Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-05-04, 03:44 PM   #1
-=pat=-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default 6800 ultra freeze

Hi
I bought a gainward 6800ultra and installed the NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-6111 driver.
When i start a game like et or quake 3 the xserver frezees sometimes.
I saw only a black screen and couldnt do anything.(Strg+Alt+F1,2,3...)
The system has worked fine with a ti4400.

Debian Sid, Linux 2.6.7, 475W powerpack

Dont know if its the right log file .
(Sorry for my bad english )
Attached Files
File Type: txt XF86Config-4.txt (14.8 KB, 248 views)
File Type: txt XFree86.0.log.txt (28.4 KB, 209 views)
-=pat=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-04, 05:28 AM   #2
-=pat=-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: 6800 ultra freeze

And when the game ist running (ET) and I press Strg+Alt+F2 and Strg+Alt+F7 the screen turn black and I cant do anything.
-=pat=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-04, 11:37 AM   #3
tgnb
Registered User
 
tgnb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 19
Default Re: 6800 ultra freeze

I have the same problem with my 6800. I documented the problems in-depth in an earlier thread. The new drivers have not helped!

Under windows its slightly more stable but the same thing happens on occasion.

Under Linux this card is pretty much useless in 3d for me.
tgnb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-04, 05:22 PM   #4
thomas21
Registered User
 
thomas21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 35
Default Re: 6800 ultra freeze

Quote:
Originally Posted by -=pat=-
Hi
I bought a gainward 6800ultra and installed the NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-6111 driver.
When i start a game like et or quake 3 the xserver frezees sometimes.
I saw only a black screen and couldnt do anything.(Strg+Alt+F1,2,3...)
The system has worked fine with a ti4400.

Debian Sid, Linux 2.6.7, 475W powerpack

Dont know if its the right log file .
(Sorry for my bad english )
Hi =pat=,

I did scan your XF86Config file
Can you try disabling the line:
Load "dri"
Change it to something like: #Load "dri"
and test if it's more stable.
Maybe this also explains the following line I don't like in your X11 log:
ymbol __glXActiveScreens from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libdri.a is unresolved!

Good luck, and hey, .. is it fast this 6800
thomas21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-04, 08:34 AM   #5
holoman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 33
Default Re: 6800 ultra freeze

I can only agree with tgnb, the 6800 U card is pretty much useless in Linux as the drivers are today. OpenGL apps crashes the entire box frequently.

Regards,

holoman
holoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-04, 07:07 AM   #6
-=pat=-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: 6800 ultra freeze

THX for your answers.
I have tested a lot but nothing works
Now I have given the 6800u back and will buy a 5950u.
-=pat=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-04, 12:29 PM   #7
bms20
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 46
Default Re: 6800 ultra freeze

GOT IT!

After much dispare, (and a few lockups on Doom3 running XP) I had a look in the other forums for 6800 ultra problems. It seems that many people are having problems from many different card providers.

HOWEVER, many of the board vendors have issued flash-rom updates for their cards, my POV 6800U was one of them. After flashing the card bios my machine is stable under both linux and windows. This makes my machine usable now w/6800U. Furthermore, many graphics errors that were visible in Doom3 and other games have now vanished.

So, if you're having problems, look at the overclockers forum: http://forums.overclockers.co.uk under graphics. There are a lot of details there for sorting your GF6800U out.

I hope this helps!
bms20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-04, 05:03 AM   #8
holoman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 33
Default Re: 6800 ultra freeze

Thanks, that helped!

Newest BIOS and suddenly very stable. No crashes yet...

Regards,

holoman
holoman is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-16-04, 07:53 AM   #9
bms20
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 46
Default Re: 6800 ultra freeze

Holoman,

Can you shut your computer down correctly? I'm still having some problems, which I think are driver/bios related:

1) If I use Point of View's overclocked 425MHz bios, I get random "!" characters written to the screen in text mode!!! Yes, text mode! But the machine stays up.

2) If I use NVidia's reference 400MHz bios (version ending with .15) I get no random "!" on the text mode screen.

3) Using either bios, I cannot shut down my computer - the machine hangs when killing the X server. (If I set the machine to run in init level 3, I can exit X safely and reboot, but sometimes I get random lockups after the reset line is thrown...)

4) If I run konqueror and move the mouse over the http:// bar, on about 1 out of every 30 times the down box icon (on the left of the http bar) gets rendered incorrectly.

I suspect that there are still some unstable timing problems with the card, and/or my card is defective, and somehow passed QC.

-Brett
bms20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-04, 09:30 AM   #10
holoman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 33
Default Re: 6800 ultra freeze

Quote:
Originally Posted by bms20
Holoman,

Can you shut your computer down correctly? I'm still having some problems, which I think are driver/bios related:



I suspect that there are still some unstable timing problems with the card, and/or my card is defective, and somehow passed QC.

-Brett
Hi!

I did do a shutdown after running OpenGL application heavily for a long time. That failed.

I then tried to do a shutdown just after starting X after reboot and that worked fine.

I have not had the time to try several times, but will post an update to this when I do reboots in the future.

Regards,

holoman
holoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-04, 10:08 AM   #11
bms20
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 46
Default Re: 6800 ultra freeze

That's promising.

Looks like we're getting similar behavior; and I'm guessing that the behavior is due to the driver now, and not so much the hardware.

Now the waiting for a stable driver/bios begins...

I'll see if I can get more details out of the driver by running in debug mode tonight...

-Brett
bms20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-04, 01:38 PM   #12
tgnb
Registered User
 
tgnb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 19
Default Re: 6800 ultra freeze

I have an RMA # from PNY and will be sending it back this week. If i have the same problems with the new card I will flash its bios. Thats if the replacement card has the same old version.
tgnb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
302.17 and total PC freeze on 7600GT Milos_SD NVIDIA Linux 8 07-14-12 01:56 PM
$944.99 - CyberpowerPC Gamer Ultra 2103 Desktop PC AMD FX-Series FX-8150(3.6GHz) 16GB News GeForce GTX 570 0 05-25-12 11:50 PM
Why in Spider-Man The Movie PC Game only some levels i go to will freeze? imtim83 Gaming Central 5 10-03-02 09:21 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.