Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-26-11, 02:27 AM   #277
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Doom 3 feedback thread

Looks like a completely different game... in a great way.

Will have to try this some time.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-11, 04:23 AM   #278
Ywap
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 627
Default Re: Doom 3 feedback thread

Maybe one should dust off that old box and install the game again
__________________
i7 2600k - Msi P67A-GD55 - Noctua NH-D14 - 8gb Corsair 1600mhz - Gigabyte GTX 580 - Corsair 600t - Corsair TX 850w - Windows 7 64-bit
Ywap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-11, 05:20 PM   #279
knghtwhosaysni
Ni!
 
knghtwhosaysni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 457
Default Re: Doom 3 feedback thread

I just installed Sikkmod 1.1 but I'm noticing this weird haloing issue around some objects. I'm not exactly sure what to call it, but it looks like reverse SSAO in that there will be light next to some objects that are close to each other. The only options I have enabled are HDR lighting, soft shadows, depth of field, and motion blur though, no SSAO.


edit: Turns out it is the soft shadows doing it. I turned down the blur amount quite a bit (from 1.0 to 0.1) and that does a decent job of hiding the haloing, but also reduces the amount of softening quite a bit. If anyone knows how to keep soft shadows without the weird haloing effect, that would be nice.
__________________
| i7-2600k | ASUS P8H67-M LE | eVGA GTX 275 1792MB | 8GB 1333mhz | Samsung 830 64GB | Seagate 7200.10 320GB | Seagate 7200.11 1.5TB | Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic | Dell S2209W | Audio-Technica ATH-A700 | Logitech G500 | Logitech Driving Force GT |
knghtwhosaysni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-11, 11:22 PM   #280
Ywap
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 627
Default Re: Doom 3 feedback thread

Getting the following error message:

__________________
i7 2600k - Msi P67A-GD55 - Noctua NH-D14 - 8gb Corsair 1600mhz - Gigabyte GTX 580 - Corsair 600t - Corsair TX 850w - Windows 7 64-bit
Ywap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-11, 03:46 AM   #281
Ywap
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 627
Default Re: Doom 3 feedback thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by ALien8ed View Post
What version are you running?

The game needs to be patched to version 1.3.1
Ahh, thanks

Getting so used to games autopatching themself nowdays so i didn´t even think of that
__________________
i7 2600k - Msi P67A-GD55 - Noctua NH-D14 - 8gb Corsair 1600mhz - Gigabyte GTX 580 - Corsair 600t - Corsair TX 850w - Windows 7 64-bit
Ywap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-11, 08:20 AM   #282
Ywap
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 627
Default Re: Doom 3 feedback thread

I hope i´ve installed everything right but this is how it looks for me:

No mods:



Sikkmod without texture pack:



No Sikkmod but Wulfen texture pack:



With Sikkmod and Wulfen texture pack:

__________________
i7 2600k - Msi P67A-GD55 - Noctua NH-D14 - 8gb Corsair 1600mhz - Gigabyte GTX 580 - Corsair 600t - Corsair TX 850w - Windows 7 64-bit
Ywap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-11, 08:37 AM   #283
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Doom 3 feedback thread

Why not just buy D3 on Steam? Works perfect for me on W7.

I can't believe this game is almost 8-9 years old.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-11, 02:22 PM   #284
H3avyM3tal
SB's Twin Blades
 
H3avyM3tal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: Doom 3 feedback thread

How can I get the wulfen pack working?

I copied the three folders into the 'base' folder, but the game looks the same.
__________________
i5 2500K - Asus Maximus IV Extreme - 8Gb Corsair Platinum @ 2133MHz - GTX 680 - WD Velociraptor 300Gb + WD Black 1Tb - OCZ Vertex 2 90Gb - TT ToughPower 850W - Corsair 800D
H3avyM3tal is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-27-11, 03:25 PM   #285
Ywap
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 627
Default Re: Doom 3 feedback thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by H3avyM3tal View Post
How can I get the wulfen pack working?

I copied the three folders into the 'base' folder, but the game looks the same.
The folders called textures and models should be in the base directory. Copy the glprogs folder found in the parallax occlusion mapping folder and put it in the base folder too.
__________________
i7 2600k - Msi P67A-GD55 - Noctua NH-D14 - 8gb Corsair 1600mhz - Gigabyte GTX 580 - Corsair 600t - Corsair TX 850w - Windows 7 64-bit
Ywap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-11, 03:59 AM   #286
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Doom 3 feedback thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by six_storm View Post
Why not just buy D3 on Steam? Works perfect for me on W7.

I can't believe this game is almost 8-9 years old.
I know. It was Doom 3 and a new 6800GT that brought me to nVNews.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-11, 08:06 AM   #287
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Doom 3 feedback thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
I know. It was Doom 3 and a new 6800GT that brought me to nVNews.
This.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-11, 10:44 PM   #288
Greg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,177
Default Re: Doom 3 feedback thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ywap View Post
The folders called textures and models should be in the base directory. Copy the glprogs folder found in the parallax occlusion mapping folder and put it in the base folder too.
Thanks Ywap, so I now have folders that look like:
SteamApps\common\doom 3\base\textures
SteamApps\common\doom 3\base\models
SteamApps\common\doom 3\base\glprogs
But do not see new textures in the game. What have I done wrong?
Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Max Payne 3 Feedback Thread Ghosthunter Gaming Central 94 10-05-12 07:00 AM
Doom 3 BFG Edition will feature entire Doom series, seven new Doom 3 levels News Archived News Items 0 05-31-12 06:40 AM
Official detonator 40.71 feedback thread Crake NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 88 10-01-02 12:38 PM
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 10:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.