Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-28-02, 04:14 PM   #1
Beettlle
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Question Quatro with NVIDIA drivers + SHH don't work!

I bought 2 computers from Dell with NVIDIA Quatro in them. I'm running RH7.2 and I RPMed the NVIDIA kernel and GLX right after installing. Modified the XF86Config-4 and everything works beautifully on both machines.
The problem is when I try to un an OpenGL app from one machine, over ssh, to the other. When I try to run an app that works fine, on both machines when I'm fisicaly on them, over ssh I get a segmentation fault. Running gdb only point me to libGL.so so I'm guessing it's a driver problem.
Any ideas are greatly apreceated.

Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-02, 09:15 PM   #2
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Well, I don't know that it would cause a segfault, but direct rendering, due to a limitation of XFree86, cannot be enabled unless you're physically at the machine that's running the program. You can't, for example, get a direct rendering GL context if the X server isn't the machine that's running the program.

I don't know why, but I would guess that it's because the network latency would be too unpredictable.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-02, 09:54 PM   #3
Beettlle
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I didn't know about that. But I have a nother machine that is the same thing except it has a crappy video card therefore all 3D stuff is done by Mesa and it works fine from there. That is why my guess is that it's the video card or the drivers. So why would the machine with no NVIDIA drivers work just fine and the computer with the NVIDIA card doesn't?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-02, 08:21 AM   #4
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

With Mesa, you can't get a direct rendering context (AFAIK). So if it's something with direct rendering, then that would explain it.

Of course, I don't know, really, I'm just throwing out ideas. But they sound plausible to me...
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-02, 02:28 PM   #5
Beettlle
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Unhappy Strange test

So I ran a little experiment. I have 2 other computers with GeFroce3 cards in them. Runnin RH7.2, NVIDIA drivers, etc. The config of these machines is the same as the ones I mentioned before just diferent vid card.

Now for the amazing part. It works just fine with the GeForce3 cards. . I have no clue. It might just be something with the Quatro cards.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-02, 04:08 PM   #6
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Err... wtf?

Hmm... yeah, could be the Quatro, I guess... that's what it looks like at least...
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-02, 11:50 PM   #7
kappax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 56
Default

I am unaware that you could even tunnel 3D apps via ssh and still get HW accel. Because all the data has to be snet via a LAN or the net. therefor it woudl be ultra slow
kappax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-02, 09:34 AM   #8
r0gu3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: cleveland ohio
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to r0gu3
Default

It was my understanding that indirect rendering (or tunneling over ssh) wasn't accelerated using nvidia's drivers... it was optimized (ie, all matrix transforms were still fast) but all the work is done on your cpu and none of it on your gpu... where as on the sgi boxes you can get accellerated indirect rendering...

If you need remote hardware accelerated rendering, i have had good luck with chromium(chromium.sf.net) but its really made for a whole lot more...

- r0gu3
r0gu3 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-31-02, 10:57 AM   #9
Beettlle
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

That's the thing, . I am trying to build a display wall with Chromium. It worked just fine with the test cluster using GeForce3's and we thought we'd upgrade to the bigger and badder Quatro cards and Chromium just dies. So I ran gdb on chromium and it told me it was dying on libGL.so so I decided to check to see if I could render stuff through the network(be it via ssh or rsh) and none works, ! Can you beleive that? Any ideas?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-03, 12:58 PM   #10
jamisondaniel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1
Default solution

LINUX> csh
LINUX > setenv CR_SYSTEM_GL_PATH /usr/lib/tls
jamisondaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adobe Flash full screen mode doesn't work in Google Chrome 23 with NVIDIA drivers artem NVIDIA Linux 1 11-16-12 03:24 PM
NVIDIA Drivers Receive Windows 8 Certification News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM
Radeon 9700 not all that? sancheuz Other Desktop Graphics Cards 200 10-12-02 09:31 PM
Nvidia Stereo Drivers Soudontsay NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 2 08-26-02 10:48 AM
NVIDIA 2960 Drivers & RH 7.3 W/2.4.18-5 XASCompuGuy NVIDIA Linux 6 08-02-02 11:53 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.