Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-29-02, 06:57 AM   #1
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Does anyone still use 98SE

Or am I the only one left? I'll be moving up to XP with my next rig, though, but I'm too lazy to reformat this one.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-02, 07:08 AM   #2
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

EEEEEEWWWWWWWW 98 :@

No! I use XP
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-02, 07:17 AM   #3
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

You wanna talk 98SE? Talk to digitalwanderer - all his PC's use it.

Me, I wouldn't touch it again, especially since I can get all my old 95/98 games to run on XP.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-02, 07:59 AM   #4
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default "stuck" to 98SE for the good reasons

Some poor folk only have enough $ for system componentry, and not an OS... That's me.

I still use 98SE. Matter of fact, I used 98 FE till Jan. 2002. If you cut your teeth on DOS and "standard mode" Win 3.1, then the instabilities are deal-with-able...

I think it's a great gaming platform, but don't have much else to say about it in other respects. I have as many updates as possible installed on it; Office 2000 works fine; games run great; and I understand all it's errors.

I shyed away from XP last year cuz of driver support... now that that's all ironed out, I may be looking for XP Pro... but would still use 98SE with no problem if I had to... 3 of my friends locally still swear by it (at least on some of their machines...)

98 has some sort of 512mbRAM and above issue tho, and that scares me... Saturnotaku, might you explain? I'll post a thread about it...
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-02, 12:17 PM   #5
jnd3
Sword Saint
 
jnd3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Alpharetta, GA USA
Posts: 465
Send a message via AIM to jnd3 Send a message via Yahoo to jnd3
Default

I was running 98SE until I got a cable modem. Before that it was a standalone system (just a modem connection), and it was all kinds of stable. But after I installed networking the thing would crash about every 15 minutes. I suppose I should have done a clean install with the new network topology. Oh, well. I've been quite happy with 2000 since then (even got about a 5% performance boost in most games just with the OS upgrade).

Cheers,
JND
jnd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-02, 02:06 PM   #6
fishlung
"Steempy, you nVeediot!"
 
fishlung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 100
Default

I have a Dell Dimension system that won't run anything except for the WIN98SE OS that it came with. I've tried and tried, but nothing else will work. I gave it to my girlfriend a long time ago.
fishlung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-02, 09:35 PM   #7
mr_oh_so_ice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 50
Default

For my Athlon 750 MHz, 98/98SE were plenty fast for games, and even today, they still outpace Windows XP for me, yeah I got 512 MB RAM, I should set up that dual boot again..............
mr_oh_so_ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-02, 10:41 PM   #8
zsynth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 107
Default

I still use it cause I know it well, It may take me many hours of tweaking if I have to reinstall, but I paid for it twice, (once with a comp package, and once when I started building my own machines). I refuse to line billy's pockets anymore.
It's very stable when tweaked "properly".

AbitKR7A133-raid XP2100
Antec412 PSU Win98se
768megs PC2100(micron) (256meg ram drive)
(4) 40gig Maxtor's ATA 133
Leadtek TI4400
TB Santa Cruz
Hauppauge TV card
D-link NIC
zsynth is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-30-02, 07:25 AM   #9
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default

Cool, I'm glad I'm not alone. I installed XP Pro my friend's system and my brother's, and I'll probably either go with that next or put it on with a 98SE dual boot. Its much easier on my system's resources than 98SE is.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-02, 12:58 AM   #10
sbp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MD
Posts: 366
Default

"Does anyone still use 98SE"

sbp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-02, 07:12 AM   #11
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

My parents are still going to use it. But that's only because their machine is a POS K6-2 350 and wouldn't be able to run anything else. And of course Dad doesn't want to buy a new machine. And why would he? All my parents use the computer for is web surfing, e-mail and word processing/spreadsheet.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-02, 11:25 AM   #12
Klaus-P
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 134
Default

I'm btw also still using win 3.11 and have no problems, old TV card, lan, etc,...etc.
But an old longshine lan card under win98SE cannot be recognized, no drivers, and the manufacturer also has no drivers available.
Klaus-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 09:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.