Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-05-04, 08:51 AM   #1
shawn163
6800 Ultra "GS"
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 38
Default Doom3 - Hang right after level load/reloading

Has anyone else had a problem with D3 hanging up after loading to the next level or dying and respawning??? The loading screen loads up, and you start to walk and about (2)secs into the map everything freezes. This last for apprex 30secs, but sometimes just locks up and freezes with no recovery. Somehow I blame the 6800U for this, I dont know why. EVERY OTHER game I played, plays 100% perfect. And while in a map D3 plays 100%, never crashed in game to date, just after map switch, or dieing and restarting last saved game....

All OC (Processor/vid card) was removed for troubleshooting with the same result. I tried card @ 400/1100 and samething. During regular doom3 gaming, I've had it run stable (during the actual game, not loading) @ 440/1230... So I'm not pushing the card too hard, and temps are all on the very low side across the board.

Any advise I'd appreciate it...Thanks
__________________
Asus P4C800-E Deluxe | Intel 3.2E Prescott | 2 Gig Corsair XMS Pro PC3200 RAM | Gainward 6800 Ultra "Golden Sample" | Dual 74gig Raptors RAID 0 | XP
shawn163 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-04, 09:40 AM   #2
Beukem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: Doom3 - Hang right after level load/reloading

Hi, I have (had) the same bad thing yesterday. I tried al over again, but got stuck when (re)loading a saved game. I decided to uninstall Doom 3, uninstall my video and sound drivers. After this I rebooted in safe mode (f8) en removed all (Creative, NVIDIA) driver parts with "driver cleaner".

NOTE: I also noticed that there where driver parts present from my old ATI Radeon card and removed them as well!!

Then I rebooted and installed the NVIDIA WHQL 61,76 drivers, the latest Creative drivers. Then I rebooted again and installed Doom 3. The I copied my save game in the Doom directory, set my screen resolution from 1152 x 864 to 1024 x 768 and disabled vertical sync. and started loading again.

The first load was a freeze (screen corruption). After that I rebooted en started Doom and loading the save game again. Then the level started quite normal. Then in mid-game I decided to reload the same level, and it started ok. Then I quit the game en run the game again en reloaded the save game again and the game started ok. I repeated this twice but the problem seems to be gone.

So far, I think the old ATI driver parts and/or the creative, nvidia driver combination where the problem.
maybe the resolution 1152 x 864 and vertical sync?

It could not be the power because I have an Antec True Power 550
It could not be the memory because I use Corsair Matched Pair XXL PC 3200 and tested them in mem86+
I used directx 9b

Heat maybe? My case has a temp 36C degrees and my video card does not exceed 75 degrees in gaming mode. When it is due to heat the videocard should be showing artifacts in mid-game. It runs fine in midgame!!!

Please if you try my ideas and send me an e-mail to tell me your experience?
m.vanrossum@chello.nl
Beukem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-04, 10:58 AM   #3
shawn163
6800 Ultra "GS"
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 38
Default Re: Doom3 - Hang right after level load/reloading

1) Problem is, is that my install is a FRESH XP Format. Its a brand new system, and the only programs that were installed are Farcry, Doom3. There's no way old video drivers could be causing this conflict, cuz there are no old drivers. I only installed the chipset drivers, 61.77 forceware, soundmax driver, nic driver, and monitor driver. All most current release.

2) Heat.. I really am doubtful. I ran the card stock speeds and it never even reaches 65c. Zero Artifacts! In fact if took 455/1240 to really get any artifacts to show up, and they only did when the flashlight was used in game. The processor says nice and cool around 45c-47c @ full game load.

3) Power, I have a Enermax 550 watt, 36amp, so I am confident the power is there.

4) Memory, maybe.... I have a matched pair of Crosair (1)gig PC3200 XXL Pro's...Which have the LED activity indicators. After the Doom3 load is complete and I start playing for 2secs or so, the hang begins. I see the memory activity STOP on the ram indicator LED's. The sound also stops. About 50% of the time the comp just stays frozen. Now, of those 50% that perm. freeze, I get screen corruption in about 50% of all HARD LOCKUPs. The other 50% of times gameplay resumes after 20-30 secs

Now the game has never frozen on me after the initial load, its only after I die and reload a saved game or restart where I died. In multiplayer, it locks up after map changes.
__________________
Asus P4C800-E Deluxe | Intel 3.2E Prescott | 2 Gig Corsair XMS Pro PC3200 RAM | Gainward 6800 Ultra "Golden Sample" | Dual 74gig Raptors RAID 0 | XP
shawn163 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-04, 11:08 AM   #4
shawn163
6800 Ultra "GS"
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 38
Default Re: Doom3 - Hang right after level load/reloading

Apologies to MODs, I did not see the special doom3 forum. Please move this thread.
__________________
Asus P4C800-E Deluxe | Intel 3.2E Prescott | 2 Gig Corsair XMS Pro PC3200 RAM | Gainward 6800 Ultra "Golden Sample" | Dual 74gig Raptors RAID 0 | XP
shawn163 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-04, 02:00 PM   #5
Slybri
Registered User
 
Slybri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 404
Default Re: Doom3 - Hang right after level load/reloading

Same deal here, man. At first I thought it was crashing so I would reset as soon as it froze. Last night I let it go and it unfroze itself after about 30sec or a minute. Never seen a game do that before..but Doom3 is a new beast alltogether.
I think it may have something to do with overclocking the CPU. Carmack warned us OC'ers that doom 3 doesn't like overclocked systems. I downclocked my 6800gt and it still froze up, so I think it's the CPu or the system memory...all those wacky textures and whatnot.
I really don't feel like downclocking my system just for one game, so I'll suffer the occasional freeze up. I just hope the games based on this engine don't have the same problem....
__________________
PC= E6750@3.4, 4 gig OCZ DDR2 Reaper, BFG GeForce 275 gtx oc, Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L, 120Gig Raptor drive, 22" Diamond Pro 2070sb CRT Z-5500 5.1 sound. Nvidia 3D Vision.
XBL Gamer Tag= Slybri007
Steam ID= Flank Sinatra

"Nice shot William Burroughs! You hold a gun like a guy who plays Riven!"
------ The Venture Bros.
Slybri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-04, 02:14 PM   #6
shawn163
6800 Ultra "GS"
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 38
Default Re: Doom3 - Hang right after level load/reloading

Worse thing is, I did downclock, but that didnt make any difference!
__________________
Asus P4C800-E Deluxe | Intel 3.2E Prescott | 2 Gig Corsair XMS Pro PC3200 RAM | Gainward 6800 Ultra "Golden Sample" | Dual 74gig Raptors RAID 0 | XP
shawn163 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-04, 03:38 PM   #7
St33l
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: Doom3 - Hang right after level load/reloading

I have the same problem now. I saved a game 2 days ago when i got REALLY scared, now when i finally felt i had the guts to go on, it just freezes and lags incredible. I tried to just stand still and let the computer stop working hard, but when i move it just goes down to 1-5 fps and finally stops. Sound is the only thing i hear. Could it be a Doom3 bug with loading saved games?

My system:

P4 3.2Ghz
Gainward 6800 Ultra
512MB Apacer 3200
Asus p4p800

I did assume it was memory problem, but since u guys also have the same problem, it might be something else.

Update: now i got artifacts also. I think it's the heat that does it, cause it's very warm here now, and my room temp is over 30 degrees Celsius. Ill try to bring down the heat later on and try again.

Last edited by St33l; 08-05-04 at 03:49 PM.
St33l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-04, 05:10 PM   #8
Beukem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: Doom3 - Hang right after level load/reloading

He shawn163, try this:

Set your 3d mode and 2 mode both to equal speeds. I set mine both to 425Mhz. Leave the memory clock to 1100

I read this advise in the forum of planetdoom.

Bye
Beukem
Beukem is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-05-04, 05:53 PM   #9
WeReWoLf
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,015
Send a message via MSN to WeReWoLf
Default Re: Doom3 - Hang right after level load/reloading

never play with your 2d clock speeds unless you like serious artifacting within windows itself... the 2d clock speeds are the maximum speeds that are selected to run with windows and playing with this makes all different things happen on screen. Trust me, i've done it. (accidently)
WeReWoLf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-04, 07:17 PM   #10
shawn163
6800 Ultra "GS"
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 38
Default Re: Doom3 - Hang right after level load/reloading

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beukem
He shawn163, try this:

Set your 3d mode and 2 mode both to equal speeds. I set mine both to 425Mhz. Leave the memory clock to 1100

I read this advise in the forum of planetdoom.

Bye
Beukem

That was one of my first troubleshoots, matching 2d/3d both to 400/1000.
__________________
Asus P4C800-E Deluxe | Intel 3.2E Prescott | 2 Gig Corsair XMS Pro PC3200 RAM | Gainward 6800 Ultra "Golden Sample" | Dual 74gig Raptors RAID 0 | XP
shawn163 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-04, 08:44 PM   #11
analogmaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 40
Default Re: Doom3 - Hang right after level load/reloading

i suffered the same probs but u can relieve most of the by modifiying a cute little file

try out my modded .cfg

it will boost your gfx a lot and the problem with the cache is disabled (the reason why you all suffer from those ****ty loadstuttering when opening doors or entering bigger areas. i also added the 3rd person vie (enable by pressing *p* ingame) and player shadows

it will give you a lot more power, better gfx and textures and reduces the loading and caching times a lot after all necessary data is written into your RAM....give it a time to let it write all data in the ram and then u will see that all those stuttering and reloading things will be reduced to a minimum and mostly not disturbing anymore. i am running a 6800U also and was pretty pissed when i saw all this stuttering but now i am fine and it rox nearly 99% of the time

main gfx optimizations are from a dood in another doom forum, i just modified the .cfg a bit more

plz note that u should have 1 gig ram, else u have to change sum parameters....

right mouse --> safe under...

additinal modded .cfg (incl. 3rd person view and playershadow)

remove the .jpg and backup your old .cfg from the base folder and overwrite it afterwards with this new one

if you have only 512mb ram plz open the .cfg in wordpad and change the following parameters as stated below:

seta image_cacheMegs "192"
seta image_cacheMinK "15360"
analogmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-04, 10:15 PM   #12
shawn163
6800 Ultra "GS"
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 38
Default Re: Doom3 - Hang right after level load/reloading

Neg, it made the map load ok the first time. Instead now I get a freeze when returning to the main menu.... I still blame the fing 6800U. Its like dating a porn star. It brings you great pleasure and enjoyment, but eventually it will start doing coke and leave you with chlamydia.....
__________________
Asus P4C800-E Deluxe | Intel 3.2E Prescott | 2 Gig Corsair XMS Pro PC3200 RAM | Gainward 6800 Ultra "Golden Sample" | Dual 74gig Raptors RAID 0 | XP
shawn163 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Groundwater responsible for nearly half of sea level rise? News Archived News Items 0 06-13-12 10:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.