Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-03-04, 06:36 PM   #37
FierceDeityLink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 390
Send a message via AIM to FierceDeityLink Send a message via MSN to FierceDeityLink Send a message via Yahoo to FierceDeityLink
Default Re: Doom 3 pre-rendered "dynamic shadows" ?

Just to say, you can do seta g_showPlayerShadow "1" to have first person shadows like in multiplayer. It ends up seeming like someone's standing behind you, and I ended up shooting at it a lot... It was originally in the game, but I remember a first-look saying that they shot at it a lot, so maybe it was a choice.
__________________
P4 3.2C|Asus P4C800-E DX|2GB Corsair DDR400|BFG Geforce 6800 Ultra|Antec TrueControl 550
Koolance EXOS 2|PolarFLO TT CPU|Danger Den NV-68|Danger Den MAZE4 chipset
FierceDeityLink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 06:39 PM   #38
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Doom 3 pre-rendered "dynamic shadows" ?

I knew it

Thanks edge
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 06:40 PM   #39
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,993
Default Re: Doom 3 pre-rendered "dynamic shadows" ?

I took a number of shots from that same area Sazar was in (it's just before you enter the airlock for the first time in the game). While I still maintain that his two screenshots do not show any error to me, I did find another scenario that seems interesting. Will post back here later tonight.
Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 06:43 PM   #40
Kamel
Hardware Mass Murderer
 
Kamel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,035
Send a message via ICQ to Kamel Send a message via AIM to Kamel Send a message via MSN to Kamel Send a message via Yahoo to Kamel Send a message via Skype™ to Kamel
Default Re: Doom 3 pre-rendered "dynamic shadows" ?

good stuff... i figured that already. i figured the easiest way to figure out if it's fact or fiction is to go in a multiplayer game and get the other guy to pull out the flashlight.
__________________
hardware murdered so far: geforce 5900u, deceised: sat on it. geforce 6600gt deceised: improperly mounted heatsink. 3 asus a7n8x-e deluxe motherboards, deceised: unsure. mobile amd xp2600 processor, deceised: chipped core due to compusa heatsink. dfi lanparty ultra b, deceised: unsure, third memory bank went out. samsung cd burner 48x40x48, deceised: unsure, will only read pressed cd's very slowly. samsung TH552C dvd burner (dual layer), deceised: same as other samsung . 10gb seagate 5200rpm drive, deceised: tried fixing a pin that was pushed into the drive by inserting an ide cable upside down. 40gb maxtor drive, deceised: maxtor manufacturer. 80gb western digital, deceised: unnatural causes. swan xt10, deceised: brutal pre-meditated murder, even video taped (it wasn't y2k compliant). logitech mx510, deceised: death by electricution. ati remote wonder, deceised: death by electricution.
Kamel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 06:46 PM   #41
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Doom 3 pre-rendered "dynamic shadows" ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kamel
good stuff... i figured that already. i figured the easiest way to figure out if it's fact or fiction is to go in a multiplayer game and get the other guy to pull out the flashlight.
Is there a flashlight in multiplayer? If there is then this thread was pointless, because id software isnt dumb enough to make multiplayer with floating shadows all over the place.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 06:51 PM   #42
Kamel
Hardware Mass Murderer
 
Kamel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,035
Send a message via ICQ to Kamel Send a message via AIM to Kamel Send a message via MSN to Kamel Send a message via Yahoo to Kamel Send a message via Skype™ to Kamel
Default Re: Doom 3 pre-rendered "dynamic shadows" ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
Is there a flashlight in multiplayer? If there is then this thread was pointless, because id software isnt dumb enough to make multiplayer with floating shadows all over the place.
hehe, i just checked and the flashlight does indeed exist in multiplayer
__________________
hardware murdered so far: geforce 5900u, deceised: sat on it. geforce 6600gt deceised: improperly mounted heatsink. 3 asus a7n8x-e deluxe motherboards, deceised: unsure. mobile amd xp2600 processor, deceised: chipped core due to compusa heatsink. dfi lanparty ultra b, deceised: unsure, third memory bank went out. samsung cd burner 48x40x48, deceised: unsure, will only read pressed cd's very slowly. samsung TH552C dvd burner (dual layer), deceised: same as other samsung . 10gb seagate 5200rpm drive, deceised: tried fixing a pin that was pushed into the drive by inserting an ide cable upside down. 40gb maxtor drive, deceised: maxtor manufacturer. 80gb western digital, deceised: unnatural causes. swan xt10, deceised: brutal pre-meditated murder, even video taped (it wasn't y2k compliant). logitech mx510, deceised: death by electricution. ati remote wonder, deceised: death by electricution.
Kamel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 06:51 PM   #43
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,993
Default Re: Doom 3 pre-rendered "dynamic shadows" ?

Okay, had more time than I thought Here is the sequence of shots I was referring to. These first 5 screenshots are all from my observation that the initial handrail shadows on the floor appear to be relatively unaffected by my flashlight...especially once I am crouched down and zoomed. Seems to me that the shadows should be less intense at best...any thoughts? I could be wrong about this.


Initial screenshot, no flashlight



Same angle, just now with flashlight



Same angle, just now with flashlight and now also zoomed in with Doom 3's zoom key.



Different angle #1, now crouched down and zoomed in



Different angle #2, still crouched down and zoomed in







And here is my closest reproduction of Sazar's original shot...I don't see any problem here.
Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 06:57 PM   #44
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Doom 3 pre-rendered "dynamic shadows" ?

maybe its just me

the shadows just seem off in certain situations, mainly involving railings...

I love games I creep round in (such as Splinter cells 1/2 and Thief 3) and it just seemed a little awkward... dunno how else to explain it...

it is likely that the problem I have is about the same as what you put up.. the intensity of the shadows... the depth of field appears to be unreasonable wrt shadow sharpness/intensity which in turn leads to the illusion of a shadow "floating"

when I took my shots it appeared to me (on screen) that the shadow was but a few inches from the railing...

keep in mind the rest of the situations the shadows look pretty good (usually I am in the dark with gun drawn woulda been nice if one of the guns had a torch on it)
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-03-04, 07:00 PM   #45
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Doom 3 pre-rendered "dynamic shadows" ?

I noticed the EXACT same thing Sazar did... I didnt think that it was accurate... Just the way the shadow seems to be "floating" As opposed to bending on the environment like I would expect... dunno if its correct or not, I just noticed it right away.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 07:02 PM   #46
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Doom 3 pre-rendered "dynamic shadows" ?

after what people have been saying and the evidence presented jakUP it would appear that the shadows may well be rendered accurately but the sharpness and intensity does not vary as expected in the real world thereby leading to an illusion of it being closer than it really is...

I just posted this thread coz I felt it was odd...

and I'm glad I'm not the only one who felt something strange with a few shadows...
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 07:04 PM   #47
Kamel
Hardware Mass Murderer
 
Kamel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,035
Send a message via ICQ to Kamel Send a message via AIM to Kamel Send a message via MSN to Kamel Send a message via Yahoo to Kamel Send a message via Skype™ to Kamel
Default Re: Doom 3 pre-rendered "dynamic shadows" ?

check in multiplayer, check in multiplayer, end the doubt, find some truth! i will play someone here in multi to figure it out if you like
__________________
hardware murdered so far: geforce 5900u, deceised: sat on it. geforce 6600gt deceised: improperly mounted heatsink. 3 asus a7n8x-e deluxe motherboards, deceised: unsure. mobile amd xp2600 processor, deceised: chipped core due to compusa heatsink. dfi lanparty ultra b, deceised: unsure, third memory bank went out. samsung cd burner 48x40x48, deceised: unsure, will only read pressed cd's very slowly. samsung TH552C dvd burner (dual layer), deceised: same as other samsung . 10gb seagate 5200rpm drive, deceised: tried fixing a pin that was pushed into the drive by inserting an ide cable upside down. 40gb maxtor drive, deceised: maxtor manufacturer. 80gb western digital, deceised: unnatural causes. swan xt10, deceised: brutal pre-meditated murder, even video taped (it wasn't y2k compliant). logitech mx510, deceised: death by electricution. ati remote wonder, deceised: death by electricution.
Kamel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 07:04 PM   #48
Nv40
Agent-Fx
 
Nv40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: everywhere
Posts: 2,216
Default Re: Doom 3 pre-rendered "dynamic shadows" ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeno
Cool . I think Doom's lighting may look a bit off to some people simply because we are not used to point lights in the absence of bounced lighting. One set of photos that shows a real world situation that is close to this idealization are shots from the moon landing.....the sun is almost a point light source and the only bounced light comes from the ground. Some of these pics look very Doom3-esque:

http://www.nasa.gov/missions/solarsy...leftovers.html

nice pictures..

anyone that says that softshadows are the "future" that hardedge shadows (stencil shadows) have no future.. show them this picture..



it clearly shows that real shadows are not limited to one way or another .they can be soft or hardedge(just like Doom3) or both ways in the same area ,just like the photo. Hardedge in the ground and "soft" behind the hill . notice the pitch black of the shadows. it all depends on the enviroment and how the light behaves there.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	61393main_ap-rover.jpg
Views:	314
Size:	69.3 KB
ID:	7308  
Nv40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM
Doom 3 BFG Edition will feature entire Doom series, seven new Doom 3 levels News Archived News Items 0 05-31-12 05:40 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.