Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-04-04, 02:18 AM   #25
evilchris
 
evilchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,411
Default Re: why Doom3 its much faster than the pre-alpha?

..as far as FarCry effects, I took this screen while playing:

http://members.cox.net/steeda/shot00032.jpg

OOOooOOo there's your shiny stuff =) (what people to seem to drool over with FarCry). I think iD put some great effects in the game, of the caliber of FarCry.
__________________
[CENTER][SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
[/CENTER][B][CENTER]--Communist Party of America--[/CENTER][/B]
evilchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-04, 02:21 AM   #26
Skrot
The 5900XT that could.
 
Skrot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 402
Send a message via ICQ to Skrot
Default Re: why Doom3 its much faster than the pre-alpha?

Quote:
Originally Posted by steeda
Honestly, how often do you look at your player model while playing? I don't go around looking for mirrors personally...
Yeah, cause freaky **** happens when you look into mirrors.. hehe
Skrot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-04, 02:23 AM   #27
Viral
Registered User of Women
 
Viral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: why Doom3 its much faster than the pre-alpha?

I think this is an issue. Far Cry suffered from this a little too.. but that was to do with lowering the quality of things once they reach a certain distance.. unfortunately some of this happened at a very short distance and made it look ugly. I could fix up a heap of this with console commands and only lose 1-2fps. So why diddn't they offer the option in the menu?

It's the same with this.. the only difference is it is the actual detail on the models and that can't be changed with running a slightly slightly different values for viriables.
__________________
Q9550 w/ Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme | 4GB Team Xtreme Dark 800MHz CL4 | Gigabyte X48-DS5
ASUS Radeon 5870 | 240GB OCZ Vertex 2 | 1TB WD Green Power | BenQ V2400W 24" LCD
Corsair HX-1000w | LG GGW-H20L 6x DL Blu-Ray Burner/HD-DVD Reader | Coolermaster Cosmos S

Acer TravelMate 4002WNLCi: Pentium M 725 @ 1.6GHz | Mobility Radeon 9700/64MB | 2GB DDR400 | 15.4" WXGA
Viral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-04, 02:28 AM   #28
Nv40
Agent-Fx
 
Nv40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: everywhere
Posts: 2,216
Default Re: why Doom3 its much faster than the pre-alpha?

Quote:
Originally Posted by steeda
..as far as FarCry effects, I took this screen while playing:

http://members.cox.net/steeda/shot00032.jpg

OOOooOOo there's your shiny stuff =) (what people to seem to drool over with FarCry). I think iD put some great effects in the game, of the caliber of FarCry.
yep.. look very nice..

it just that my expectations were too high ,i was expecting graphics to make look the best of Farcry obsolete.. something like the last ultra detailed shots . hopefully the MOd community will move DOom3 to a new level thanks to the capabilities of the engine.
Nv40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-04, 02:29 AM   #29
evilchris
 
evilchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,411
Default Re: why Doom3 its much faster than the pre-alpha?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nv40
yep.. look very nice..

it just that i was expecting graphics to make look outdated Farcry..something like the last ultra detailed shots . hopefully the MOd community will move DOom3 to a new level thanks to the capabilities of the engine.
D3 and FarCry basically entered development around the same time. FarCry possibly a little later. I first saw CryEngine in 2000 with Dino Isle.
__________________
[CENTER][SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
[/CENTER][B][CENTER]--Communist Party of America--[/CENTER][/B]
evilchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-04, 03:02 AM   #30
gigapower
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 104
Send a message via AIM to gigapower
Default Re: why Doom3 its much faster than the pre-alpha?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WeReWoLf5900
only when highly enibreated. the most fun i had in the game was the training and the mission after it. After those missions, it became more of a chore than anything else.
I agree with you there.

Those pre-release screenshots posted are high res renders from the engine, you can take any game and compare their high res render shots to the actual game and you will see that the textures and other things are not as good looking.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.13Ghz | eVGA nForce 650i Ultra | 2GB DDR2-667 | XFX GeForce 7900GS | Antec P182 SE
gigapower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-04, 05:45 AM   #31
majortom
Done
 
majortom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: the evil empire
Posts: 328
Send a message via AIM to majortom
Default Re: why Doom3 its much faster than the pre-alpha?

i thought that id could have at least have had the option to include high poly models to bbe playable with the newwest hardware, instead of just changing the textures and some other almost unnoticeable eye candy. oh well, at least it still looks good.
__________________
- oh man, the water effects in source look amazing!
- really?
- yeah, i tried to touch it, and my hand got wet
- cool!
- oh wait, never mind. i just peed on myself


---------------------------------------------------------
Mein Comp!:
MSI 6380 kt266| XP 1700+| 512M PC3200 @ 266mhz | 80 gig | MSI radeon 9800 pro 128m (r360 core)| nec 2500a 8x single layer burn (dl hack)| thermaltake silentpower 420W PSU| POS generic case| Grado SR 60 headphones
majortom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-04, 09:30 AM   #32
Ninjaman09
Takin 'er easy
 
Ninjaman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jowjah
Posts: 6,687
Default Re: why Doom3 its much faster than the pre-alpha?

I'm not seeing any difference in the game and in the screenshots you posted, NV40. I'm not sure what game you're playing, but the one I'm playing uses low res textures VERY sparsely and the models look awesome. I wasn't aware that you expected it to be a third person shooter! I'll take some screenshots of the cutscenes when your character is shown so you can dry up your tears. I have a question though - have you actually played the game? It seems obvious that you haven't, but maybe you just need vision correction or something.
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.2 | ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 RAM
eVGA GTX 570 SC | Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX
Dell U2410
Ninjaman09 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-04-04, 09:53 AM   #33
kahloq
Registered User
 
kahloq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,256
Default Re: why Doom3 its much faster than the pre-alpha?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninjaman09
I'm not seeing any difference in the game and in the screenshots you posted, NV40. I'm not sure what game you're playing, but the one I'm playing uses low res textures VERY sparsely and the models look awesome. I wasn't aware that you expected it to be a third person shooter! I'll take some screenshots of the cutscenes when your character is shown so you can dry up your tears. I have a question though - have you actually played the game? It seems obvious that you haven't, but maybe you just need vision correction or something.

No offense man, but if you cant see the differences in the screenies he posted, I think you need vision correction. You say its obvious he hasnt played the game(Doom3). Unfortunetly for you, he stated several times, he's played both the Alpha and the retail game. What is apparent is your complete fanboyism of Doom3. But you know what? Thats ok. Enjoy the game but making blanket statements as....."maybe you just need vison correction" or "It seems obvious that you haven't"(played Doom3) are immature statements. Go back and look at the screens and look at the arms. The retail has NO arm hair and lackluster skin tones. The alpha screens and 2002/2003 screens show visible arm hair as well as detailed skin tones.

I agree it would have been nice to have the ULTRA high settings have those details. However, I do understand the need for ID to allow the game to run smoothly on more then just the latest gfx hardware.
__________________
SPECS:
Alienware
3.4 p4 /200FSB NO overclock
OCZ pc3500 performance 2 gig memory
OCZ 520 watt PSU
Asus p4c800deluxe-e motherboard
2 x 80g Sata HD's / 1 x 60g IDE / 1 x 40 g IDE
1 x DVD / 1 x lite on cdrw
7 case fans plus vantec dual fan pci card
BFG 6800 Ultra OC 456/1.28 Stock air
3.2P4(no OC)3dmark03 score :13570
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=3195131
3.2 p4 @3.472 217FSB 6800u@ 425/1.28 3Dmark03: 13738
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=3195221
WIFES PC: 3.2P4/BFG 6800GT/1 gig pc 3200
kahloq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-04, 09:54 AM   #34
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: why Doom3 its much faster than the pre-alpha?

You have a point Ninjaman, but tone it down a bit.

I'll be a furious fiery beast of a moderator if this thread turns into a flamefest.
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-04, 10:03 AM   #35
DivotMaker
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 823
Default Re: why Doom3 its much faster than the pre-alpha?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nv40
1. another and really surprising and disapointing discovery is that it looks that they lowered the polycounts by a significant ammount in some of the characters ,specially the marine ,probably to make the game compatible with older hardware..

2. it looks like Doom3 of "PC" have been adjusted its quality/performance in favor of the Xbox version to be more easily portable there.
1. For once *gasp* I actually agree with some of what you say here. Welcome to the world of PC game development and the compromises that developers MUST make in order for games to have any sort of decent ROI. Sadly, many PC game developers spend INCREDIBLE amounts of time testing backward hardware compatibilty/performance issues than actual gameplay/environment improvments. It is the very nature of the PC hardware scene that forces them to do this. I remember the recent poll taken regarding what graphics cards that users of HL were playing with. Therein lies your answer.

2. I do not see where the XBox version has much to do with the quality/performance of the PC version. However, there are some similarities between PC and XBox, but I am not sure if XBox is capable of running an OpenGL app. If so (please correct me if I am wrong), then id would have to code the game for D3D and that might be an issue.
DivotMaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-04, 10:10 AM   #36
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: why Doom3 its much faster than the pre-alpha?

XBox doesn't use OGL per-se... but the programmers can apparently access all OGL commands and functions on an XBox... hard to explain..


... Nutty!!!
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Faster ATI 9700 Coming? sbp Rumor Mill 38 10-03-02 02:22 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.