Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-04-04, 10:11 AM   #37
kahloq
Registered User
 
kahloq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,256
Default Re: why Doom3 its much faster than the pre-alpha?

Yeah like ragejg said. Xbox is using an nvidia graphics core, so I would assume that some opengl support has to be there.
__________________
SPECS:
Alienware
3.4 p4 /200FSB NO overclock
OCZ pc3500 performance 2 gig memory
OCZ 520 watt PSU
Asus p4c800deluxe-e motherboard
2 x 80g Sata HD's / 1 x 60g IDE / 1 x 40 g IDE
1 x DVD / 1 x lite on cdrw
7 case fans plus vantec dual fan pci card
BFG 6800 Ultra OC 456/1.28 Stock air
3.2P4(no OC)3dmark03 score :13570
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=3195131
3.2 p4 @3.472 217FSB 6800u@ 425/1.28 3Dmark03: 13738
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=3195221
WIFES PC: 3.2P4/BFG 6800GT/1 gig pc 3200
kahloq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-04, 11:12 AM   #38
Edge
3d animator for hire!
 
Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,564
Default Re: why Doom3 its much faster than the pre-alpha?

ID is not porting the game to the Xbox. That's being handled by Vicarious Visions. The only thing that's the same between the two versions of the game is the core technology, all the textures, levels, and models from the PC version are being edited for the Xbox version (to fit into it's 64 megs of RAM and to run smoothly on a 733mhz processor).

And yes, it's a little wierd the way the Xbox handles OpenGL commands, I'm not sure how Doom 3 for the Xbox uses it.
Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-04, 11:27 AM   #39
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: why Doom3 its much faster than the pre-alpha?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WeReWoLf5900
Maybe for once you guys can stop pissin about the quality of the textures and appreciate it for it's gameplay? As far as i'm concerned, it still looks f#cking brilliant and the gameplay is great.
out of curiosity WHAT gameplay?

other than the Half-Life redux elements throughout the game (from sound effects to spawn effects to elements of storyline to textures) what is there to do other than kill X number of monsters in Y area and proceed to Z.... repeat...

???

that doesnt mean I don't like mindless gore games like this but what is the bloody point?
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-04, 11:58 AM   #40
Pafet
GeForce 7900GT
 
Pafet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 430
Default Re: why Doom3 its much faster than the pre-alpha?

I think the model you see with the third person view command is not the same model you see in the mirror.
About the alpha version, it had all of the textures and sound files uncompressed, so basically it's like ultra setting.
Pafet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-04, 03:22 PM   #41
Nv40
Agent-Fx
 
Nv40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: everywhere
Posts: 2,216
Default Re: why Doom3 its much faster than the pre-alpha?

found something interesting..

but here is again for the people that dont see the diferences...

this is the retail game... looks nice..



this is the E3 trailer last year.. (polycounts higher.. just like the alpha)
here..notice the machine gun is 2x-3x times bigger and more detailed ,but also the hands .




the retail version is a lower poly version from the original game. even the textures are lowered.. notice the lack of hair in the arms..
plus the armour also have lower polys ,than previous versions of the game. albeit they improved the shinyness and colors in the armour.

however the Higher polyversion of the marine guy still exist in the game. just that is only used for cut scenes.. here is the missing guy w are looking for.



and this guy not only have higher quality graphics/polys and textures but also better body animations ,and did i say lots more polygons?
cutscenes are not avis ,they are all rendered in real time ,according to Idsoftware. means that the higher poly version of the characters still exist in the game. and if i remember that IdSoftware told that cutscenes will have higher poly versions of the game characters for performance reasons. now if someone manage to enable the higher poly versions of the main character to be used in the game. we will have a killer Mod.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Doom3_E3_2003b.jpg
Views:	199
Size:	91.2 KB
ID:	7326  Click image for larger version

Name:	retail5.jpg
Views:	219
Size:	86.4 KB
ID:	7327  Click image for larger version

Name:	retail_intermission.jpg
Views:	200
Size:	80.6 KB
ID:	7328  

Last edited by Nv40; 08-04-04 at 04:14 PM.
Nv40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-04, 03:38 PM   #42
anzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: why Doom3 its much faster than the pre-alpha?

Well NV40 is right about one thing, if the high poly models are already included then why not give an option to use them in-game?
anzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-04, 04:02 PM   #43
Nv40
Agent-Fx
 
Nv40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: everywhere
Posts: 2,216
Default Re: why Doom3 its much faster than the pre-alpha?

Quote:
Originally Posted by anzak
Well NV40 is right about one thing, if the high poly models are already included then why not give an option to use them in-game?
thats the million dollar question..
i can't think for a reason to not include the option for higher Polys characters in the game..(just like the option for Ultra quality for 500megs cards ) perhaps they were a bit cautious that the performance will be significantly lower. specially in the MUltiplayer game ,since every player will be using a character with 2-3xtimes higher detail. a good question to ask IDsoftware.. if they have plans to allow to use their custom models or if the MOd comunity will be able ot enable them. interestinly there are even more detailed characters in DOom3.. the source model of *every* single character/demon/zombie in the game can be as high as ~1million polys ,this is enough quality for a final fantasy CG movie .(the ones you can see in the game have ~4k)they can't be seen with the eyes ,but the Rendering engine see them ,and use their normalmaps and speculars and shadows as reference for the much lower version of the game .
Nv40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-04, 04:34 PM   #44
Intel17
Is not an Intel fanboi
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 1,368
Default Re: why Doom3 its much faster than the pre-alpha?

Nv40,
Doom 3 could not possibly have higher poly models and get an acceptable frame rate, even on a 6800, because stencil shadows are polygons as well. And every light source effectively doubles your polies.
Intel17 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-04-04, 04:43 PM   #45
anzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: why Doom3 its much faster than the pre-alpha?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Intel17
Nv40,
Doom 3 could not possibly have higher poly models and get an acceptable frame rate, even on a 6800, because stencil shadows are polygons as well. And every light source effectively doubles your polies.
Yes they could. If the game is playable at 1600x1200 with 2xAA and 8xAF in it's current state then yes it would be playable at lower resoultion like 1024x768 with higher poly models. I would much rather have higher res over high ploy models though.
anzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-04, 05:34 PM   #46
schuey74
GTX 280 (675/1458/2500)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 819
Default Re: why Doom3 its much faster than the pre-alpha?

I agree almost wholeheartingly with Nv40. There is absolutely no reason not to offer a higher polygon mode. It's absolutely pathetic that the game is already playable at it's max settings @ 16x12 w/ 4xAA. Having each mode (low, medium, high, & ultra) just correspond to what's being compressed and offer no other enhancements is just plain silly. Why oh why would anyone need any SLI setup for this game......to enable 8x AA?!
Overall the game is great, but the lack of higher polygon count models and higher rez textures is absolutely inexcusable. Someone with a $500 video card should not be seeing virtually the same thing as someone with a $100 one.
schuey74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-04, 05:37 PM   #47
schuey74
GTX 280 (675/1458/2500)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 819
Default Re: why Doom3 its much faster than the pre-alpha?

Quote:
Originally Posted by anzak
I would much rather have higher res over high ploy models though.
The problem is that this is a choice which should be given to the gamers, especially after leading us on with all these pics the past couple years which turned out to just be from the cutscenes.
schuey74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-04, 05:57 PM   #48
BlackSands
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: indiana
Posts: 47
Default Re: why Doom3 its much faster than the pre-alpha?

Nv40 is there a way where some one could make a mod to use the better models and textures?
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
BlackSands is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Faster ATI 9700 Coming? sbp Rumor Mill 38 10-03-02 02:22 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.