Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-26-04, 12:34 AM   #25
Annihlist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 183
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Ya occationally I get a little bit of a sound glitch or something in Far Cry even with stock speeds
__________________
Gigabyte K8N Pro - AMD 64 3400+ Clawhammer w/1mb cache @ 2.4ghz - Albatron 6800 ultra @ 442/1.23 - Sony DRU-700A - 200GB Western Digital 8mb cache - Creative Audigy 2 ZS - Mitsubishi Dimondplus 93sb - 1GB PC3200 3-3-8 generic ram at 220/2.9v(max O/C ) - OCZ 470W Power supply.
Annihlist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-04, 01:15 AM   #26
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Annihlist
Ya occationally I get a little bit of a sound glitch or something in Far Cry even with stock speeds
Are you using patch 1.2? If so uninstall it and re-apply patch 1.1.
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-04, 10:34 AM   #27
skypx
Dual Xeon
 
skypx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 315
Default Re: Random freezing in FarCry otehr games and 3Dmark03 on 6800's (Solution!) + bigger

Quote:
Originally Posted by skypx
I set my 2d and 3d clocks the same freq, and so far I have no lockups in far cry and the rthdribl demo. This is too weird. I will do further testing and report back.
After a full day of testing, I have not experienced any lockups with the 2D and 3D clocks set the same. (450/1.2) I'm going to call tech support today so I get the card exchanged. I don't think I should have to change the 2D clock to get the card to run stable. This problem seems like a BIOS issue, any comments on what may be the cause of this would be appreciated. Thanks.
__________________
Evga E760|Intel Core i7 980X|Mushkin Enhanced Redline 6GB|Vertex 2 200GB|Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB x3|EVGA GTX 480 x2 SC+|LG BH08LS20|Sony BWU 300S|Pioneer DVR-215L|Logitech G9|Dell 3008WFP|Corsair Obsidian 800D|Corsair AX1200

M6500 Covet|i7-920XM|8GB PC1600|Vertex 2 200GB|Kingston SSDNow V+ 512GB|FX3800|RGBLED|Intel 5300|Windows 7 64bit
skypx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-04, 10:40 AM   #28
Raptorman
Former Marine
 
Raptorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Jonesville, VA
Posts: 786
Send a message via MSN to Raptorman Send a message via Yahoo to Raptorman
Default Re: Random freezing in FarCry otehr games and 3Dmark03 on 6800's (Solution!) + bigger

Quote:
Originally Posted by skypx
After a full day of testing, I have not experienced any lockups with the 2D and 3D clocks set the same. (450/1.2) I'm going to call tech support today so I get the card exchanged. I don't think I should have to change the 2D clock to get the card to run stable. This problem seems like a BIOS issue, any comments on what may be the cause of this would be appreciated. Thanks.
Most people have to set the 2d/3d clocks the same. It doesn't matter for me, I still get a 10 second pause, but it goes away after that. So, that doesn't bother me. Just wait and see if nVIDIA fixes this in the next driver release.
__________________
Operator at Halliburton Production Enhancement
Formerly Serving The U.S. Marine Corps
Not As Mean, Not As Lean, But Still A Marine
0331
Ramadi 2006, 22 MEU 2007
3rd Battalion 8th Marines WPNS CO
"Marines I see as two breeds, Rottweilers or Dobermans, because Marines come in two varieties, big and mean, or skinny and mean. They're aggressive on the attack and tenacious on defense. They've got really short hair and they always go for the throat."
RAdm. "Jay" R. Stark, USN; 10 November 1995
Raptorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-04, 10:42 AM   #29
skypx
Dual Xeon
 
skypx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 315
Default Re: Random freezing in FarCry otehr games and 3Dmark03 on 6800's (Solution!) + bigger

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raptorman
Most people have to set the 2d/3d clocks the same. It doesn't matter for me, I still get a 10 second pause, but it goes away after that. So, that doesn't bother me. Just wait and see if nVIDIA fixes this in the next driver release.
So you don't think this is a BIOS issue?
__________________
Evga E760|Intel Core i7 980X|Mushkin Enhanced Redline 6GB|Vertex 2 200GB|Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB x3|EVGA GTX 480 x2 SC+|LG BH08LS20|Sony BWU 300S|Pioneer DVR-215L|Logitech G9|Dell 3008WFP|Corsair Obsidian 800D|Corsair AX1200

M6500 Covet|i7-920XM|8GB PC1600|Vertex 2 200GB|Kingston SSDNow V+ 512GB|FX3800|RGBLED|Intel 5300|Windows 7 64bit
skypx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-04, 10:50 AM   #30
Arioch
Registered User
 
Arioch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,087
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

From my experience dropping back an overclock a bit really helps stability and you won't really notice the loss of a few FPS.

Some games tax the video card differently than others and it is not always the games you expect that cause the lockups/freezes.
Arioch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-04, 10:55 AM   #31
skypx
Dual Xeon
 
skypx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 315
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arioch
From my experience dropping back an overclock a bit really helps stability and you won't really notice the loss of a few FPS.

Some games tax the video card differently than others and it is not always the games you expect that cause the lockups/freezes.
If I underclock the eVGA U EE, I get the same type of error. (games crash ETC) but if I set the 2D clock to the default settings of the 3D clock (450/1.2) the card works like it's supposed to. I'm not sure but this seems like a BIOS issue to me. Any comments?
__________________
Evga E760|Intel Core i7 980X|Mushkin Enhanced Redline 6GB|Vertex 2 200GB|Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB x3|EVGA GTX 480 x2 SC+|LG BH08LS20|Sony BWU 300S|Pioneer DVR-215L|Logitech G9|Dell 3008WFP|Corsair Obsidian 800D|Corsair AX1200

M6500 Covet|i7-920XM|8GB PC1600|Vertex 2 200GB|Kingston SSDNow V+ 512GB|FX3800|RGBLED|Intel 5300|Windows 7 64bit
skypx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-04, 11:31 AM   #32
janko10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Well I'm not sure if I'm having the same problem here, but I'm getting mini-freezes of about 5 seconds every so often.

So far, it's been most prevalent in CoD but I saw it in FarCry too.

Game just total freezes for about 5 seconds, then picks right back up. All at random times, not after a new level loads or anything like that.

BFG GT OC @ 411/1110 2D & 3D, 61.76's

FW's on.
janko10 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-26-04, 11:57 AM   #33
Noxis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 84
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Quote:
Originally Posted by janko10
Well I'm not sure if I'm having the same problem here, but I'm getting mini-freezes of about 5 seconds every so often.

So far, it's been most prevalent in CoD but I saw it in FarCry too.

Game just total freezes for about 5 seconds, then picks right back up. All at random times, not after a new level loads or anything like that.

BFG GT OC @ 411/1110 2D & 3D, 61.76's

FW's on.
Yep thats a classic example of the problem, turn FW off and the problem should be solved.
Noxis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-04, 11:58 AM   #34
Noxis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 84
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Just had an update from XFX support and they have informed me that FW should be disabled by default in the bios. Looks like it is known and should be disabled in the first place then.
Noxis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-04, 05:59 PM   #35
jeffz
Deadly Shadows
 
jeffz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Italy [Florence]
Posts: 29
Send a message via ICQ to jeffz
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

i have a PNY 6800 Ultra clocked @ 440 / 1200 whitout any problem.
Now if i clock the card at standard core e memory speed (400 - 1100) it just look up / freeze

I have contacted PNY and this is the answer :

"Dear costumers, the problem is the bios, the card is clocked at 400 mhz for core in 2D mode and at 425 in 3D, it's internal bios setting and the famous coolbit2 can't underclock your 3D mode, it still remaining a 425 also it's downclocked at 400 and the results are : 400 mhz 2D and 425 3D.
this settings are wrong and causes freezes and lockups.
I suggest you overclock your card at almost 430 mhz core speed in both 2D mode and 3D mode, in this case your result are : 430 / 430 in both mode and this settings are fine for all your games and application."

Best regards
Pny tecnical stuff Europe.

P.S. I hace traducted the answer from italian to english, so sorry for bad language.

hope this help someone.
__________________
my rig : Case Chieftec Black / Asus K8V Deluxe / Athlon 64 3200+ @ 2000mhz / 2 Gb DDR 3200 Corsair Value / PNY 6800 Ultra @ 430 - 1170 / Audigy Player / Enermax 470w Noisetaker / DVD and DVD-RW / 19 Inch LCD Display ( Samsung Syncmaster 913V) and other minor stuff
jeffz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-04, 10:24 PM   #36
kenshabby
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 21
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

I have a KT800 Chipset, and i have the 5-10 second freezing problem as well. I have tried to disable fastwrites, and set identical clock speeds also -- neither worked. As soon as I go anything over 425 on my core, I get 5-10 second freezes -- usually at the beginning of the Level (painkiller/far cry) Never any artifacts though.

Frustrating.

XFX 6800 Ultra
kenshabby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.