Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-24-05, 06:49 PM   #613
3246251196
AMD 64
 
3246251196's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK; North-East; Sunderland
Posts: 19
Send a message via MSN to 3246251196
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

currently i am running my older 5600 std core card. WHAT A DROP IN PERFORMANCE I KNOW! but, at the end of the day this is a big test. i mean, my computer is SO much more quiet with this 5600 card.

this will prove that it is the 6800 card which is the problem. afterwards, i will have to do alot of different things for this card. but i am switching to ATi without doubt if it is the card, why pay 300 for a card which causes such problems. its a shame, because frankly for Price:Performance 6800gt is amazing. but at the end of the day ATi are alot cleaner when it comes to power consumption and giving out heat. sorry nVidia!

but, i am to leave this card on and the computer on over a couple of nights, if no freeze then an important confirmation. if this is true, New Cooler for me. Or a will try hooking up a seperate PSU to my 6800gt EVEN THOUGH i have a Tagan 480W. it is not impressive.
__________________
MSI K8T Neo FIS2R (VIA K8T800 Chipset)
A64 3200+ 754 (@2.2GHz) [220*10]
XFX nVidia GeForce 6800gt (437/1160 highest*)
Creative Labs Sound Blaster 5300 5.1 Surround Sound
WriteMaster DVD-RW, NEC DVD-RW, MSI CD-RW
pATA: 120Gb Seagate (8mb), pATA: 60Gb IBM
Benchmarks: 3dMark01SE=25k, AquaMark=67k
3246251196 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-05, 06:10 AM   #614
3246251196
AMD 64
 
3246251196's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK; North-East; Sunderland
Posts: 19
Send a message via MSN to 3246251196
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

i also cannot find my revision number for 6800gt


though it does say Version 1.1 on the box and card.
__________________
MSI K8T Neo FIS2R (VIA K8T800 Chipset)
A64 3200+ 754 (@2.2GHz) [220*10]
XFX nVidia GeForce 6800gt (437/1160 highest*)
Creative Labs Sound Blaster 5300 5.1 Surround Sound
WriteMaster DVD-RW, NEC DVD-RW, MSI CD-RW
pATA: 120Gb Seagate (8mb), pATA: 60Gb IBM
Benchmarks: 3dMark01SE=25k, AquaMark=67k
3246251196 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-05, 03:55 PM   #615
Ancient1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Israel
Posts: 38
Send a message via ICQ to Ancient1
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

3246251196

The info in on the 1st driver's tab.

Check Administrative tools for some event schedueled for 01:30 ?
perhaps HDD defragmentation ?
Ancient1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-05, 04:00 PM   #616
Ancient1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Israel
Posts: 38
Send a message via ICQ to Ancient1
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Here is an important observation.

I just had the Echoing Freeze in HL2, at cpu & mem defaults. My GT is at 1.4V.
I restarted the PC played again - and again freeze - at the same spot in the game ! the BSOD stated "infinite loop" in NV-Disp.sys.
it happened couple more times, and I made sure to pause the game to cool the card. At last I tried to go past that spot in the game in another manner and SCCEEDED .

It wasn't the card after all !
Ancient1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-05, 07:32 AM   #617
Hyper s
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 17
Talking Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Thank you for good idea to change prerender limit to 0. Now is everything OK !!!
Hyper s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-05, 11:24 PM   #618
Porksmuggler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 34
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

My two cents

most games play fine at 400/1100, except BF:Vietnam and Tribes Vengeance.
Doom, Halflife2, SW Battlefront, FarCry, NFSU2, etc all work perfect even at 420/1200. AquaMark works, but 3DMark05 always freezes under the same condition, so at least i can do diagnostics consistantly.

Sometimes with the 2 games i get the 5-10 sec freeze, sometimes the NV4_disp.dll infinite loop blue screen, same with 3DMark05 so i know its the same error. the 2 games will run perfect at 350/1100, and '05 doesnt give the error unless i'm at 420/1200, works fine at 400/1200, so i know its the core.

nothing works except dropping the core clock respectively for each program.
have tried diff drivers, fastwrites, agp/cpu/mem/chipset voltages. i know its not temps either sys at 32C cpu 25C sys/ 48C gpu 28C pcb.

So the GPU causes a infinite loop error only with certain programs at certain clocks above 350. At least for me, its not temps, fastwrites, driver, or power. something in the core or nvidia drivers cant handle certain programs beyond stock clocks on the core. Only thing i havent tried is a volt modded bios, maybe the core just isnt getting enough juice in certain request from the software, or these specific programs expose a design weakness in the core. Sorry about the long first post
Porksmuggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-05, 02:52 AM   #619
[[Hooch]]
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Naples (Italy)
Posts: 6
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Hi guys i've got some problems with my new Bfg 6800GT OC!
When i tryed Doom3... .it was horrible, so much slower...it was better with my old g-force3 ti 500!!!
I thought it could be because of my power source..but I read +12V Peak (16A) Max (12A), is it enough?
Moreover my core temperature is on 63 C when i get start and 70-72 C after i run an application such as Doom 3 or the sims 2...
My agp voltge is on 1.5 V shuold i put it on 1.6 or 1.55?
Currently i'm using driver by nvidia 69.93.
What i've to do?
My configuration is P-IV 3,0 ghz, IC7-MAX3 (with the latest bios), 512 MB Corsair 3200LL CAS2, Hd Maxtor S-Ata 150 120Gb, Hd Maxtor Ata133 80 Gb, Sound blaster audigy 2 zs
Please, Help me!!
[[Hooch]] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-05, 03:59 AM   #620
Ancient1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Israel
Posts: 38
Send a message via ICQ to Ancient1
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

Porksmuggler

6800GT core is a "weak and faulty" 6800ULTRA core. so what you say makes sense. I definitly think volt modded BIOS will help, but if the Gainward's defaults are 400/1100 than perhaps less.

[[Hooch]]

As I recall , BFG has 24/7 live support , so I would ask them first.
Your 2D Temps are certaibly high, but BFG sells Overclocked cards.. or your Cooling isn't working properly - Thermal Paste ? Warm Case ? I don't see anything wrong with your setup, and you could try disconnecting stuff to check the "weak PSU" conjecture.
Ancient1 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-29-05, 06:26 AM   #621
3246251196
AMD 64
 
3246251196's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK; North-East; Sunderland
Posts: 19
Send a message via MSN to 3246251196
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

HOOCH: OMG, your lucky that thing didnt just burn out i mean, 16A on 12V is no where NEAR enough, you want something like 18 - 20+ Amps on there. get yourself a PSU with over 380W also, Tagen for instance have 28A on 12V and 480W!

----

ok so i have tested on two ocassions with my OLDER card and OLDER PSU, and everything works fine. now, because i tested my OLDER card with my Tagen 480W and it froze, it means its the PSU. But, also, i noticed that when i was swapping things around i had one of my IDE cables the wrong way round, it goes like this: MASTER (part of cable) went to SLAVE COMPONENT and SECONDARY (part of cable) went to MASTER COMPONENT.

its either:

1. PSU
2. The Master - Secondary relationship the wrong way round?

what you guys think of this then?
__________________
MSI K8T Neo FIS2R (VIA K8T800 Chipset)
A64 3200+ 754 (@2.2GHz) [220*10]
XFX nVidia GeForce 6800gt (437/1160 highest*)
Creative Labs Sound Blaster 5300 5.1 Surround Sound
WriteMaster DVD-RW, NEC DVD-RW, MSI CD-RW
pATA: 120Gb Seagate (8mb), pATA: 60Gb IBM
Benchmarks: 3dMark01SE=25k, AquaMark=67k
3246251196 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-05, 10:36 AM   #622
[[Hooch]]
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Naples (Italy)
Posts: 6
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

So you think it could be the PSU...but it is a 450W PSU by qtech my be 16A on +12V is not enough?
I tried to run 3dMark 2005 and my score was 4662...rivaturner was running in background and it registered a peak temperature of 102 C..moreover my fps on the first test was max 27...is it a normal value?
[[Hooch]] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-05, 11:20 AM   #623
3246251196
AMD 64
 
3246251196's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK; North-East; Sunderland
Posts: 19
Send a message via MSN to 3246251196
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

it is your PSU. But, to get 102*C that is ALOT, get some better cooling, NVS5 also.

now could someone answer my question please ;-)
__________________
MSI K8T Neo FIS2R (VIA K8T800 Chipset)
A64 3200+ 754 (@2.2GHz) [220*10]
XFX nVidia GeForce 6800gt (437/1160 highest*)
Creative Labs Sound Blaster 5300 5.1 Surround Sound
WriteMaster DVD-RW, NEC DVD-RW, MSI CD-RW
pATA: 120Gb Seagate (8mb), pATA: 60Gb IBM
Benchmarks: 3dMark01SE=25k, AquaMark=67k
3246251196 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-05, 02:26 PM   #624
Ancient1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Israel
Posts: 38
Send a message via ICQ to Ancient1
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and random freezes

[[Hooch]]

Talk to BFG support before you shell out $$$ for a new PSU. IMO its not likly the PSU

3246251196

It does seem to be YOUR PSU , besides that , whats the question ?
Ancient1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.