Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-12-04, 01:04 PM   #133
vshah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5
Default Re: GeForce 6800 power supply questions

just another point of reference:

thermaltake purepower 420w psu
4 7200rpm ide hard drives
2x optical drives
usb front panel lcd
P4 3.0c @ 3.5ghz (vcore 1.6)
1gb corsair xms 2-3-2-6 (vdimm 2.75)
PNY 6800GT @ 415/1110
SB audigy 2 platinum

everything is rock solid.

load voltages:
12v: 11.916
5v: 5.14
3.3v: 3.38v


funny thing is, my psu is rated at 18A on the 12v rail. ratings can be very misleading it seems.
vshah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-04, 02:32 PM   #134
JBark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 36
Default Re: GeForce 6800 and Terminator 2 PSU

Quote:
Originally Posted by srky
In my ASUS computer I have Delta electronic 200W PSU (Chinese).
But it came with the original ASUS T2 barebone box and have only 10A on 12V rail.
Is it possible to run GF6800 standard edition with 10A?
The 200W supply in my SN45G only has a 10A 12V, and I'm running a 6800GT with no problems at all. I had a post earlier with the details, but at max power draw my system draws 180Watts from the wall, which is only 125Watts or so once you factor in 70% efficiency (70% is just a guess, but its probably close).

Specs:
AthlonXP 2.0GHz (166x13)
1GB RAM
BFG 6800GT OC (370/1000)
120GB Maxtor
DVD Burner.
Intel PCI gigabit card.

Note that I just upgraded to a new proc, and I'm runnin it a 2.2GHz (200x11), and still no problems.
JBark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-04, 03:58 PM   #135
Neo559
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Default Re: GeForce 6800 power supply questions

I need some serious help. I have a Gigabyte 8KNXP Rev. 1 BIOS F10 875P chipset mobo, 3.4 P4 northwood, audigy 2, and an Antec 550W TrueControl power supply. I have 3 optical drives and 4 hard drives, but the power supply is a beast (or so I thought) and they always ran fine with my old 9800 Pro. I bought a PNY GeForce 6800 GT and tried to install it and have had nothing but trouble.

With the Antec supply, I get constant artifacting. The POST screen and BIOS and DOS have flashing artifacts everywhere. Windows has a few artifacts when no drivers are installed, but once I put in the 61.77's, all hell breaks loose and Win XP becomes a hell of flashing artifacts and crashing, making it impossible to do even a simple task, like uninstall the drivers. I tried switching connectors, unplugging stuff, etc. No dice. With just the main hard drive, the motherboard, and the 6800 GT connected, I still have all the same problems. To check if it was the Antec at fault, I put the 6800 GT and the Antec supply into another system (an Athlon XP with a Via KT333 chipset) and I got the same exact artifacting.

How is this possible? The Antec 550W is supposed to be great. Max 24A on my +12V rail! I don't know anything about wattage or tweaking in this regard, so could anyone give me pointers on making this work with the 550W? I can't imagine there isn't some way, whether using the BIOS or the TrueControl front panel, but I don't have a clue where to start and would be worried about frying my board (I'm already worried I hurt my 875P motherboard...).

Well anyway, I had a Turbo-Cool 510 lying around (bought about a year ago, so not top of the line, but still great) and - surprise! - it boots without artifacting! Except all is not perfect. I'm getting substandard performance, and it doesn't even PST all the time. With everything but the video card, main hard drive, and motherboard unplugged, it POSTs fairly consistently. Once I start adding other stuff, it starts not POSTing. I've been playing around with it all day and can't figure out why it POSTs sometimes and not other times. I had almost everything plugged in and it was working, all I had unplugged was my fan speed controller. I plugged that in and... it refused to POST. Everything turned on, except the monitor stayed in power save mode and there was no beep. I unplugged it and it still refused to boot! After unplugging and replugging a lot of stuff, it POSTed fine, but then froze loading Windows. Same thing next time. More random unplugging and replugging, and here I am now. It seems to be running fine, but there's still one set of fans and a hard drive unplugged.

I thought maybe it was the card and took it back to CompUSA for another one, but the same exact things have happened.
Neo559 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-04, 03:31 PM   #136
Stevandy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 8
Default Re: GeForce 6800 power supply questions

Neo559, I would advise going for a bigger PSU, I had similar gfx problems and upgraded to 650W and it made the artifacts go away.
Stevandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-04, 11:17 PM   #137
MamoVaka
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 38
Default Re: GeForce 6800 power supply questions

Ok,

good news, my BFG 6800 ultra is coming in TOMORROW

bad news, I am afriad my 400watt PS might not be sufficient

here is my rig

AMD xp2600+
ABIT AT7 mobo
1 gig 2700 DDR
1 80 gig HD
1 DVD rom
1 diskette drive
2 thermaltake case fans
1 volcano 9 (POS) thermaltake heatsink/cooler
1 sb audigy gamer

you guys think I can pull this off without buying a new PS?
MamoVaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-04, 04:03 AM   #138
BioHazZarD
USCM Marine
 
BioHazZarD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,369
Send a message via MSN to BioHazZarD
Default Re: GeForce 6800 power supply questions

If the psu has stable rails yeah it will work.

But be prepared a new psu would do good for you.
BioHazZarD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-04, 11:46 AM   #139
MamoVaka
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 38
Default Re: GeForce 6800 power supply questions

I don't want to spend alot for a good 550wPS though, where can I get the best deal on a 550 watt decent PS?
MamoVaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-04, 01:53 AM   #140
eva2000
Registered User
 
eva2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 340
Default Re: GeForce 6800 power supply questions

Reason why getting the highest rated psu you can afford is in order

My 3.2EE/P4C800-E/6800U pc is connected to a shared APC 1500VA RS UPS with monitoring software on another pc. Decided to checked out the difference in power consumption between idle and load of the system (cpu and 6800U)

3.2EE @ 200fsb with 1.6v set droops to 1.536v
6800U @ 425/1100 stock speeds
Asus P4C800-E with MCX159 NB heatsink/fan
Corsair Hydrocool unit + 120x38mm Delta 190cfm fan on medium speed
1GB OCZ PC3500 Plat LE BH-5 @ 200mhz 2-2-2-6 cooled by 2x 60x25mm Sunon fans
80GB WD 800JB
2x 92x38mm Sunon 120cfm fans 12.5W rated on low speed
550W Antec True Control PSU

pc off: 164W
idle: 398-407W (remember have another system connected to same UPS)
load: 545-554W running full run of 3dmark2003 drops to 508W when running the 2 CPU tests in 3d2k3

extra power used under load = 156W max
total system power used idle = 407-164 = 243W
total system power used load = 554-164 = 390W



remember 3.2EE by itself is rated at 103W at stock speed and stock 1.55v vcore

nice read at http://www.spodesabode.com/content/article/6800upower

6800U power consumed on 5V and 12V rails
12v = 5amps = 60W
5v = 3.5amps = 17.5W
5 + 12V = 77.5W
AGP slot = 46W

total = 77.5 = 123.5W

seems to agree with my findings above

554W max load with 508W in cpu tests, means 46W difference when card not in full load usage

======== Overclocked =========

3.2EE @ 240fsb at 1.808v idle
6800U @ 445/1100

idle: 433W
load: 614W running full 3d2k3 run and drops to 580W in cpu tests

extra power used under load = 181W
total system power used idle = (433W - 164W) = 269W
total system power used load = (614W - 164W) = 450W


Last edited by eva2000; 08-21-04 at 06:14 AM.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-04, 12:59 PM   #141
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,859
Default Re: GeForce 6800 power supply questions

IMO if you don't want to speed $200 for a Power supply,I think the OCZ makes a great power supply for the money and I like haveing the two 12v vaga plug ins and plenty of more cables to hook up everthing else,and the ajustable pots for the rails is nice and were a lot of name brands are just around 65% efficiency the OCZ is nearly 80% at full load and thats with a intake temperture of 48c.and the PSU Exhaust at 61c.I just know when I had my Antec Truepower 430watt in my system I would get radom reboots when playing certain games and after I insatall the OCZ 470watt in my system I got no more reboots even when I was overclocking the 6800ultra to 460/1250 speeds,and ocoarse I keep my XP moblie 2600 overclock to 12x200 or 12.5 x200 if I am benchmarking to see how high I can get a benchmark.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-04, 07:35 PM   #142
kahloq
Registered User
 
kahloq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,256
Default Re: GeForce 6800 power supply questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by john19055
IMO if you don't want to speed $200 for a Power supply,I think the OCZ makes a great power supply for the money and I like haveing the two 12v vaga plug ins and plenty of more cables to hook up everthing else,and the ajustable pots for the rails is nice and were a lot of name brands are just around 65% efficiency the OCZ is nearly 80% at full load and thats with a intake temperture of 48c.and the PSU Exhaust at 61c.I just know when I had my Antec Truepower 430watt in my system I would get radom reboots when playing certain games and after I insatall the OCZ 470watt in my system I got no more reboots even when I was overclocking the 6800ultra to 460/1250 speeds,and ocoarse I keep my XP moblie 2600 overclock to 12x200 or 12.5 x200 if I am benchmarking to see how high I can get a benchmark.

I agree totally. My OCZ 520 watt PSU runs flawlessly with MORE features then a PCp&C 510 deluxe at a much lower cost. OCZ 520 was $125 PCp&C 510 deluxe lists 219(non deluxe is 189). OCZ's rails are spot on with little if any fluctuation(recorded over 2 hours...max flux was +/- 1-2%). If you want the power and the reliablilty...you can't go wrong with OCZ. PLUS it has dedicated and shielded vga lines(2) with rfi filters, green light exhaust fan and also an intake fan...as well as adjustable pots with individual led lights to monitor them. OCZ is also BTZ compliant out of the box. PCp&C does not have an intake fan, does not have shielded vga lines, does not have rfi filters and does not have outside adjustable pots nor does it have led lights to monitor the rails for those wishing to bump the voltages up to test things out nor is it BTX compatible out of the box.
__________________
SPECS:
Alienware
3.4 p4 /200FSB NO overclock
OCZ pc3500 performance 2 gig memory
OCZ 520 watt PSU
Asus p4c800deluxe-e motherboard
2 x 80g Sata HD's / 1 x 60g IDE / 1 x 40 g IDE
1 x DVD / 1 x lite on cdrw
7 case fans plus vantec dual fan pci card
BFG 6800 Ultra OC 456/1.28 Stock air
3.2P4(no OC)3dmark03 score :13570
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=3195131
3.2 p4 @3.472 217FSB 6800u@ 425/1.28 3Dmark03: 13738
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=3195221
WIFES PC: 3.2P4/BFG 6800GT/1 gig pc 3200
kahloq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-04, 05:15 AM   #143
TheHelpful1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 109
Default Re: GeForce 6800 power supply questions

I've been having frequent lockups in Farcry and from what i've read here and on the "Random Freezes" Page, i'm starting to think my power supply might be the problem.

PSU - ZM400A-APF (http://www.zalmanusa.com/usa/product...idx=3&code=015)
3.4ghz EE
2x 250GB WD HDDs
SONY DRU500A
16x DVD-rom
Audigy Zs
1GB Corsair pc3700 ram
4 80mm case fans and cathode light.

I have everything wired up so that my Geforce 6800 ultra is only sharing the molex connector with the fans but i still get a lockup in far cry (so far) about 1min into a new level then it's ok. The worse case scenario has been a full screen artifact glitch which after a while, XP reboots itself.

So far nothing is overclocked. I actually lowered the 6800 speed to see if that would stop the lockups to no avail.
TheHelpful1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-04, 05:48 AM   #144
eva2000
Registered User
 
eva2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 340
Default Re: GeForce 6800 power supply questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHelpful1
I've been having frequent lockups in Farcry and from what i've read here and on the "Random Freezes" Page, i'm starting to think my power supply might be the problem.

PSU - ZM400A-APF (http://www.zalmanusa.com/usa/product...idx=3&code=015)
3.4ghz EE
2x 250GB WD HDDs
SONY DRU500A
16x DVD-rom
Audigy Zs
1GB Corsair pc3700 ram
4 80mm case fans and cathode light.

I have everything wired up so that my Geforce 6800 ultra is only sharing the molex connector with the fans but i still get a lockup in far cry (so far) about 1min into a new level then it's ok. The worse case scenario has been a full screen artifact glitch which after a while, XP reboots itself.

So far nothing is overclocked. I actually lowered the 6800 speed to see if that would stop the lockups to no avail.
1. 3.4EE like my 3.2EE is a whopper of wattage consumption at stock = 103W and oc'd can use upto 200W of power and your 6800U max uses 123W stock and oc'd can use 145-150W just cpu and card oc'd can use 150+200W = 350W excluding other items = psu not cutting it - look at post #140 in this thread my 3.2EE with 6800U oc'd uses 450W of power...

2. tried setting 2D/3D to same speeds ?
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What You Can Expect From GeForce GRID News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 05:20 PM
Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL drivers DSC NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 5 05-29-12 11:12 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 02:50 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 10:28 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.