Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-25-04, 03:11 PM   #1
Demon Lord
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 8
Default 6106 + Toshiba 5100: Corrupted display in high res

Here's a faked screen shot emulating my problem:
http://pages.infinit.net/demonlrd/misc/nvidia-6106.png

System is:
Toshiba 5100
GeForce4 440 Go
Bios: 04.17.00.41.c5
LCD resolution: 1600x1200
X.org 6.7.0
Kernel 2.6.7, SourceMage Linux

Screen is garbled as above (except it's 1600x1200 rather than 640x480...) when using the latest drivers. This problem does not seem to appear in lower resolutions (tested in 800x600, works fine).

The display reports a bad resolution of 1588x1200 so I disabled EDIDs completely, as soft-edids are broken since 4496.

Here are relevant config options:
modules.conf:
options nvidia NVreg_SoftEDIDs=0 NVreg_EnableAGPFW=1 NVreg_EnableAGPSBA=1 NVreg_Mobile=2

XF86Config:
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Monitor Model"
Option "DPMS"
HorizSync 31.5-90
VertRefresh 60
Gamma 1.45 1.33 1.25
DisplaySize 290 220
EndSection

Section "Device"
Option "IgnoreEDID" "true"
Option "TVStandard" "NTSC-M"
Option "RenderAccel" "true"
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVidia"
BoardName "0x0174"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultColorDepth 24

Option "TwinView"
Option "UseEdidFreqs"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "31.5 - 90"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "60"
Option "MetaModes" "800x600,1600x1200; 800x600,NULL; NULL,1600x1200"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"

SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1600x1200" "800x600"
EndSubSection
EndSection
Demon Lord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-04, 03:32 PM   #2
Demon Lord
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 8
Default Re: 6106 + Toshiba 5100: Corrupted display in high res

Attached the log file and the complete XF86config file
Attached Files
File Type: zip stuff.zip (7.2 KB, 336 views)

Last edited by Demon Lord; 07-25-04 at 03:35 PM. Reason: File extensions :-(
Demon Lord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-04, 02:38 AM   #3
imperitoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 10
Default Re: 6106 + Toshiba 5100: Corrupted display in high res

I think I have the exact same problem, on a Toshiba 6100 with a GeForce 420 GO. Heres a screen shot of sorts, from my camera...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screen.jpg
Views:	857
Size:	98.2 KB
ID:	7239  
imperitoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-04, 08:13 PM   #4
JameZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2
Default Re: 6106 + Toshiba 5100: Corrupted display in high res

I have the same issue. So I'm currently stuck with the NV driver or a blurry screen res!
JameZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-04, 02:30 AM   #5
imperitoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 10
Default Re: 6106 + Toshiba 5100: Corrupted display in high res

On a toshiba laptop? That makes 4 of us then.

By the way, you can use the nvidia driver, at a lower resolution, and use nvidia-settings to change the display form scaled to centered, and its not blurry, it just doesn't go all the way to the edges of the screen.
imperitoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-04, 08:13 PM   #6
JameZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2
Default Re: 6106 + Toshiba 5100: Corrupted display in high res

Yep, a toshiba laptop. Good idea tho, Never even thought about trying that!
JameZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 07:42 AM   #7
seancraig
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Default Re: 6106 + Toshiba 5100: Corrupted display in high res

Hi All,

I don't want to post a 'me too', but lets try isolate this problem - that way, we might get more action from NVidia.

1. Are wa all using laptops?
2. Are we all using GeForce 4 chips (what type)?
3. What is the video BIOS version?
4. What AGP speed is used?
5. What displays are being used?


What other details might help isolate the problem?

I have a Toshiba Satellite Pro 6100
chip: GeForce4 420 Go 32MB
video Bios: 04.17.00.41.c7
AGP: 4x
display: internal laptop display - native 1600x1200 capable

(does anybody know how to find out the manufacturer of laptop screens?)

I have this line in my modprobe.conf (replaces modules.conf in SuSE 9.1):
options nvidia NVreg_SoftEDIDs=0 NVreg_Mobile=2

If I use the IgnoreEDID option in XF86Config, I get the same screen as has been posted. If I remove the line, the display steps back to 1400x1050.

I don't think any info related to distro's are needed - it seems we all have the same problem.

regards

Sean
seancraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 12:46 PM   #8
imperitoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 10
Default Re: 6106 + Toshiba 5100: Corrupted display in high res

I've got exactly the same laptop and video card, and screen...

and problem... apparently...

Well that sucks...
imperitoo is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-05-04, 12:13 AM   #9
violajack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
Default Re: 6106 + Toshiba 5100: Corrupted display in high res

Ok, me too. I have a Toshiba 5105-s501, nVidia GeForce4, 1400x1050, XFree 4.3, Mandrake 10.0, Kernel 2.6.3

Same doubled display issue. I just rolled back to the 5336 driver for now, although I would really like to use the new one.

Has anyone found a real fix yet?
violajack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-04, 12:50 AM   #10
imperitoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 10
Default Re: 6106 + Toshiba 5100: Corrupted display in high res

This problem is apparently not fixed in 6111
imperitoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-04, 02:44 PM   #11
paags
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Default Re: 6106 + Toshiba 5100: Corrupted display in high res

Another Toshiba user with the same problem.

My workaround was to create a 1588x1200 modeline for X for the time being. I based it on the timings that the EDID debug output provided:

Modeline "1588x1200" 162 1588 1664 1856 2160 1200 1201 1204 1250

It works fine, but I'd like my 12 pixels back!
paags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-04, 12:30 PM   #12
Dr. Tyrell
Registered User
 
Dr. Tyrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 100
Default Re: 6106 + Toshiba 5100: Corrupted display in high res

Same problem with both 6106 and 6111.

Currently using 5336 self-compiled, EDIDs off
Toshiba Satellite 5105-S501
GeForce 4 Go 440 32Mb, BIOS 04.17.00.41.c5, AGP 4x
NvAGP is used (tried AGPGART, same problem)
Mandrake 10.1+ Cooker
Rolled-my-own Kernel 2.6.8-rc2
Xorg 6.7.0, patch level 0.2.11mdk
GCC 3.4.1-3mdk

I've tried all the options to no avail, including modelines. The best I can get is the slightly shrunken screen with the black space at right.

I believe the problem is nvidia's new driver is not yet set up to properly read the Toshiba hardware, hence we must wait.
Dr. Tyrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corrupted display - 295.53 - Dell Precision T3500 (G98 [Quadro NVS 295]) gbailey NVIDIA Linux 9 06-12-12 04:34 PM
Glx mrbig1344 NVIDIA Linux 7 09-30-02 07:45 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.