Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-03-04, 12:02 AM   #37
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,992
Default Re: Doom3 Screenshot Thread **Possible Spoilers**

Quote:
Originally Posted by JumboJack
If you play the game on ultra and pay attention to the textures, the low rez textures are really noticeable. I have no idea why they didn't go all out and make them higher rez.
I've not tried Ultra setting yet but AFAIK there is no difference in low/high rez of the textures used...simply whether they are compressed (slightly at High setting) or not (no compressed textures in Ultra setting).
__________________
SLI GeForce 7800 GTX 512MB @ 550/1700 | MSI K8N Neo4/SLI | A64 X2 4400+ Toledo | CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) TwinX PC 3500 | Silverstone ST65ZF 650W| 93.71| XP SP2 and a Dell 2405FPW

I personally believe that us americans are unable to do so because osama.

People out there in our nation don't have that, And I believe that our education like such as south africa and such as the Iraq.

everywhere "such as". And I believe our education should help the US should help the south africa and the iraq and the asian countries so we can build up our future.
-- Miss Teen South Carolina

Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 12:27 AM   #38
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Doom3 Screenshot Thread **Possible Spoilers**

Some shaders usage ?



__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 12:32 AM   #39
aaahhh52
gahboo?
 
aaahhh52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to aaahhh52
Default Re: Doom3 Screenshot Thread **Possible Spoilers**

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64
Some shaders usage ?




wow thats pretty amazing definetly looks like some shaders
__________________
SPECS <-- mobo = fried R.I.P

New Pc:
Gigabye k8n-SLI NF4
AMD x2 4600+
Evga 7900gs 256mb
1gb pc 3200
160gb SATA II
aaahhh52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 12:41 AM   #40
Nv40
Agent-Fx
 
Nv40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: everywhere
Posts: 2,216
Default Re: Doom3 Screenshot Thread **Possible Spoilers**

Quote:
Originally Posted by JumboJack
If you play the game on ultra and pay attention to the textures, the low rez textures are really noticeable. I have no idea why they didn't go all out and make them higher rez.
because they wanted Doom3 to be playable in realtime in hardware that doesnt cost $500. notice that any geforce4mx user will be able to play the game too ,albeit using lower settings. but not all textures are low resolution ,there are many medium too. if you want to see ultra high quality textures you will need to design the Doom3 levels by yourself in the in game inluded level editor.

a quick sample of a high resolution texture in Doom3..



any MOd maker with abilities will be able to get similar Unreal3 graphics in doom3 by using ultrahigh resolutions textures with higher poly counts.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	1162
Size:	95.4 KB
ID:	7289  
Nv40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 01:56 AM   #41
oreo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: Doom3. Screens and impressions.

[quote=Mathesar]Awesome game I'm very impressed and its running great on 6800 GT @ 1600x1200 4X AF High quality , My only concern is if I enable Vsync in Doom 3 options the framerate doesnt hold up very well and its very erratic in certain areas ,with vsync disabled (wich is default) framerates remain much more consistent.

QUOTE]Is it possible to get a fps over 60? As far as I know the game is capped at 60 fps, but in your screenshots you're at 70-75.
oreo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 03:32 AM   #42
iwbs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 65
Default Re: Doom3 Screenshot Thread **Possible Spoilers**

Forget its name, but it exists in doom1&2
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	未命名89.JPG
Views:	336
Size:	50.7 KB
ID:	7292  
iwbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 04:15 AM   #43
Zips
Tin God
 
Zips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 64
Default Re: Doom3 Screenshot Thread **Possible Spoilers**

Guys, I'm not going to lie to you... If you don't want to see what Hell looks like yet... LOOK AWAY RIGHT NOW!

Having said that....






1600x1200, 4xAA/4xAF through the desktop CP, High Quality setting, no vsync, on a 6800GT, and in the "DoomConfig" file under "base" I upped my image_cacheMegs to 256. It really helps out on getting better fps.



















__________________
Core 2 Quad Q6600 | 6.0GB DDR2 800 | 250GB SATAII & 320GB External | MSI 650i P5N | eVGA GTX260

Last edited by Zips; 08-03-04 at 04:37 AM.
Zips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 04:42 AM   #44
Kamel
Hardware Mass Murderer
 
Kamel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,035
Send a message via ICQ to Kamel Send a message via AIM to Kamel Send a message via MSN to Kamel Send a message via Yahoo to Kamel Send a message via Skype™ to Kamel
Default Re: Doom3 Screenshot Thread **Possible Spoilers**

here's a neat screenshot of the place a lot of people have posted with the worm looking things in the walls...



gf fx5900u flashed to a fx5950u at 620/1015 (yes, 620) -- high quality mode, 1280x1024, 4xaa enabled in game (trying to enable it with the drivers didn't seem to work).
__________________
hardware murdered so far: geforce 5900u, deceised: sat on it. geforce 6600gt deceised: improperly mounted heatsink. 3 asus a7n8x-e deluxe motherboards, deceised: unsure. mobile amd xp2600 processor, deceised: chipped core due to compusa heatsink. dfi lanparty ultra b, deceised: unsure, third memory bank went out. samsung cd burner 48x40x48, deceised: unsure, will only read pressed cd's very slowly. samsung TH552C dvd burner (dual layer), deceised: same as other samsung . 10gb seagate 5200rpm drive, deceised: tried fixing a pin that was pushed into the drive by inserting an ide cable upside down. 40gb maxtor drive, deceised: maxtor manufacturer. 80gb western digital, deceised: unnatural causes. swan xt10, deceised: brutal pre-meditated murder, even video taped (it wasn't y2k compliant). logitech mx510, deceised: death by electricution. ati remote wonder, deceised: death by electricution.
Kamel is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-03-04, 08:10 AM   #45
Kamel
Hardware Mass Murderer
 
Kamel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,035
Send a message via ICQ to Kamel Send a message via AIM to Kamel Send a message via MSN to Kamel Send a message via Yahoo to Kamel Send a message via Skype™ to Kamel
Default Re: Doom3 Screenshot Thread **Possible Spoilers**

some more d3 goodness



edit: this screenshot is excellent proof to those who don't think d3 needs antialiasing that it does indeed help o_0
__________________
hardware murdered so far: geforce 5900u, deceised: sat on it. geforce 6600gt deceised: improperly mounted heatsink. 3 asus a7n8x-e deluxe motherboards, deceised: unsure. mobile amd xp2600 processor, deceised: chipped core due to compusa heatsink. dfi lanparty ultra b, deceised: unsure, third memory bank went out. samsung cd burner 48x40x48, deceised: unsure, will only read pressed cd's very slowly. samsung TH552C dvd burner (dual layer), deceised: same as other samsung . 10gb seagate 5200rpm drive, deceised: tried fixing a pin that was pushed into the drive by inserting an ide cable upside down. 40gb maxtor drive, deceised: maxtor manufacturer. 80gb western digital, deceised: unnatural causes. swan xt10, deceised: brutal pre-meditated murder, even video taped (it wasn't y2k compliant). logitech mx510, deceised: death by electricution. ati remote wonder, deceised: death by electricution.
Kamel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 09:39 AM   #46
Mathesar
Registered User
 
Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 347
Default Re: Doom3 Screenshot Thread **Possible Spoilers**

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kamel
edit: this screenshot is excellent proof to those who don't think d3 needs antialiasing that it does indeed help o_0
Only problem is the framerate suffers, I prefer running it 1600x1200 with No AA & 8X AF.

__________________
Antec TX 1050B Case w/ Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W PSU
Intel i7 920 @ 3.36ghz (Stock Intel cooler, for now)
Gigabyte EX58-UD3R (rev 1.6)
6 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600 (3 x 2GB / Triple channel)
EVGA GTX 480 + EVGA GTX 260 Superclocked (PhysX)
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic / Logitech Z5500's
Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro headphones + Go-Vibe V4 amp
2.4TB Total HDD / Win 7 64bit Ultimate
Samsung PX2370 LED TN & Samsung 2333T PVA
Pioneer Kuro 5080HD Plasma.
Mathesar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 09:45 AM   #47
FierceDeityLink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 390
Send a message via AIM to FierceDeityLink Send a message via MSN to FierceDeityLink Send a message via Yahoo to FierceDeityLink
Default Re: Doom3 Screenshot Thread **Possible Spoilers**

Whoops, I didn't see this thread...
http://www.liquidsun.org/robby/doom3/shot00004.jpg
http://www.liquidsun.org/robby/doom3/shot00005.jpg
http://www.liquidsun.org/robby/doom3/shot00006.jpg
http://www.liquidsun.org/robby/doom3/shot00007.jpg
http://www.liquidsun.org/robby/doom3/shot00008.jpg
http://www.liquidsun.org/robby/doom3/shot00009.jpg
http://www.liquidsun.org/robby/doom3/shot00010.jpg
http://www.liquidsun.org/robby/doom3/shot00011.jpg
http://www.liquidsun.org/robby/doom3/shot00012.jpg
http://www.liquidsun.org/robby/doom3/shot00013.jpg
http://www.liquidsun.org/robby/doom3/shot00014.jpg
http://www.liquidsun.org/robby/doom3/shot00015.jpg
http://www.liquidsun.org/robby/doom3/shot00016.jpg
http://www.liquidsun.org/robby/doom3/shot00017.jpg

EDIT: and "whoops" you didn't see from your last post that your images are just too friggin' big - Clay
__________________
P4 3.2C|Asus P4C800-E DX|2GB Corsair DDR400|BFG Geforce 6800 Ultra|Antec TrueControl 550
Koolance EXOS 2|PolarFLO TT CPU|Danger Den NV-68|Danger Den MAZE4 chipset

Last edited by Clay; 08-03-04 at 02:45 PM.
FierceDeityLink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 02:42 PM   #48
Mathesar
Registered User
 
Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 347
Default Re: Doom3 Screenshot Thread **Possible Spoilers**

Er yea .... FierceDeityLink ... you think those 4000x3000 shots are a bit overkill? considering the game doesnt even run that high..anyhow couple more:



__________________
Antec TX 1050B Case w/ Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W PSU
Intel i7 920 @ 3.36ghz (Stock Intel cooler, for now)
Gigabyte EX58-UD3R (rev 1.6)
6 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600 (3 x 2GB / Triple channel)
EVGA GTX 480 + EVGA GTX 260 Superclocked (PhysX)
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic / Logitech Z5500's
Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro headphones + Go-Vibe V4 amp
2.4TB Total HDD / Win 7 64bit Ultimate
Samsung PX2370 LED TN & Samsung 2333T PVA
Pioneer Kuro 5080HD Plasma.
Mathesar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM
Doom 3 BFG Edition will feature entire Doom series, seven new Doom 3 levels News Archived News Items 0 05-31-12 05:40 AM
Doom 3 technology for Quake 1 Kruno Gaming Central 104 10-09-02 09:56 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.