Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-03-04, 06:20 PM   #1
Annihlist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 183
Default Doom 3 Sound problem

I just went a bought new 5.1 channel altec lansing speakers. I went and puchased doom 3 and the sound is crackling. I have a audigy 2 zs. Are there any fixes at this stage. It is so bad that it puts me off playing as it will ruin the experience.
__________________
Gigabyte K8N Pro - AMD 64 3400+ Clawhammer w/1mb cache @ 2.4ghz - Albatron 6800 ultra @ 442/1.23 - Sony DRU-700A - 200GB Western Digital 8mb cache - Creative Audigy 2 ZS - Mitsubishi Dimondplus 93sb - 1GB PC3200 3-3-8 generic ram at 220/2.9v(max O/C ) - OCZ 470W Power supply.
Annihlist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 06:29 PM   #2
nVidiaGuru
nvidias #1 fanboy!
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Waco Texas
Posts: 207
Send a message via AIM to nVidiaGuru Send a message via Yahoo to nVidiaGuru
Default Re: Doom 3 Sound problem

i got a pm from another member about this issue and this what he said:

Theres an official response from activision that says, goto sound properties in your windows settings, and turn the hardware acceleration on playback down 1 notch. I haven't tried it yet, so I dont know if this works. I'm wondering if this just affects directsound side, or nvidia's dolby encoding side as well.

he hasnt tried it and neither have i because im at work

give it a try and let us know
nVidiaGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 06:33 PM   #3
pray4hope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Default Re: Doom 3 Sound problem

OMG!This is unplayable, i have the same issue with Audigy ZS and 5.1. I have tried many things in creative control panel but always the same crashes during the game.
pray4hope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 06:42 PM   #4
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: Doom 3 Sound problem

I hear the occasional static but there's nothing that prevents me from enjoying the game. I have a hard time discerning if the sounds I hear are supposed to be there or not. It'll probably be fixed in a patch shortly.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 07:02 PM   #5
Kamel
Hardware Mass Murderer
 
Kamel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,035
Send a message via ICQ to Kamel Send a message via AIM to Kamel Send a message via MSN to Kamel Send a message via Yahoo to Kamel Send a message via Skype™ to Kamel
Default Re: Doom 3 Sound problem

i hear static from time to time, and occasionally the sound actually turns off completely. for me, the fix is easy (but it's still annoying to have to do it...), hit escape, go to the options, click on surround sound to turn it off then back on. don't even have to apply or anything, just hit escape and it's back to normal. i'm thinking about trying to make a script to fix this with hitting a single key.
__________________
hardware murdered so far: geforce 5900u, deceised: sat on it. geforce 6600gt deceised: improperly mounted heatsink. 3 asus a7n8x-e deluxe motherboards, deceised: unsure. mobile amd xp2600 processor, deceised: chipped core due to compusa heatsink. dfi lanparty ultra b, deceised: unsure, third memory bank went out. samsung cd burner 48x40x48, deceised: unsure, will only read pressed cd's very slowly. samsung TH552C dvd burner (dual layer), deceised: same as other samsung . 10gb seagate 5200rpm drive, deceised: tried fixing a pin that was pushed into the drive by inserting an ide cable upside down. 40gb maxtor drive, deceised: maxtor manufacturer. 80gb western digital, deceised: unnatural causes. swan xt10, deceised: brutal pre-meditated murder, even video taped (it wasn't y2k compliant). logitech mx510, deceised: death by electricution. ati remote wonder, deceised: death by electricution.
Kamel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 07:34 PM   #6
BrownHornet
HUBBA HUBBA HUBBA
 
BrownHornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 71
Default Re: Doom 3 Sound problem

Same Here. my post about its already on another page.

Ehh Err that my post is in the Doom section.
BrownHornet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 07:55 PM   #7
WeReWoLf
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,015
Send a message via MSN to WeReWoLf
Default Re: Doom 3 Sound problem

I used to get that when i had my homemade Surround sound setup. I was using a guitar amp as my subwoofer. In games like farcry and whatnot, the sub would get all crackly. It only works properly in Halo, COD and UT2004 (3d Audio, not EAX). Everything else would suck. Now i got my new Creative speakers, it's all good. I'm not using any soundcard, because the on-board 5.1 is good enough for me. especially since Doom 3 doesn't use soundcards to render the sound. It uses the CPU.
WeReWoLf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 08:05 PM   #8
BrownHornet
HUBBA HUBBA HUBBA
 
BrownHornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 71
Default Re: Doom 3 Sound problem

Just yanked my Zs im running off the onboard 5.1/6.1 C-Media and the sound is nice.

Oh yeah i got thi sideal from the guys at Planet Doom.
BrownHornet is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-03-04, 10:15 PM   #9
Annihlist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 183
Default Re: Doom 3 Sound problem

Well I solved my problem. Go to the creative site and download the new audigy 2 zs drivers and your problems should go away. Worked for me
__________________
Gigabyte K8N Pro - AMD 64 3400+ Clawhammer w/1mb cache @ 2.4ghz - Albatron 6800 ultra @ 442/1.23 - Sony DRU-700A - 200GB Western Digital 8mb cache - Creative Audigy 2 ZS - Mitsubishi Dimondplus 93sb - 1GB PC3200 3-3-8 generic ram at 220/2.9v(max O/C ) - OCZ 470W Power supply.
Annihlist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 11:45 PM   #10
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: Doom 3 Sound problem

New drivers didn't help in my case. I don't hear any static or crackling sound, but sometimes sound is cut off completely, no music, no SFX, no nothing.
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-04, 12:49 AM   #11
Omega53
 
Omega53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hurricane Alley AKA FLORIDA
Posts: 842
Default Re: Doom 3 Sound problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amuro
New drivers didn't help in my case. I don't hear any static or crackling sound, but sometimes sound is cut off completely, no music, no SFX, no nothing.
Same thing here
__________________
THERMALTAKE XASER VA8000BWS
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe NF4
[COLOR=Green]XFX|7800GTX[/COLOR] 256M @ [COLOR=Green]490/1300[/COLOR]
Venice 3000+ 64 @ [COLOR=Red]2.5ghz (278 FSB)[/COLOR]
1 GiG Cosair XMS 2.5-3-3-6 @ [COLOR=Blue]230Mhz[/COLOR]
19" Viewsonic G90f
[URL="http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm05=1275491"]8600 3D Mark 05[/URL]
Omega53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-04, 12:55 AM   #12
skypx
Dual Xeon
 
skypx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 315
Default Re: Doom 3 Sound problem

Yep. I'm having the same problem.
__________________
Evga E760|Intel Core i7 980X|Mushkin Enhanced Redline 6GB|Vertex 2 200GB|Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB x3|EVGA GTX 480 x2 SC+|LG BH08LS20|Sony BWU 300S|Pioneer DVR-215L|Logitech G9|Dell 3008WFP|Corsair Obsidian 800D|Corsair AX1200

M6500 Covet|i7-920XM|8GB PC1600|Vertex 2 200GB|Kingston SSDNow V+ 512GB|FX3800|RGBLED|Intel 5300|Windows 7 64bit
skypx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem connecting Pioneer VSX-S300 to Nvidia Ion - flat panel scaling solves it? wild_oscar NVIDIA Linux 3 06-17-12 07:18 AM
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM
Doom 3 BFG Edition will feature entire Doom series, seven new Doom 3 levels News Archived News Items 0 05-31-12 05:40 AM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-30-02 11:59 PM
nForce sound locking up system shroom NVIDIA Linux 4 09-16-02 01:50 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.