. Although even the small freezing tends to ruin the experience. God why aren't Nvidia doing anything, god this is getting on my nerves.
ubersoldat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-04, 09:20 PM   #127
awshucks101
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 13
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Well, the extent of Evga tech support was; we have no new bios files to give you, and did you try the card in a different system? LOL.
Their e-mail made my decision for me. Just ordered the X800. May even return this Antec 550 I bought for the GT also.
Oh well, I've learned more about bios settings, and how to make hardware compatible than I ever thought I could or wanted. Hopefully, the new card, which is just a faster version of what I already had, won't give me any problems.
awshucks101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-04, 10:30 PM   #128
eva2000
Registered User
 
eva2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 340
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

for people freezing maybe this would help (besides psu being the problem)

While browsing a few forums I came across the easier way to force 2D/3D to same speeds. Before i was just adjusting 3D then 2D to same speeds. But you can do this instead... haven't tried it yet as I just enabled it.







seems to work the same as when setting 2D manually to same 3D speeds

3.2EE@ 200fsb

Asus 6800U
@ 425/1100 = 13,059
@ 450/1100 = 13,740





but will try other apps as well
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-24-04, 01:07 AM   #129
TheHelpful1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 109
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Anyone know if the Zalman (http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE) will fit the 6800 Ultras?
TheHelpful1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-04, 02:39 AM   #130
Stevandy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 8
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

I've found that the force 3D performance mode like above helps, but does not eliminate freezes that last for about 5 secs.
Stevandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-04, 03:11 PM   #131
ubersoldat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 60
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

I think the 5 second freezes is cause by heating. Whenever my gfx I think hits 80*C it will freeze for 5 seconds so it can cool down.
ubersoldat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-04, 09:12 PM   #132
Eltigre88
ASUS Lover!!!
 
Eltigre88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Essex Jct. Vermont
Posts: 1,061
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

When my card freezes in DOOM 3 all I have to do is hit ctl+alt+del and wait for the processes box to come up. When it comes up the game unfreezes and I hit esc to continue playing. Not too bad till they get a driver fix.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth P67
Intel SB 2600K 4.4 GhZ
16 GB Gskill RipJaws DDR3 2133
MSI 680GTX Twin Frozr 4GD5/OC, Galaxy 680GTX 4GB GC SLI
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
ThermalTake ToughPower 850W PSU
Windows 8 Pro 64bit
16076 3dMark11 score
Eltigre88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.