Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-01-02, 08:48 PM   #13
mr_oh_so_ice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 50
Default

Yes in dual boot scenario.
mr_oh_so_ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-02, 01:48 AM   #14
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: "stuck" to 98SE for the good reasons

Quote:
Originally posted by ragejg
98 has some sort of 512mbRAM and above issue tho, and that scares me... Saturnotaku, might you explain? I'll post a thread about it...
poor memory management.

i'm thinking long and hard about moving up to XP next time i reformat as well. FAT32 just doesn't cut it it goes painfully slow if your don't defrag often.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-02, 06:54 PM   #15
bigC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 432
Send a message via MSN to bigC
Default

i just switched from 98SE to XP. still not sold on XP, but i'll give it a try for awhile
bigC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-02, 12:43 PM   #16
ALobpreis
 
ALobpreis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ramos
Posts: 416
Default

Here, Win98 first edition, 21 months since installation and still running perfectly....
ALobpreis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-02, 05:42 PM   #17
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

21 months? HAHA! Pittance compared to my parents' install of 98 first. It's going on about 38-39 months now. However, that will come to an end in a couple weeks when I completely format and install 98SE on it.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-02, 08:17 PM   #18
ALobpreis
 
ALobpreis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ramos
Posts: 416
Default

Well, my system has 21 months, so I couldn't have the SO installed more time!
But in my older computer.... yeah! P233MMX 64Mb. It had 98 for nearly 3.5 years, until this past March I ran out of patience an reinstalled it. Much better now! It was running too slow...
ALobpreis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-02, 07:19 AM   #19
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default

My install runs perfectly fine after regular defrags and its been on there for 2 1/2 years.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-02, 08:22 PM   #20
320mb
refugee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by zsynth
I still use it cause I know it well, It may take me many hours of tweaking if I have to reinstall, but I paid for it twice, (once with a comp package, and once when I started building my own machines). I refuse to line billy's pockets anymore.
It's very stable when tweaked "properly".
Yep, I have a script called IE.off, it deletes the web integration from the desktop, saves 12% of system resources, and the system is less buggy and NOT as crash prone. If one were to tweak and twang the Registry just right,98se will run without problems!! ;-) ps...I ran 3 98se boxes for 8 months 24/7 without a crash, I was crunching data for Seti@home. ran up 1700 units before I got bored with it. made regular back ups and defrags but no crashes....(shock/horror) One just has to know how to tweak the Registry.
320mb is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-05-02, 07:09 AM   #21
mr_oh_so_ice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 50
Default

Pfft, I have a Pentium 166 MMX around here, its been running Windows 95 original release since I got in 1997. That is 4 years and still going. Though no one uses it as much anymore
mr_oh_so_ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-02, 07:10 AM   #22
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

Tweaking it right still doesn't give you the performance of XP and believe me I know how to tweak.

Quote:
Originally posted by 320mb
Yep, I have a script called IE.off, it deletes the web integration from the desktop, saves 12% of system resources, and the system is less buggy and NOT as crash prone. If one were to tweak and twang the Registry just right,98se will run without problems!! ;-) ps...I ran 3 98se boxes for 8 months 24/7 without a crash, I was crunching data for Seti@home. ran up 1700 units before I got bored with it. made regular back ups and defrags but no crashes....(shock/horror) One just has to know how to tweak the Registry.
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-02, 11:54 AM   #23
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 320mb
Yep, I have a script called IE.off, it deletes the web integration from the desktop, saves 12% of system resources, and the system is less buggy and NOT as crash prone. If one were to tweak and twang the Registry just right,98se will run without problems!! ;-) ps...I ran 3 98se boxes for 8 months 24/7 without a crash, I was crunching data for Seti@home. ran up 1700 units before I got bored with it. made regular back ups and defrags but no crashes....(shock/horror) One just has to know how to tweak the Registry.
What kind of changes does this make to the appearance of 98SE?
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-02, 12:07 PM   #24
ALobpreis
 
ALobpreis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ramos
Posts: 416
Default

Here it is.
ALobpreis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 09:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.