Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-05-04, 11:15 PM   #13
kahloq
Registered User
 
kahloq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,256
Default Re: Doom3 - Hang right after level load/reloading

Well have you tried a different saved game location? It IS possible that the isntallation of the game got slightly corrupted even tho its a frsh XP install. I highly doubt its the 6800 U at all. It MIGHT hoever, be the drivers your using and has some sort or weird hanp up with ONE or more hardware pieces you've got. This can happen even if other games exibit no problems. I would suggest trying SEVERAL different driver versions as alot ppl report problems with oen set, even tho many others have zero issues. You might try 61.80 or 62.20 to name a few. Many ppl that have had problems tried other drivers and the problem goes away. Best to do a driver clean before each change of driver to make sure.
__________________
SPECS:
Alienware
3.4 p4 /200FSB NO overclock
OCZ pc3500 performance 2 gig memory
OCZ 520 watt PSU
Asus p4c800deluxe-e motherboard
2 x 80g Sata HD's / 1 x 60g IDE / 1 x 40 g IDE
1 x DVD / 1 x lite on cdrw
7 case fans plus vantec dual fan pci card
BFG 6800 Ultra OC 456/1.28 Stock air
3.2P4(no OC)3dmark03 score :13570
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=3195131
3.2 p4 @3.472 217FSB 6800u@ 425/1.28 3Dmark03: 13738
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=3195221
WIFES PC: 3.2P4/BFG 6800GT/1 gig pc 3200
kahloq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-04, 03:13 PM   #14
shawn163
6800 Ultra "GS"
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 38
Default Re: Doom3 - Hang right after level load/reloading

Quote:
Originally Posted by kahloq
It IS possible that the isntallation of the game got slightly corrupted even tho its a frsh XP install. I highly doubt its the 6800 U at all. It MIGHT hoever, be the drivers your using and has some sort or weird hanp up with ONE or more hardware pieces you've got. This can happen even if other games exibit no problems. I would suggest trying SEVERAL different driver versions as alot ppl report problems with oen set, even tho many others have zero issues. You might try 61.80 or 62.20 to name a few. Many ppl that have had problems tried other drivers and the problem goes away. Best to do a driver clean before each change of driver to make sure.
I didnt even know those Beta drivers existed. Thanks thats exactly what I would like to do next.

Also I will try reinstalling Doom, as a precaution.
__________________
Asus P4C800-E Deluxe | Intel 3.2E Prescott | 2 Gig Corsair XMS Pro PC3200 RAM | Gainward 6800 Ultra "Golden Sample" | Dual 74gig Raptors RAID 0 | XP
shawn163 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-04, 03:14 PM   #15
shawn163
6800 Ultra "GS"
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 38
Default Re: Doom3 - Hang right after level load/reloading

Quote:
Originally Posted by kahloq
Well have you tried a different saved game location? .

Ya, it happens with Every saved game, Every map change, and multiplayer map change.
__________________
Asus P4C800-E Deluxe | Intel 3.2E Prescott | 2 Gig Corsair XMS Pro PC3200 RAM | Gainward 6800 Ultra "Golden Sample" | Dual 74gig Raptors RAID 0 | XP
shawn163 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-04, 03:28 PM   #16
oOV1rU5|NV35Oo
U mean nothin'. you know
 
oOV1rU5|NV35Oo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 32
Default Re: Doom3 - Hang right after level load/reloading

Exact same problem here.. analogmaster, thx for the file and the effort, but that didn't work for me.. Any solutions??? >
__________________



Stop PMing me about my Avatar Damit....
oOV1rU5|NV35Oo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-04, 05:30 PM   #17
baller99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8
Default Re: Doom3 - Hang right after level load/reloading

latez
baller99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-04, 06:19 PM   #18
oOV1rU5|NV35Oo
U mean nothin'. you know
 
oOV1rU5|NV35Oo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 32
Default Re: Doom3 - Hang right after level load/reloading

Can't it be the powersupply?? I have 530W PSU, but it is hooked to like 9 fans, 3 lights, 3 HD's 2 CD drives and the motherboard..is it b/c I do'nt have enough power??
__________________



Stop PMing me about my Avatar Damit....
oOV1rU5|NV35Oo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-04, 11:13 PM   #19
oOV1rU5|NV35Oo
U mean nothin'. you know
 
oOV1rU5|NV35Oo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 32
Default Re: Doom3 - Hang right after level load/reloading

HERE IS THE FIX GUYS : GO TO THIS THREAD AND READ jAKUp POSTS:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...7&page=1&pp=15



IT Seems that you have to flash ur video card with rev 2 bios which will fix the doom3 issues. I had all the problems exactly like you and now there r all gone..


__________________



Stop PMing me about my Avatar Damit....
oOV1rU5|NV35Oo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-04, 09:06 AM   #20
shawn163
6800 Ultra "GS"
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 38
Default Re: Doom3 - Hang right after level load/reloading

You got it, I flashed the card (3) days ago and ALL my problems are gone! System runs 100%
__________________
Asus P4C800-E Deluxe | Intel 3.2E Prescott | 2 Gig Corsair XMS Pro PC3200 RAM | Gainward 6800 Ultra "Golden Sample" | Dual 74gig Raptors RAID 0 | XP
shawn163 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-10-04, 11:55 AM   #21
remymarten
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 51
Default Re: Doom3 - Hang right after level load/reloading

I had frezzing and terible artifacts until I clocked my 5900xt back much closer to its factory pre sets. After that I was able to bump the game up to 1024x768 and high detail, and it now runs great. This is the first game that needed a clock down for me.
remymarten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-04, 08:14 AM   #22
shawn163
6800 Ultra "GS"
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 38
Default Re: Doom3 - Hang right after level load/reloading

I was able to OC the card to 440/1260 and played for 5+hours completely stable. I love it!
__________________
Asus P4C800-E Deluxe | Intel 3.2E Prescott | 2 Gig Corsair XMS Pro PC3200 RAM | Gainward 6800 Ultra "Golden Sample" | Dual 74gig Raptors RAID 0 | XP
shawn163 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Groundwater responsible for nearly half of sea level rise? News Archived News Items 0 06-13-12 10:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.