Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-20-05, 09:22 PM   #373
kahloq
Registered User
 
kahloq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,256
Default Re: GeForce 6800 power supply questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by latinmike
hi, there you all GOD BLESS, o.k. let get down to it. Alot of companies tell you that you need at the lease 400/450 watt psu and some of us meaning you not me, if the shoe fits go pass that point and shell out the big bucks for 500/ 550 watts PSU ect. and now find out that the psu have Changed due to a new reg. and so on but the truth is that 350/watts is all you need to run today,s computers more watts more money you pay on your electrical bill it,s a market and the more you buy the better it is not for you but for them. That,s the bottom line money. all the new things that was add to the new psu I do not need at this point for my pc and so why should I buy a psu because it,s the new kid on the block. something to think about for us that are APG/PCI/SLI.

That statement would be accurate if all you had inside the case was barebones(meaning one or 2 HD's, 1 or 2 optical, and the vid card). Some of our systems, like mine, have alot more stuff in them then that. I know my system requires more then a 350watt PSU as I had a 420 in there, and it wasn't enough. Know how i know that? Cuz Nvidia was nice enough to give me a NOT enough Power window pop up, plus my PC would BSOD until I placed a higher watt and more stable PSU in it. It had nothing to do with spending money to juts have the latest, greatest PSU. It was a necessity for the system I had. Many ppl are also having the same experience. For others, 350watt PSU's worl fine and they can get by with it, but you cannot blanket statement say all you need is a 350 becuase thats not true for msot ppl.
__________________
SPECS:
Alienware
3.4 p4 /200FSB NO overclock
OCZ pc3500 performance 2 gig memory
OCZ 520 watt PSU
Asus p4c800deluxe-e motherboard
2 x 80g Sata HD's / 1 x 60g IDE / 1 x 40 g IDE
1 x DVD / 1 x lite on cdrw
7 case fans plus vantec dual fan pci card
BFG 6800 Ultra OC 456/1.28 Stock air
3.2P4(no OC)3dmark03 score :13570
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=3195131
3.2 p4 @3.472 217FSB 6800u@ 425/1.28 3Dmark03: 13738
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=3195221
WIFES PC: 3.2P4/BFG 6800GT/1 gig pc 3200
kahloq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-05, 11:02 PM   #374
latinmike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 211
Thumbs up Re: GeForce 6800 power supply questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by kahloq
That statement would be accurate if all you had inside the case was barebones(meaning one or 2 HD's, 1 or 2 optical, and the vid card). Some of our systems, like mine, have alot more stuff in them then that. I know my system requires more then a 350watt PSU as I had a 420 in there, and it wasn't enough. Know how i know that? Cuz Nvidia was nice enough to give me a NOT enough Power window pop up, plus my PC would BSOD until I placed a higher watt and more stable PSU in it. It had nothing to do with spending money to juts have the latest, greatest PSU. It was a necessity for the system I had. Many ppl are also having the same experience. For others, 350watt PSU's worl fine and they can get by with it, but you cannot blanket statement say all you need is a 350 becuase thats not true for msot ppl.
will as you say that maybe true about having the lastest and the and the greatest but the way I see it that will never be bcause there will always be somthing new what ever that maybe, and as I said it takes money and that is what they want your money, and when is enouch? or the best as for me I have a great system for now.
__________________
AMD 2500+ (2251.0) FBS 205.
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
home made case modifications
http://server3.uploadit.org/files/latinmike-pc22.JPG
Memory PC 3200C2 PRO/LEDS LIGHTS
3200 C2 PRO Corsair 1024 Mb.204 MHz. 2.5-3-3-8
CDR-W 52X memorex 16x
80 GB MAXTOR 7200 RPM
PNY GeFORCE 6800 GT 400/ 1000 MHz
350 WATT linkworld + two fans
nVIDIA Montor 55/72c load
CPU: 46c
PSU/350 WATT
WINDOWS HOME XP
please keep in mind that as of
UPDATED AS OF 8/29/05 (new)
I installed new memory and new mobo
latinmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-05, 01:34 PM   #375
GuOD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 221
Default Re: GeForce 6800 power supply questions

I have an antec sonata with 380Wtruepower psu. Is it enough to cover all this:

amd 64 3200+
120gb samsung spinpoint
sb audgiy 2 zs
bfg 6800gt (hoping to oc more) w/ Nv5 silencer
benq DVDRW
1gb corsiar valueselect 3200
2x 120mm fans

I was looking at Antec truepower 550 because it also has two fan only power connects to control fan speed (I want to keep my computer quiet)
GuOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-05, 09:29 PM   #376
latinmike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 211
Default Re: GeForce 6800 power supply questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by GuOD
I have an antec sonata with 380Wtruepower psu. Is it enough to cover all this:

amd 64 3200+
120gb samsung spinpoint
sb audgiy 2 zs
bfg 6800gt (hoping to oc more) w/ Nv5 silencer
benq DVDRW
1gb corsiar valueselect 3200
2x 120mm fans

I was looking at Antec truepower 550 because it also has two fan only power connects to control fan speed (I want to keep my computer quiet)
that,s great, just wanted to say that mine has two fans also helps to cool the case
__________________
AMD 2500+ (2251.0) FBS 205.
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
home made case modifications
http://server3.uploadit.org/files/latinmike-pc22.JPG
Memory PC 3200C2 PRO/LEDS LIGHTS
3200 C2 PRO Corsair 1024 Mb.204 MHz. 2.5-3-3-8
CDR-W 52X memorex 16x
80 GB MAXTOR 7200 RPM
PNY GeFORCE 6800 GT 400/ 1000 MHz
350 WATT linkworld + two fans
nVIDIA Montor 55/72c load
CPU: 46c
PSU/350 WATT
WINDOWS HOME XP
please keep in mind that as of
UPDATED AS OF 8/29/05 (new)
I installed new memory and new mobo
latinmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-05, 10:48 AM   #377
DenverBuc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 137
Default Re: GeForce 6800 power supply questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo559
I need some serious help. I have a Gigabyte 8KNXP Rev. 1 BIOS F10 875P chipset mobo, 3.4 P4 northwood, audigy 2, and an Antec 550W TrueControl power supply. I have 3 optical drives and 4 hard drives, but the power supply is a beast (or so I thought) and they always ran fine with my old 9800 Pro. I bought a PNY GeForce 6800 GT and tried to install it and have had nothing but trouble.

With the Antec supply, I get constant artifacting. The POST screen and BIOS and DOS have flashing artifacts everywhere. Windows has a few artifacts when no drivers are installed, but once I put in the 61.77's, all hell breaks loose and Win XP becomes a hell of flashing artifacts and crashing, making it impossible to do even a simple task, like uninstall the drivers. I tried switching connectors, unplugging stuff, etc. No dice. With just the main hard drive, the motherboard, and the 6800 GT connected, I still have all the same problems. To check if it was the Antec at fault, I put the 6800 GT and the Antec supply into another system (an Athlon XP with a Via KT333 chipset) and I got the same exact artifacting.

How is this possible? The Antec 550W is supposed to be great. Max 24A on my +12V rail! I don't know anything about wattage or tweaking in this regard, so could anyone give me pointers on making this work with the 550W? I can't imagine there isn't some way, whether using the BIOS or the TrueControl front panel, but I don't have a clue where to start and would be worried about frying my board (I'm already worried I hurt my 875P motherboard...).

Well anyway, I had a Turbo-Cool 510 lying around (bought about a year ago, so not top of the line, but still great) and - surprise! - it boots without artifacting! Except all is not perfect. I'm getting substandard performance, and it doesn't even PST all the time. With everything but the video card, main hard drive, and motherboard unplugged, it POSTs fairly consistently. Once I start adding other stuff, it starts not POSTing. I've been playing around with it all day and can't figure out why it POSTs sometimes and not other times. I had almost everything plugged in and it was working, all I had unplugged was my fan speed controller. I plugged that in and... it refused to POST. Everything turned on, except the monitor stayed in power save mode and there was no beep. I unplugged it and it still refused to boot! After unplugging and replugging a lot of stuff, it POSTed fine, but then froze loading Windows. Same thing next time. More random unplugging and replugging, and here I am now. It seems to be running fine, but there's still one set of fans and a hard drive unplugged.

I thought maybe it was the card and took it back to CompUSA for another one, but the same exact things have happened.
Hey - I just saw this over at the evga forum - I have the same problem as you - artifacts in even post and dos screens.

Much different config than you, but - guess what - same power supply.

This issue was encountered by several others with the True Control 550. It was fixed by installing the front control panel for the PS. I don't have mine in and was about to RMA my card - am going to run home at lunch and try it in there with the front control panel installed as I don't have it in now.

Will let you know how it goes!

Here is the excerpt from that post re: our PSU:

Posted - 08/20/2004 : 8:05:29 PM <pop_profile.asp?mode=display&id=67628> <pop_profile.asp?mode=display&id=67628> <post.asp?method=ReplyQuote&REPLY_ID=30998&TOPIC_I D=3976&FORUM_ID=23> <post.asp?method=ReplyQuote&REPLY_ID=30998&TOPIC_I D=3976&FORUM_ID=23>
Yeah, I actually typed this whole thing TWICE (first time I accidently hit the Back button on my mouse and pretty much erased everything. That sucked). ANYWAY some new info to pass on: If you have an ANTEC TRUE CONTROL power supply (the antec PSUs that have the front panel controls, then make sure you have it hooked up! Several people are having problems because they don't have the front panel hooked up.
DenverBuc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-05, 11:41 AM   #378
rrpalma
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 16
Default Re: GeForce 6800 power supply questions

Hello,

I'm putting up a dual Opteron based workstation, and am considering the BFG nVidia 6800 Ultra OC. It will have 5 hard disks (4 SATA, 1 IDE) plus one DVD-RW. Motherboard is Tyan S2885 (thunderK8W), and Power Supply is PC Power and Cooling, model 510 AG (510 Watts at 50 degrees C, 600 at 25 C
http://www.pcpowercooling.com/produc...iews/index.htm).

Will this motherboard support your card? I know minimum reqs for the power supply is 480 W. Will the above power supply be enough, given all the disks?

Thanks for your help.
rrpalma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-05, 02:16 AM   #379
latinmike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 211
Default Re: GeForce 6800 power supply questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by kahloq
That statement would be accurate if all you had inside the case was barebones(meaning one or 2 HD's, 1 or 2 optical, and the vid card). Some of our systems, like mine, have alot more stuff in them then that. I know my system requires more then a 350watt PSU as I had a 420 in there, and it wasn't enough. Know how i know that? Cuz Nvidia was nice enough to give me a NOT enough Power window pop up, plus my PC would BSOD until I placed a higher watt and more stable PSU in it. It had nothing to do with spending money to juts have the latest, greatest PSU. It was a necessity for the system I had. Many ppl are also having the same experience. For others, 350watt PSU's worl fine and they can get by with it, but you cannot blanket statement say all you need is a 350 becuase thats not true for msot ppl.

from PNY:for 6800GT
Minimum System Requirements
Intel Pentium® III, AMD™ Duron or Athlon™ class processor or higher
128MB system RAM
A 300W system power supply
An available hard disk drive power dongle
An AGP 2.0 (or higher) compliant motherboard. Some motherboards violate the AGP specification and therefore this card may not physically fit in some systems.
50MB of available hard disk space
CD-ROM or DVD-ROM drive
Microsoft® Windows® 98 or higher, ME, 2000, XP, or Windows® NT4.0 (Service Pack 5 or 6)
VGA or DVI-I compatible monitor
LOKED AT THE nVIDIA site and could not find anything
__________________
AMD 2500+ (2251.0) FBS 205.
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
home made case modifications
http://server3.uploadit.org/files/latinmike-pc22.JPG
Memory PC 3200C2 PRO/LEDS LIGHTS
3200 C2 PRO Corsair 1024 Mb.204 MHz. 2.5-3-3-8
CDR-W 52X memorex 16x
80 GB MAXTOR 7200 RPM
PNY GeFORCE 6800 GT 400/ 1000 MHz
350 WATT linkworld + two fans
nVIDIA Montor 55/72c load
CPU: 46c
PSU/350 WATT
WINDOWS HOME XP
please keep in mind that as of
UPDATED AS OF 8/29/05 (new)
I installed new memory and new mobo

Last edited by latinmike; 01-27-05 at 02:43 AM.
latinmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-05, 10:20 AM   #380
[[Hooch]]
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Naples (Italy)
Posts: 6
Default Re: GeForce 6800 power supply questions

Hi guys...i would know..i've a 450 PSU by Qtech and i read on it....+12V Peak (16A) - Max (12A)....
I ask for this because the last week i bought a Bfg 6800 gt OC 370 - 1000 and Doom3 is so slow, it freezs every 5-10 sec...
My configuration is:
P 4 3,0 Ghz
Abit IC7-Max3 (latest bios)
512 Mb Corsair xms 3200LL (2-3-2-6)
Bfg 6800 GT OC (Nvidia drivers 71.25 beta)
120 Gb Maxtor S-Ata 150 (Master)
80 Gb Maxtor Ata 133 (Slave)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Zs
Trust internal modem
Thermaltake Case with 7 funs (every fun needs 0.4 A to run properly)
So it could be the PSU?
My 3D Mark05 score is 4932 with 71.25 and was 4662 with 66.93
Moreover Cpu temperature reachs 80 °C while i'm running 3dMark...is it normal? At the end of the test rivatunes reports 67 °C
[[Hooch]] is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-01-05, 10:27 PM   #381
latinmike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 211
Default Re: GeForce 6800 power supply questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by [[Hooch]]
Hi guys...i would know..i've a 450 PSU by Qtech and i read on it....+12V Peak (16A) - Max (12A)....
I ask for this because the last week i bought a Bfg 6800 gt OC 370 - 1000 and Doom3 is so slow, it freezs every 5-10 sec...
My configuration is:
P 4 3,0 Ghz
Abit IC7-Max3 (latest bios)
512 Mb Corsair xms 3200LL (2-3-2-6)
Bfg 6800 GT OC (Nvidia drivers 71.25 beta)
120 Gb Maxtor S-Ata 150 (Master)
80 Gb Maxtor Ata 133 (Slave)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Zs
Trust internal modem
Thermaltake Case with 7 funs (every fun needs 0.4 A to run properly)
So it could be the PSU?
My 3D Mark05 score is 4932 with 71.25 and was 4662 with 66.93
Moreover Cpu temperature reachs 80 °C while i'm running 3dMark...is it normal? At the end of the test rivatunes reports 67 °C
I think you need more memory, same thing happen to me with 512 MB but, what I did was to change my memory timing from 2-3-3-6 to 3-4-4-8 until I got more memory it help alot give it a shot
__________________
AMD 2500+ (2251.0) FBS 205.
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
home made case modifications
http://server3.uploadit.org/files/latinmike-pc22.JPG
Memory PC 3200C2 PRO/LEDS LIGHTS
3200 C2 PRO Corsair 1024 Mb.204 MHz. 2.5-3-3-8
CDR-W 52X memorex 16x
80 GB MAXTOR 7200 RPM
PNY GeFORCE 6800 GT 400/ 1000 MHz
350 WATT linkworld + two fans
nVIDIA Montor 55/72c load
CPU: 46c
PSU/350 WATT
WINDOWS HOME XP
please keep in mind that as of
UPDATED AS OF 8/29/05 (new)
I installed new memory and new mobo
latinmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-05, 08:19 AM   #382
Dreadnort
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2
Default Re: GeForce 6800 power supply questions

This question is more to appease my rather excitable friend than anything else.

He brought an Antec TruControl 550W PSU 1.2 back in November. This was before we found out The PSU is 20pin and as we know the MB is 24pin, something alot of the previews and reviews failed to mention at the time. His aim was to finally buy a new PC to replace his ailing AMD 1.2GHz. Well after waiting what seems like an age, the Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe MB he'd ordered finally reached the shipping stage a few days ago. Here is how his new rig will shape up.

Antec P160 Mid Case
AMD 64 3500+
Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe Motherboard
Antec TruControl 550W PSU 1.2
Matched Pair CMX512-3200C2PRO Memory
Leadtek Geforce 6800GT PCI-E
Audigy 2 Soundblaster PCI card
2x WD 160Gb SATA HDD's (8Mb cache versions)

Now he didn't actually pick these components, bar the soundcard, I did as I know more about what separates good components from poor ones more than he does. Of course I made sure he was happy with my choices.

With his MB only a few days away, I'll finally be able to put it all together for him. However he's a little concerned over the PSU and whether or not it will work correctly. We've both seen the pics showing a 20pin slotted neatly into the 24pin socket, but he remains paranoid. Now considering that the PSU cost around £75 I can understand his reluctance to fork out again for V2.0 PSU if he doesn't need to.

So can anyone reply here and confirm or deny his fears over this ?

Thankyou.

Last edited by Dreadnort; 02-03-05 at 01:42 PM.
Dreadnort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-05, 09:23 AM   #383
3246251196
AMD 64
 
3246251196's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK; North-East; Sunderland
Posts: 19
Send a message via MSN to 3246251196
Default Re: GeForce 6800 power supply questions

alright, after testing for about 4 days of having the computer on i have found that my old PSU poses no event of freezing, whilst when i change to the APPARENTLY better Tagen 480W i have crashes. so, hey, its the PSU. but, i am going to test out another PSU from a friend latter on to see if this works. any input on this??

- also i was considering using two PSUs at one time. it sounds ridiculous but to have the tagen480W JUST power the G Card and my older PSU to power the rest - is this feasible? (i have heard that you need to turn them on simultaneouly?)

(sorry about double post)

so far, in summary, it is this Tagen 480W which is causing the problem!!!
__________________
MSI K8T Neo FIS2R (VIA K8T800 Chipset)
A64 3200+ 754 (@2.2GHz) [220*10]
XFX nVidia GeForce 6800gt (437/1160 highest*)
Creative Labs Sound Blaster 5300 5.1 Surround Sound
WriteMaster DVD-RW, NEC DVD-RW, MSI CD-RW
pATA: 120Gb Seagate (8mb), pATA: 60Gb IBM
Benchmarks: 3dMark01SE=25k, AquaMark=67k
3246251196 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-05, 12:54 PM   #384
GuOD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 221
Default Re: GeForce 6800 power supply questions

Will a PSU possibly hinder OC? Using a 6800GT

Sometimes using riva tuner I can go up from 370 slowly and get up to about 425, then it will fail, and keep failling until i drop back down to 400-410.
i don't think it's a cooling problem because the temps are pretty good (below 50 idle)

Also, I want to be able to overclock CPU/ram/video card

setup to see if PSU is adequate

a64 3200+ 939 w/ zalman7000ALCU + fanmate 2
1gb corsair value 400mhz
abit av8 mb
benq DVDRW
120gb samsung spinpoint
SB audigy 2 ZS
6800GT w/ NV5 silencer
2x 120mm case fan

PSU is 380w antec sonata psu (similar to truepower but only 1 fan)

If it could be causing the video card OC problems then I'll look into purchasing a new PSU
GuOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What You Can Expect From GeForce GRID News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 04:20 PM
Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL drivers DSC NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 5 05-29-12 10:12 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.