Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-22-04, 07:17 AM   #37
DRen72
Eastern Pipistrelle
 
DRen72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Cave
Posts: 2,059
Default Re: Power Supply / 6800 Series Sticky

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dot50Cal
Antec 400 Watt 18A on 12 rail. My EVGA is only getting 373/1.04! Why such low memory overclock?

EDIT: NEVERMIND! For some reason the auto detect frequencys was giving me that max overclocked but I just reached 400/1100.
But is it stable after gaming for a while at that speed?
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k
Video: EVGA GTX 780 / 24" BenQ FP241WZ LCD
Motherboard & RAM: ASRock P67 Extreme6 / 16GB DDR3 RAM
Storage: Corsair Force Series GT 265GB SSD / Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB / Two Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB drives
Optical Storage: Pioneer BDR-206DBKS
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
OS: Windows 8 (64-bit)
Other: Antec P183 Case / Corsair AX-1200 Power Supply / Logitech G5 (v2.0) / Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000
Console: XBox 360 Elite
DRen72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-04, 08:34 AM   #38
Mesce
Graphically Challenged
 
Mesce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Uk, Manchester
Posts: 184
Default Re: Power Supply / 6800 Series Sticky

465 watt enermax and it says my 12 rail is 33 A just enough for when i get my 6800 ultra dont u think? how come my 12v rail is bigger thatn killermmn when he has a 550 watt psu
__________________
Ghiaccio
LGA775 Pentium 4 660 3.6Ghz@325x14 24/7
ASUS P5WD2 <----Awesome
1024mb XMS2 PC5400UL 3-2-2-4@320 2.15V
Enermax 600W Noisetaker SLi
XFX GeForce 7800GTX + Acetal Maze 4 520/1380 (560 inc. geometry clock)
Custom Corsair Water Cooling Kit Modified
ThermalTake Armor Silver Aluminium
2x 200GB SATA


3DMARK03 = 19347

3DMARK05 = 8726
Mesce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-04, 03:54 PM   #39
Davi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1
Default Re: Power Supply / 6800 Series Sticky

Mesce... that's more than double of what I have on 12V.. starting to get a bit nervous now.

What about a NorthQ 400W?

15A on the 12V rail.
I've got 1xHD, 1XCD-RW and 2xADDA 120mm the rest in my comp should be either 5V or 3.3V.


Btw... I've ordered a PNY 6800GT.. wich I want to run at Ultra speeds(not flash the bios to 1.4V Core).
.
__________________
|| XP2100+ AIUHB 0306 (190x11 -- 38c load)|| Abit AN7(arrives 3/8) || 2x256MB Twinmos Winbond BH5 || PNY 6800GT(Arrives 3/8)) || Custom H20 cooling(CPU) ||Tagan 480W(Arrives 3/8)
My Comp: The vattenbuffel
Davi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-04, 05:56 PM   #40
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Power Supply / 6800 Series Sticky

I fixed my power problem I think... after nearly pulling my hair out redoing my cabling, pulling all my lights, fans etc. Out. Out of desperation I switched the "extra" connection from the 1st, to the 2nd spot, and then my other connection over to the 1st spot.. now it works great... why did it do that? Any ideas?
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-04, 09:19 AM   #41
Flak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 14
Default Re: Power Supply / 6800 Series Sticky

I have a 465 watt enermax that's about two years old now. Powering my a64 system and 6800gt. I haven't tried for much but my 6800gt is stable at 400/1100 so far.
Flak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-04, 09:42 AM   #42
kahloq
Registered User
 
kahloq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,256
Default Re: Power Supply / 6800 Series Sticky

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fynx-Gloire
Ok guys,
I did the inevitable,
I just pourchased a 510 ATX-Deluxe poweer supply.
DO NOT ask how much it was, but it was expensive!
I am getting ready for my PNY 6800 Ultra which should ship sometime soon
(I hope )
Its about time I replaced my aging Radeon 64mb VIVO !!

Game on!!!
WOOOHOOOOO

Sean
You really didnt need to do that. I have an Alienware as well and it also has the 420 watt PSU(18a on the +12). I have a 6800 Ultra and have been able to OC it to 454 core and 1280 memory with absolutely no problems. I also have 4 hardrives, 2 optical drives, 8 case fans(including a vantec dual fan pci card), cathode lighting, etc.

How old is your Alienware? I have the predator case. Both that and the previous tower cases Alienware used are ATX. The Predator is just the same case as the previous one with a new face lift overtop.
__________________
SPECS:
Alienware
3.4 p4 /200FSB NO overclock
OCZ pc3500 performance 2 gig memory
OCZ 520 watt PSU
Asus p4c800deluxe-e motherboard
2 x 80g Sata HD's / 1 x 60g IDE / 1 x 40 g IDE
1 x DVD / 1 x lite on cdrw
7 case fans plus vantec dual fan pci card
BFG 6800 Ultra OC 456/1.28 Stock air
3.2P4(no OC)3dmark03 score :13570
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=3195131
3.2 p4 @3.472 217FSB 6800u@ 425/1.28 3Dmark03: 13738
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=3195221
WIFES PC: 3.2P4/BFG 6800GT/1 gig pc 3200
kahloq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-04, 10:03 AM   #43
Fynx-Gloire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Southern California
Posts: 75
Default Re: Power Supply / 6800 Series Sticky

Quote:
Originally Posted by kahloq
You really didnt need to do that. I have an Alienware as well and it also has the 420 watt PSU(18a on the +12). I have a 6800 Ultra and have been able to OC it to 454 core and 1280 memory with absolutely no problems. I also have 4 hardrives, 2 optical drives, 8 case fans(including a vantec dual fan pci card), cathode lighting, etc.

How old is your Alienware? I have the predator case. Both that and the previous tower cases Alienware used are ATX. The Predator is just the same case as the previous one with a new face lift overtop.
My Alienware is 5 years old
It has a 300 Watt power supply with the 12V rail giving 15A.
It was the first Pentium 4 with Williamette i850 chipset.
I upgraded from the 1.5 gig to a new 3 gig on a 400Mhz bus.
( Just got a new processor with adapter from http://www.powerleap.com )
Do you think I could have run the PNY 6800 ULTRA with my current power supply?

Sean
__________________
-------------------------------------------
Alienware Area 51 system / Pentium 4 3.0 / 2 Gig Rambus PC800/ PNY Geforce 6800 Ultra at 425/1100/ 61.77's /Windows Xp Home and Windows Media center 2005 in dual boot / ATI HDTV tuner card / EVGA dual analog TV tuner card ( I can record 3 shows at once, SUckazzz!!! ) / Directx 9.0c / Adaptec 26160 SCSI adapter 2 SCSI 36 GIG Seagate Barracuda HD / 2 External firewire Maxtor 180 gig drives / Soundblaster Audigy 2 / Logitech Z-680 5.1 speakers / Sony GDM-FW900 24" widescreen monitor / Pioneeer 16X CD ROM / Adaptec 12/16/32U SCSI CD burner / Microsoft Natural Internet Keyboard / Microsoft Intellmouse / PCPOWER and Cooling 510 Deluxe 650 watt power supply 12V @ 34A
Fynx-Gloire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-04, 10:30 AM   #44
kahloq
Registered User
 
kahloq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,256
Default Re: Power Supply / 6800 Series Sticky

With a 15a +12 rail, it probably wouldnt have done so well but you never know. Im sorry, i thought you had said you had a 420 thermaltake. Must have been someone else. Since thats the case, and it was a 300 watt PSU with only 15a on the +12, you were wise in upgrading it. I hope you enjoy your 6800 ultra Let us know how it performs for you
__________________
SPECS:
Alienware
3.4 p4 /200FSB NO overclock
OCZ pc3500 performance 2 gig memory
OCZ 520 watt PSU
Asus p4c800deluxe-e motherboard
2 x 80g Sata HD's / 1 x 60g IDE / 1 x 40 g IDE
1 x DVD / 1 x lite on cdrw
7 case fans plus vantec dual fan pci card
BFG 6800 Ultra OC 456/1.28 Stock air
3.2P4(no OC)3dmark03 score :13570
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=3195131
3.2 p4 @3.472 217FSB 6800u@ 425/1.28 3Dmark03: 13738
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=3195221
WIFES PC: 3.2P4/BFG 6800GT/1 gig pc 3200
kahloq is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-23-04, 11:25 AM   #45
DRen72
Eastern Pipistrelle
 
DRen72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Cave
Posts: 2,059
Thumbs up Re: Power Supply / 6800 Series Sticky

I've got the 420 Thermaltake. It's as solid as yours Kahloq.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k
Video: EVGA GTX 780 / 24" BenQ FP241WZ LCD
Motherboard & RAM: ASRock P67 Extreme6 / 16GB DDR3 RAM
Storage: Corsair Force Series GT 265GB SSD / Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB / Two Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB drives
Optical Storage: Pioneer BDR-206DBKS
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
OS: Windows 8 (64-bit)
Other: Antec P183 Case / Corsair AX-1200 Power Supply / Logitech G5 (v2.0) / Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000
Console: XBox 360 Elite
DRen72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-04, 01:09 PM   #46
kahloq
Registered User
 
kahloq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,256
Default Re: Power Supply / 6800 Series Sticky

Curious how you went about oc'ing cpu to 3.53. I wouldnt mind trying a bit of oc on my 3.2 as I dont have it oc'ed
__________________
SPECS:
Alienware
3.4 p4 /200FSB NO overclock
OCZ pc3500 performance 2 gig memory
OCZ 520 watt PSU
Asus p4c800deluxe-e motherboard
2 x 80g Sata HD's / 1 x 60g IDE / 1 x 40 g IDE
1 x DVD / 1 x lite on cdrw
7 case fans plus vantec dual fan pci card
BFG 6800 Ultra OC 456/1.28 Stock air
3.2P4(no OC)3dmark03 score :13570
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=3195131
3.2 p4 @3.472 217FSB 6800u@ 425/1.28 3Dmark03: 13738
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=3195221
WIFES PC: 3.2P4/BFG 6800GT/1 gig pc 3200
kahloq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-04, 04:29 PM   #47
Sc0rp10n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 177
Default Power Supply / 6800 Series Sticky

my evga 6800 ultra is sitting in a box at my home right now. i have an alienware system bought approximately 1 year ago that has the original 420 watt power supply that came with the crazy alien-head looking case. does everyone think this will be sufficient? i've been reading some reviews, albeit old reviews, that recommend a 480 watt power supply for the ultra. what do you guys think?

Last edited by UDawg; 07-23-04 at 05:53 PM.
Sc0rp10n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-04, 04:41 PM   #48
Sandman187
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 26
Default Power Supply / 6800 Series Sticky

I've got a 420 Watt PSU, I've got some problems with lockups and artifacts in games though. Some games play perfectly though with none of these problems UT2004/Halo/Farcry. But Warcraft 3 and Quake3 have lockups, and Painkiller freezes after 5-10 minutes. Still trying to work out what the problem is.

Last edited by UDawg; 07-23-04 at 05:53 PM.
Sandman187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What You Can Expect From GeForce GRID News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 04:20 PM
Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL drivers DSC NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 5 05-29-12 10:12 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.