Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-25-04, 11:21 AM   #13
skypx
Dual Xeon
 
skypx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 315
Default Re: Random freezing in FarCry otehr games and 3Dmark03 on 6800's (Solution!) + bigger

Quote:
Originally Posted by YOGIx213
That's funny... I had the exact same problem and what worked for me was to have both 2D and 3D clocks the same. After that, my game freeze problems dissappeared. I guess if you're having problems, just try having the 2D and 3D same then try them different. These cards seem to have a life of their own.
I set my 2d and 3d clocks the same freq, and so far I have no lockups in far cry and the rthdribl demo. This is too weird. I will do further testing and report back.
__________________
Evga E760|Intel Core i7 980X|Mushkin Enhanced Redline 6GB|Vertex 2 200GB|Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB x3|EVGA GTX 480 x2 SC+|LG BH08LS20|Sony BWU 300S|Pioneer DVR-215L|Logitech G9|Dell 3008WFP|Corsair Obsidian 800D|Corsair AX1200

M6500 Covet|i7-920XM|8GB PC1600|Vertex 2 200GB|Kingston SSDNow V+ 512GB|FX3800|RGBLED|Intel 5300|Windows 7 64bit
skypx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-04, 11:28 AM   #14
Mathesar
Registered User
 
Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 347
Default Re: Random freezing in FarCry otehr games and 3Dmark03 on 6800's (Solution!) + bigger OCs

Is all this trouble really worth it? How much more performance are you getting out of these OC's... And if you think Far Cry is stressful wait til Doom 3 arrives =)
__________________
Antec TX 1050B Case w/ Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W PSU
Intel i7 920 @ 3.36ghz (Stock Intel cooler, for now)
Gigabyte EX58-UD3R (rev 1.6)
6 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600 (3 x 2GB / Triple channel)
EVGA GTX 480 + EVGA GTX 260 Superclocked (PhysX)
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic / Logitech Z5500's
Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro headphones + Go-Vibe V4 amp
2.4TB Total HDD / Win 7 64bit Ultimate
Samsung PX2370 LED TN & Samsung 2333T PVA
Pioneer Kuro 5080HD Plasma.
Mathesar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-04, 01:13 PM   #15
npras42
Hi Everybody!
 
npras42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,698
Default Re: Random freezing in FarCry otehr games and 3Dmark03 on 6800's (Solution!) + bigger OCs

Could somone explain to me what FastWrites are. I know how to switch them on and off etc etc, but what do they do? If its a performance gain, then when switching it off and overclocking are you getting greater performance from the overclock or the FastWrites?

I could do the testing myself, but I spend way too much of my time doing this stuff already. Trying to cut down. Its like an addiction!
npras42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-04, 01:19 PM   #16
Raptorman
Former Marine
 
Raptorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Jonesville, VA
Posts: 785
Send a message via MSN to Raptorman Send a message via Yahoo to Raptorman
Default Re: Random freezing in FarCry otehr games and 3Dmark03 on 6800's (Solution!) + bigger

FastWrites is suppose to let your video card write faster to the CPU. Supposedly eliminating some of the bandwidth limitation. Though fastwrites only gives about a .8% increase in performance in most cases. FastWrites is also known to cause many irritating problems.
__________________
Southern Motorsports - My Shop
Southern Motorsports Facebook
Formerly Serving The U.S. Marine Corps
Not As Mean, Not As Lean, But Still A Marine
0331
Ramadi 2006, 22 MEU 2007
3rd Battalion 8th Marines WPNS CO
"Marines I see as two breeds, Rottweilers or Dobermans, because Marines come in two varieties, big and mean, or skinny and mean. They're aggressive on the attack and tenacious on defense. They've got really short hair and they always go for the throat."
RAdm. "Jay" R. Stark, USN; 10 November 1995
Raptorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-04, 01:22 PM   #17
kahloq
Registered User
 
kahloq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,256
Default Re: Random freezing in FarCry otehr games and 3Dmark03 on 6800's (Solution!) + bigger OCs

Rivatuner wont let me change anything. It lists FW as off so no big deal, but through Rivatuner, I cant even change clock or mem settings. So I stick with coolbits2
__________________
SPECS:
Alienware
3.4 p4 /200FSB NO overclock
OCZ pc3500 performance 2 gig memory
OCZ 520 watt PSU
Asus p4c800deluxe-e motherboard
2 x 80g Sata HD's / 1 x 60g IDE / 1 x 40 g IDE
1 x DVD / 1 x lite on cdrw
7 case fans plus vantec dual fan pci card
BFG 6800 Ultra OC 456/1.28 Stock air
3.2P4(no OC)3dmark03 score :13570
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=3195131
3.2 p4 @3.472 217FSB 6800u@ 425/1.28 3Dmark03: 13738
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=3195221
WIFES PC: 3.2P4/BFG 6800GT/1 gig pc 3200
kahloq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-04, 01:45 PM   #18
Cruel_Logic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Stanford
Posts: 161
Default Re: Random freezing in FarCry otehr games and 3Dmark03 on 6800's (Solution!) + bigger

Im sure many of you have seen me post about this before, but I am convinced it's the overheating of the RAM on your v/c, not the core. I voided my warrranty and replaced the hs on my ram, and I have not seen any problems since, even running overclocked. Don't know if this will be everyones solution but it definitly worked for me. Remember, I just changed the weird putty I had on the ram.
__________________
X2 4400+, A8N32-SLI Deluxe, 3GB OCZ GOLD (2-2-2-5-1T),
Thermaltake 750w, 2 x EVGA 7900 GTX, 2x76 GB Raptors (raid),
WD 250GB, Maxtor 500GB, 2407WFP, HDA X-Mystique 7.1
Cruel_Logic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-04, 01:53 PM   #19
Raptorman
Former Marine
 
Raptorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Jonesville, VA
Posts: 785
Send a message via MSN to Raptorman Send a message via Yahoo to Raptorman
Default Re: Random freezing in FarCry otehr games and 3Dmark03 on 6800's (Solution!) + bigger

Quote:
Originally Posted by kahloq
Rivatuner wont let me change anything. It lists FW as off so no big deal, but through Rivatuner, I cant even change clock or mem settings. So I stick with coolbits2
You should be able to turn FastWrites on and off in the "Low-Level" settings, and the clock rates in the "driver level" settings.
__________________
Southern Motorsports - My Shop
Southern Motorsports Facebook
Formerly Serving The U.S. Marine Corps
Not As Mean, Not As Lean, But Still A Marine
0331
Ramadi 2006, 22 MEU 2007
3rd Battalion 8th Marines WPNS CO
"Marines I see as two breeds, Rottweilers or Dobermans, because Marines come in two varieties, big and mean, or skinny and mean. They're aggressive on the attack and tenacious on defense. They've got really short hair and they always go for the throat."
RAdm. "Jay" R. Stark, USN; 10 November 1995
Raptorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-04, 03:49 PM   #20
No_Sleep_Needed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 30
Default Re: Random freezing in FarCry otehr games and 3Dmark03 on 6800's (Solution!) + bigger OCs

Where do you turn it off in rivatuner? i am having trouble finding it...
No_Sleep_Needed is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-25-04, 05:04 PM   #21
Killall
goodmorning mr. Freeman
 
Killall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Stuck in cyberspace...
Posts: 138
Default Re: Random freezing in FarCry otehr games and 3Dmark03 on 6800's (Solution!) + bigger OCs

Fastwrites is greyed out in rivatuner, even disabled danger settings.. But in the greyed out part it says its disabled anyway... going to try setting 2d same as 3d.. Im having lockups as soon as i try to OC my XFX 6800 Ultra in Farcry after 5 min or so...

Ok tried syncing the 2d and 3d OC, doesnt help. If i choose auto detect optimal frequency it defaults to the standard frequency setting of my videocard wich is weird since its clocked at 425/1.2 default. So its overclocked alrdy so why can't i go any higher and why doesn't the autodetect frequency setting find another setting that it likes.. Can't be a coincidence that 425/1.2 is the max it detects AND is the default setting of the card?
__________________
MSI 975x Plat. PUE
Intel Core2Duo 6600E
XFX Geforce 8800 GTX
2x1024 mb Corsair PC6400C4
2x80G Maxtor HD's, SATA, Raid 0
Creative Audigy 2 ZS, 5.1 Speaker setup
Iyama MA203DT
And a ****load of games

Last edited by Killall; 07-25-04 at 07:27 PM.
Killall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-04, 10:24 PM   #22
Annihlist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 183
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

I get no lockups in any other game, or no artifacts apart from painkiller at 441/1200. I play farcry to 3 hours strait and nothing happens. I load a level in painkiller and the second it loads it locks up. Bah. I have tried lowering clocks and it doesn't make a diff. When I play at stock it doesn't lock up. FW are off
__________________
Gigabyte K8N Pro - AMD 64 3400+ Clawhammer w/1mb cache @ 2.4ghz - Albatron 6800 ultra @ 442/1.23 - Sony DRU-700A - 200GB Western Digital 8mb cache - Creative Audigy 2 ZS - Mitsubishi Dimondplus 93sb - 1GB PC3200 3-3-8 generic ram at 220/2.9v(max O/C ) - OCZ 470W Power supply.
Annihlist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-04, 10:53 PM   #23
Raptorman
Former Marine
 
Raptorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Jonesville, VA
Posts: 785
Send a message via MSN to Raptorman Send a message via Yahoo to Raptorman
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

A lot of my issues were fixed by switching to the 61.34 drivers. No more lock-ups in anything. The only problem remaining is the Join Ops sound issue.
__________________
Southern Motorsports - My Shop
Southern Motorsports Facebook
Formerly Serving The U.S. Marine Corps
Not As Mean, Not As Lean, But Still A Marine
0331
Ramadi 2006, 22 MEU 2007
3rd Battalion 8th Marines WPNS CO
"Marines I see as two breeds, Rottweilers or Dobermans, because Marines come in two varieties, big and mean, or skinny and mean. They're aggressive on the attack and tenacious on defense. They've got really short hair and they always go for the throat."
RAdm. "Jay" R. Stark, USN; 10 November 1995
Raptorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-04, 11:02 PM   #24
Carbon Unit
GeForce 3 Ti 200
 
Carbon Unit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri
Posts: 265
Send a message via AIM to Carbon Unit
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

I dont have the fast writes option in my bios, and I have never had any games freeze, seems its a particular board problem?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @3.6Ghz
CORSAIR Cooling Hydro Series CWCH50 water cooler
Mushkin PC2-6400 4-4-4-12 ~ 8gb
ASUS P5N-E SLI
EVGA 9800 GT 512 mb
Crucial M225 128gb SSD
Creative Labs XFi
LIAN LI PC-V2000Bplus II Black Aluminum Server Computer Case
Corsair 750w psu
Samsung 2343BWX 23" LCD 2048 x 1152
Carbon Unit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.