Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-31-04, 06:03 PM   #205
ubersoldat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 60
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

I can run Doom 3 on ultra with a 6800ultra with 1024 ram. No problem besides the freezing.
ubersoldat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 09:33 PM   #206
TheHelpful1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 109
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by totalburnout
Attaching a better hs/f cured it and the core runs at 75C in Doom3 and FarCry, watercooling is better, it runs at 38C.

Manually assigning the IRQ or putting the Audigy in a different slot cured the problem.

I 'would' slap some AC5 and my NV Silencer on my 6800ultra, but I'm standing firm when i say I got one heck of a 'duff' card, so I don't think it'd be worth it. Plus eVGA would have a valid reason to screw me out of my warranty.

And exactly how do you manually reassign IRQ channels in WINXP without changing which PCI slot it is in physically?
TheHelpful1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 09:39 PM   #207
ubersoldat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 60
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

The sound isn't interfering with the games, although I here loud snaps when it freezes. I tried everything you said to make the sound not interfer, but it doesn't help any.
ubersoldat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 09:49 PM   #208
Pandora's Box
Registered User
 
Pandora's Box's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to Pandora's Box Send a message via MSN to Pandora's Box
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

ok so the solution for these random freezes is latest drivers, fastwrites off, and agp aperture to 256?
__________________
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe 2.00 | AMD Athlon XP 2700+ | 1.5GB DDR333 RAM | OCZ PowerStream 520Watt | eVGA GeForce 6800 GT 256MB Zalman VF700 CU | Western Digital 120GB 8MB Cache 7200 RPM | Western Digital 60GB 2MB Cache 7200 RPM | Athenatech A602 Case | Linksys WMP54GS SpeedBooster Wireless Card
Pandora's Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 09:57 PM   #209
TheHelpful1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 109
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pandora's Box
ok so the solution for these random freezes is latest drivers, fastwrites off, and agp aperture to 256?
Actually, AGP Aperture size should be set to 4MB...at least according to eVGA.com

http://www.evga.com/articles/public.asp?AID=9
TheHelpful1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 10:06 PM   #210
Pandora's Box
Registered User
 
Pandora's Box's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to Pandora's Box Send a message via MSN to Pandora's Box
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

they also say to put agp as primary video device. should be pci. that way you can throw a pci card in incase something goes wrong.
__________________
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe 2.00 | AMD Athlon XP 2700+ | 1.5GB DDR333 RAM | OCZ PowerStream 520Watt | eVGA GeForce 6800 GT 256MB Zalman VF700 CU | Western Digital 120GB 8MB Cache 7200 RPM | Western Digital 60GB 2MB Cache 7200 RPM | Athenatech A602 Case | Linksys WMP54GS SpeedBooster Wireless Card
Pandora's Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-04, 02:13 AM   #211
Auswak
www.EVGA.com
 
Auswak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: California
Posts: 150
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHelpful1
Actually, AGP Aperture size should be set to 4MB...at least according to eVGA.com

http://www.evga.com/articles/public.asp?AID=9
That is OLD and only recommended for Troubleshooting Purposes

If you are still having problems submit for an RMA with eVGA.
__________________
EVGA - Forum Guru and Employee

Intel QX6850 @ 3.6GHz||EVGA 780i SLI (NF78)||2 x EVGA 8800GT 512MB||2GB OCZ 1066 SLI DDR2 ||TT ToughPower 750W||Liteon 20xDL Sata DVD/RW||2 x WD 250GB Sata||Viewsonic 23" VP230mb||Vista Ultimate
Auswak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-04, 05:49 AM   #212
Killall
goodmorning mr. Freeman
 
Killall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Stuck in cyberspace...
Posts: 138
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Ive set my arpenture size to 64 mb once, got terrible stutters in ut2004 when playing assualt so arpenture size really matters. Just set it to 128 or 256.
__________________
MSI 975x Plat. PUE
Intel Core2Duo 6600E
XFX Geforce 8800 GTX
2x1024 mb Corsair PC6400C4
2x80G Maxtor HD's, SATA, Raid 0
Creative Audigy 2 ZS, 5.1 Speaker setup
Iyama MA203DT
And a ****load of games
Killall is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-01-04, 06:45 AM   #213
Pandora's Box
Registered User
 
Pandora's Box's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to Pandora's Box Send a message via MSN to Pandora's Box
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

ok i figured that. i once set my aperture to 4mb on my 9800 pro to see what it would do. lag in all games so...not best idea.

but anyway about this lag thing. since i dont have the time to read 15 pages of this thread. how do you solve it?
__________________
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe 2.00 | AMD Athlon XP 2700+ | 1.5GB DDR333 RAM | OCZ PowerStream 520Watt | eVGA GeForce 6800 GT 256MB Zalman VF700 CU | Western Digital 120GB 8MB Cache 7200 RPM | Western Digital 60GB 2MB Cache 7200 RPM | Athenatech A602 Case | Linksys WMP54GS SpeedBooster Wireless Card
Pandora's Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-04, 08:50 AM   #214
toddt1233
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pandora's Box
ok i figured that. i once set my aperture to 4mb on my 9800 pro to see what it would do. lag in all games so...not best idea.

but anyway about this lag thing. since i dont have the time to read 15 pages of this thread. how do you solve it?

Box up your video card and send it back.
toddt1233 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-04, 12:58 PM   #215
ubersoldat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 60
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Although you have the risk that when you get a new gfx card back, you will have the same problems.
ubersoldat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-04, 06:26 PM   #216
janapier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Hi folks,

here's my experience with the 10 s long freezes of the 6800 series cards in Far Cry:

With my Galaxy 6800GT it may occur during Aquamark3, 3Dmark03 and Far Cry, but not in Doom3. It may only occur when the card is overclocked. It may occur with ForceWare 61.76, 61.77, 65.73 and 66.00.

After a fresh driver install, the card played Doom3 flawlessly at 420/1150 (stock is 370/1000). Aquamark3 exhibited the freezes above 393 Mhz core clock. After installation of RivaTuner, forcing constant performance level and turning AGP FW off, all mentioned apps except Far Cry ran flawlessly at 420/1150.

After I activated "Chipset compatibility mode" in RT, even Far Cry would run at 420/1150 without the issue.

After a failed CPU OC attempt I had to clear CMOS memory. I also installed SP2, before I discovered that the freezing issue had returned to Far Cry, even as my Bios, RivaTuner and driver settings were exactly the same as when it worked before. Other apps were unaffected. I uninstalled both RivaTuner and the driver, reinstalled them and applied the old settings. The issue was again gone.

I'm sure it's neither high clock frequency, faulty hardware, driver or Far Cry software. It's just the marginal compatibility of the four. Apparently one has to walk a narrow line. Getting rid of the syndrome may involve Voodoo and your mileage will vary according to your specific hardware settings.

James
janapier is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.