Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-26-04, 11:15 AM   #1
MadEgg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 88
Default GF6800 Ultra with 6106 drivers -> Kernel panic

Today I upgraded my GF4 Ti4400 in a working setup with driver version 6106 to an AOpen Aeolus GeForce 6800 Ultra-DVD256.

When I booted into Linux the card did work right away, including AGP8X, but of course I wanted to benchmark to see the performance difference with the old card.
So I ran Unreal Tournament 2003's flyby-asbestos.sh in the ut2003/Benchmark directory. It zaps right trough the flyby and at one of the normally last scenes the screen locks up, nothing happens anymore.

If I press Ctrl+Alt+F1 to get to a text console, I get to see a text console but I can't type at it. A few seconds later the following text will appear:

Code:
CPU 0: Machine Check Exception: 0000000000000004
Bank 0: a200000084010400
Kernel panic: CPU Context Corrupt
I tried all kind of things to fix it. I switched from the kernel's via-agp agpgart driver to NVIDIA's built-in agp driver. I switched kernels(from 2.6.8 to 2.6.7 and different patchsets etc.
I disabled Fast Writes. I also changed the SBA setting from 1 into 0 but unfortunately that does not disable SBA, according to /proc/driver/status/agp SBA is still enabled while Fast Writes is disabled.
I also disabled the framebuffer and bootsplash. All give the exact same result at the same scene in the flyby benchmark. It did work perfectly fine with the GF4 Ti4400 though.

Does the above error message mean anything to anyone, can anyone help me to fix this?
__________________
Proud owner of GF 6800 Ultra AGP and GF 6600 AGP
MadEgg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-04, 11:29 PM   #2
SuLinUX
 
SuLinUX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 847
Default Re: GF6800 Ultra with 6106 drivers -> Kernel panic

Looks like your CPU is erroring or on it's way out, do you overclock?
__________________
AthlonXP 2600+ / nForce2 Asus A7N8X-X / PNY GeForce FX5900 Ultra / 1024Mb Samsung Ram /nForce Sound / Hansol 920D Plus 19" monitor / Lite-On 32x12x40 / 2x Maxtor HD 40Gb/80Gb / nVidia 7174 driver / Gnome 2.10.1 / Kernel 2.6.11.9 / Slackware 10.0
SuLinUX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-04, 05:19 AM   #3
MadEgg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 88
Default Re: GF6800 Ultra with 6106 drivers -> Kernel panic

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuLinUX
Looks like your CPU is erroring or on it's way out, do you overclock?
I used to before I put the new card in, I never had any problems with it. But when I got my new card I put the FSB back to normal to avoid any problems. Obviously it didn't work.
__________________
Proud owner of GF 6800 Ultra AGP and GF 6600 AGP
MadEgg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-04, 07:19 AM   #4
blueworm
[DEADAGAIN]blueworm
 
blueworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 416
Default Re: GF6800 Ultra with 6106 drivers -> Kernel panic

What power supply are you using?
Monitor the +12v rail, Obviously sensors output is not reliable unless it is calibrated.
But this said if you are suffering a voltage drop under heavy load you will see a fluctuation.
Try running prime95 torture test to test CPU.
Also test memory with memtest86.
To put GPU under load you will find that glxgears will do fine if not try SPECVIEW perf.
BTW all these programas ARE available for linux.
__________________
Registered linux user #271604 Get Counted! http://counter.li.org/
lianLi PC60, OCZ powerStream 520W PSU, Asus P5N-E SLI, Core 2 duo E6550, 2Gb GEIL, XFX 8800GT, TB SantaCruz
blueworm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-04, 03:14 PM   #5
MadEgg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 88
Default Re: GF6800 Ultra with 6106 drivers -> Kernel panic

Well, I've only got a 300 Watt power supply with 2 12v power cords of each max 15A. I heard that to connect it to one cord you need at least 18A on each line so I used one molex connector of both 12V power cords to power the card.

It could be that it has anything to do with that but I don't know how I can find that out...

Besides, I don't have any problems with the card except for a bit low performance(13000 score in 3dmark 2001se vs 28000 common for the card, 10000 in 3dmark 2003 vs 13000 common for the card). Hmm, if I read that again, might be the same problem then.

I'll try to get my hands on a new, stronger power supply to see if that helps.
__________________
Proud owner of GF 6800 Ultra AGP and GF 6600 AGP
MadEgg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-04, 04:43 PM   #6
MadEgg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 88
Default Re: GF6800 Ultra with 6106 drivers -> Kernel panic

Right, I replaced the 300 Watt PSU with a 450 Watt PSU, should be more than enough.

The situation only got worse now though. Whenever I try to run the benchmark, I get a black screen and that's all I'm going to get. I don't even get to see anything UT2k3 related anymore. :-(
__________________
Proud owner of GF 6800 Ultra AGP and GF 6600 AGP
MadEgg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-04, 05:25 PM   #7
SuLinUX
 
SuLinUX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 847
Default Re: GF6800 Ultra with 6106 drivers -> Kernel panic

That error is pointing directy to the CPU, UT2004 is VERY CPU intensive and under high load the Kernel is picking up CPU errors.
__________________
AthlonXP 2600+ / nForce2 Asus A7N8X-X / PNY GeForce FX5900 Ultra / 1024Mb Samsung Ram /nForce Sound / Hansol 920D Plus 19" monitor / Lite-On 32x12x40 / 2x Maxtor HD 40Gb/80Gb / nVidia 7174 driver / Gnome 2.10.1 / Kernel 2.6.11.9 / Slackware 10.0
SuLinUX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-04, 06:16 AM   #8
MadEgg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 88
Default Re: GF6800 Ultra with 6106 drivers -> Kernel panic

Define 'CPU Error'... Are you saying my CPU is broken?

I tried yet another PSU, a 650 Watt PSU this time, and I still get the same problem, directly after running ./flybe-asbestos.sh I get a black screen and nothing is ran.

In Windows XP I don't have any problems with it though. 3DMark2001SE/3DMark2003 give reasonable results, UT2003 runs like a charm(although the framerates aren't exactly high on medium quality settings(40-60 fps), they stay about the same when putting everything on highest quality @ 1280x1024 so I'm quite satisfied.

How come it isn't working in Linux then?
__________________
Proud owner of GF 6800 Ultra AGP and GF 6600 AGP
MadEgg is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-31-04, 04:14 AM   #9
MadEgg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 88
Default Re: GF6800 Ultra with 6106 drivers -> Kernel panic

*bump*
__________________
Proud owner of GF 6800 Ultra AGP and GF 6600 AGP
MadEgg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corrupted display - 302.17 - Dell Precision T3500 (G98 [Quadro NVS 295]) gbailey NVIDIA Linux 1 06-27-12 10:24 AM
UEFI+Nvidia - NVRM: Your system is not currently configured to drive a VGA console... interzoneuk NVIDIA Linux 0 06-26-12 04:51 AM
xorg locks-up with newest nvidia drivers w/ vdpau. theroot NVIDIA Linux 1 06-24-12 11:04 AM
Crash when logout from X TGL NVIDIA Linux 10 09-13-02 08:22 PM
Do I have to reinstall NVIDIA drivers after every kernel upgrade? supernaut NVIDIA Linux 3 07-31-02 06:50 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.