Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-03-04, 05:04 PM   #1
nVidiaGuru
nvidias #1 fanboy!
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Waco Texas
Posts: 207
Send a message via AIM to nVidiaGuru Send a message via Yahoo to nVidiaGuru
Default Audio Issues with doom3

Ive been running doom now for a day and im getting a very annoying audio bug. The game always starts up fine but it never fails sooner or later i either get a static/crackling noise coming from the speakers or the audio cuts off completly.

im using the 4.27 nforce drivers using the soundstorm coax output with dolby 5.1. Carmack said overclocking might produce issues so i tried turning some of my settings down a bit but it didnt help

is anyone else experiencing this issue?
nVidiaGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-04, 08:49 AM   #2
AgentHeX_0007
:: license to code ::
 
AgentHeX_0007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 38
Default Re: Audio Issues with doom3

Same thing here, happenes every few mins. Im using dolby digital 5.1 with a coaxial cable. Im running nForce 4.44 audio driver. I have to go to the sound settings menu and switch surround sound off and then back on and repeat this everytime the sound dies.
__________________
BFG 6800GT OC @ 440/1215 w/Athlon Cooler & AS5
Athlon 2500 Barton @ 2.425Ghz, 220Mhz FSB, 1.75v || Gigabyte 3D Cooler w/AS5
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Bios 1013u || 1 Gig Corsair Twin-X 3200XL Pro @ 2-2-2-10-2.8v
LG MW228 LCD(22")
2x250Gig Maxtor MaxLine PlusII PATA|| 2x320Gig Maxtor DiamondMax 21 SATA 2|| Lite-ON SOHW832S
Lian-Li PC-V1000 Case || Akasa PaxPower 460W PSU || Coolermaster Musketeer 1
XP Pro SP2 || DX 9.0c || FW 6.14.11.6371 3DMark03 - 12880

^ 4 year old rig still going strong, used everyday for at least 6 hours
AgentHeX_0007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-04, 12:20 PM   #3
Nutty
Sittin in the Sun
 
Nutty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,835
Send a message via MSN to Nutty
Default Re: Audio Issues with doom3

Same here. Using latest nforce drivers, and optical output.

Apparently you can try turning the sound acceleration of your sound device right down, and it supposedly fixes it. I knocked it down 1 notch, no difference. Might see what happens lowering it right down.

Sounds like D3 was coded using DirectSound emulation, and never tested in a hardware accelerated situation. Which is odd. I dont think the problem is just with nforce audio either.
Nutty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-04, 12:35 PM   #4
jnd3
Sword Saint
 
jnd3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Alpharetta, GA USA
Posts: 465
Send a message via AIM to jnd3 Send a message via Yahoo to jnd3
Default Re: Audio Issues with doom3

I get the same thing on mine. Workaround is to pause the game, bring up the console, and type "s_restart" ... or bind an infrequently-used key to it in your autoexec.cfg file.
__________________
Desktop: Apple iMac 17" // Intel Core Duo 1.83 GHz // 1 GB PC2-5300 // ATI X1600 128 MB // 250 GB HDD // OS 10.4.10

Mobile: Apple PowerBook 12" // PowerPC G4 1.33 GHz // 1.25 GB PC2700 // GeForce FX 5200Go 64 MB // 60 GB // OS 10.4.10

Gaming: XBox 360 Premium // Samsung LNS2651D // Wireless Networking Adapter // SwordSaintJND3
jnd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-04, 08:15 PM   #5
solofortne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 14
Default Re: Audio Issues with doom3

I was having the exact same problem so I switched back to the 3.75 audio drivers and the sound works perfectly now, surround and all.
solofortne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-04, 09:14 AM   #6
Dr Keyzer
Ocicat Tamer
 
Dr Keyzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 11
Default Re: Audio Issues with doom3

Chances are your MB is equipped with a realtek audio codec. I experienced the same problems with Nforce platform drivers prior to 4.27 with my Abit NF7 MB (especially in Deus Ex: Invisible War). I was able to resolve the problem by installing Realteks driver.
__________________
"Starbucks has chosen very dark roasts to be their defining style. This is very smart for a large chain because darker roasts offer a stable recognizable flavor, carbon, which is easy to reproduce consistently on an espresso machine." (David Schomer)
Dr Keyzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-04, 11:41 AM   #7
solofortne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 14
Default Re: Audio Issues with doom3

Well I'm using the optical out into a home theatre system so wouldn't that bypass the realtek codec anyway?
solofortne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade from 290.10 to 295.49 on GeForce 8300 = no hdmi audio + overscan tbubel NVIDIA Linux 2 06-15-12 03:55 AM
Max Payne 3 patch makes Max skinnier News Archived News Items 0 06-07-12 06:50 AM
nForce Audio pergamon NVIDIA Linux 6 12-25-02 11:38 PM
Strange RedHat 7.3 issues with A7N266-C nforceuser NVIDIA Linux 8 09-27-02 03:16 PM
Is there a Microsoft patch for the refresh rate issues yet? Zarich NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 22 08-24-02 01:02 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.