Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-24-04, 09:48 PM   #133
Boz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 18
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Still waiting on my power supply. Played Far Cry for 40 min before the freezing started. My vid card was actually quite hot at that poin to the touch but the desktop temp still only read 64C degrees. Could this be wrong and all of this is caused by overheating? I have my case side off with a fan pointed directly at the thing. Not sure how else I can get it much cooler. Doesn't seem right that that card was hot to the touch though. I don't want to void any warranties by removing anything. I did slightly tighten the heat sink as mentioned in this forum... ever so slightly.
Boz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-04, 11:12 PM   #134
ubersoldat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 60
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

64*C is like 101*F It actually really hot. When I press control alt delete it works but the whole screen gets distorted and freaky.
ubersoldat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-04, 02:48 AM   #135
KickAssCop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 432
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

I have been reading through this thread. It will be nice to know if this is an issue with all nVidia 6800GTs or just a vendor specific issue. Also does this issue effect a lot of people. If yes I am seriously reconsidering shelling 400+ bucks on this card. Please is there a solution and do all the people notice 5 second pauses?
__________________
Intel Q6600 @ 3.2 GHz (400X8 FSB) | Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L Rev 2.0 | Sapphire ATi 5850 @ 825/1175 | 250 GB WD SATA2 16 MB | 80 GB Seagate SATA 8 MB | 4 GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @ 1000 5-5-5-15 | Liteon 16X DVD RW | Samsung 22" 1680*1050 | Logitech G5 | FSP 600W PSU
KickAssCop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-04, 07:38 AM   #136
Killall
goodmorning mr. Freeman
 
Killall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Stuck in cyberspace...
Posts: 138
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Well, i got an XFX 6800 ultra work fine at stock speeds (425/1.2). I tired to OC it to 450 core but farcry will get those 10 secs pauzes (core temp reads about 65). If i back down the core to 440 all is fine.. so heat does seem to be an issue.
__________________
MSI 975x Plat. PUE
Intel Core2Duo 6600E
XFX Geforce 8800 GTX
2x1024 mb Corsair PC6400C4
2x80G Maxtor HD's, SATA, Raid 0
Creative Audigy 2 ZS, 5.1 Speaker setup
Iyama MA203DT
And a ****load of games
Killall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-04, 01:26 PM   #137
toddt1233
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

I just purchased the eVGA 6800GToc and built it with the Asus K8N-E Deluxe NForce 3 250 mobo and 3400+ 64bit and I have been having the same freezing problems when playing Rainbow 6, Raven Shield and 3dMark 03. I have trouble shot it down to the card when I put my eVGA 5900XT in and had no problems what so ever. System runs fine with the 5900. I found this website last night and was planing on shipping my 6800 back to Newegg today when I found this nice source of fixes last night. I will be trying them tonight when I get home and will post the results.

I hope that Asus, eVGA, NVidia and so on come out with a patch/fix for this problem quick.
toddt1233 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-04, 03:22 PM   #138
ubersoldat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 60
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

OK that definatley excites. Please test it quick. I need the results so that 3d Studio Max would stop freezing. I modeled a sweet double barrel shotgun, then never before had the 3d max freeze. Now since it froze, I had to restart and then I found out the save file was corrupt and can't open.
ubersoldat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-04, 04:05 PM   #139
N8PIZZUTO
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 23
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

I have a PNY-6800-GT, I just bought my new NV Silencer 5 this thing rocks I am overclocked to 420/1150 I get 12,356 in 3dmark03 default settings. I am running @69c under load that is the highest temp it used to go up to 87c this cooler is what all you GT ppl need if your not afraid of the warranty crap HEAT is the problem. I am a technichian I think Nvidia needs to take a good hard look @ improving the cooling solution on this card. Well hope this helps out take care guys.
N8PIZZUTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-04, 04:41 PM   #140
Killall
goodmorning mr. Freeman
 
Killall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Stuck in cyberspace...
Posts: 138
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

I dont get it.. people getting 87 degrees.. My card is max 68 and then it alrdy starts to crapp out in games so how the hell can ya get 87 degrees and still play games?
__________________
MSI 975x Plat. PUE
Intel Core2Duo 6600E
XFX Geforce 8800 GTX
2x1024 mb Corsair PC6400C4
2x80G Maxtor HD's, SATA, Raid 0
Creative Audigy 2 ZS, 5.1 Speaker setup
Iyama MA203DT
And a ****load of games
Killall is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-25-04, 04:47 PM   #141
myshkinbob
Registered User
 
myshkinbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 402
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by ubersoldat
OK that definatley excites. Please test it quick. I need the results so that 3d Studio Max would stop freezing. I modeled a sweet double barrel shotgun, then never before had the 3d max freeze. Now since it froze, I had to restart and then I found out the save file was corrupt and can't open.
check out c:\3dsmax6\autoback you'll find 3 autobak.max and 1 maxback.bak, they're all backups of the last scene you worked on, i think the default backup period is 10 minutes, so your shotgun will exist there somewhere providing it was the last scene you worked on.

Personally i like to save my scenes in incremental filenames, ie shotgun1.max edit it a bit, save as shotgun2.max, that way you have plenty of backups plus if you dislike the results from a change you make you can go right back through all your editing to where you can correct it, without having to start over.
myshkinbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-04, 05:14 PM   #142
ubersoldat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 60
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Ok thanks. Now why should I buy something extra just to get the gfx card to work properly. You spend either $300 to $500. Thats expensive for a buggy card.
ubersoldat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-04, 07:13 PM   #143
N8PIZZUTO
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 23
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Killall
I dont get it.. people getting 87 degrees.. My card is max 68 and then it alrdy starts to crapp out in games so how the hell can ya get 87 degrees and still play games?

I think I said I have a 6800GT not Ultra the Gt's need a bigger cooler they are almost the exact same card. besides the clock frequncies witch are easily changed either driver level overclocking or by flashing card but the 6800GT's have a seroius cooling issue.
N8PIZZUTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-04, 08:09 PM   #144
Boz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 18
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Alright folks....I installed my newly arrived, via Fedex, Ocz Powerstream powersupply, 520watts after work today and guess what.......drum rolll please.........I just spent 3 hours straight playing Far Cry and not one freeze. My 400 watt Antec was crapping out on me it seams and was causing my problem. I have not yet tried CS to see if the smoke still cause the freeze and crashing. Just for a review of things that I tried b4 the power supply arrived today incase anyone is keeping tabs:

1 Updated to Direct X 9.0c
2 Updated Motherboard Chipset
3 updated to 66.77 Nvidia Drivers
4 updated Mobo Bios (this was a bit hairy, as the new bios didn't recognize my sata HD right away)

All of the above may have helped me, but did not solve the freezing/crashing problem.

5 upgraded 400watt antec power supply to 520watt OcZ Power supply

After doing this one I got a 3 hour session in on Far Cry w/ no problems. The core temp is running at about 63C. I do have the case side off and a fan blowing directly onto my computer.

One minor setback "beware the upgrade", now my very large tower case is not nearly large enough as this Ocz ps is a monster, not to mention the extra shielding that is around most of the wires. Not sure I could close my case now if I wanted to. Anyone got any suggestions for a good and very large tower case?

PS, I will update again and let anyone know if I am or am not having more problems.
Boz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.