Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-30-02, 06:52 AM   #13
Klaus-P
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 134
Default

Hmm, now it seem you've also installed the alsa driver package on that
machine. Available at www.alsa-project.org

If that's the case you may run "alsa.conf". With a bit luck
it can automatically recognize your sound device and then also configure
all the rest of config and driver stuff. But keep in mind that not all
alsa drivers are supporting full duplex running. This means those which can
only do a half-duplex do not support a 'simultaneous' audio recording and
playback.
Klaus-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-02, 10:05 PM   #14
halibut007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2
Default

I am having the same problem. No audio on a K7n420 Pro board. I am compiling from tar and also src.rpm. tried them both. I get the unresolved symbol for ac97 also.

In gnome I can open the sound card detection program and it lists nforce audio i810_audio twice.

Any help is appreciated.
halibut007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-02, 07:49 AM   #15
okdokay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 9
Default i got it to work with....

/sbin/modprobe i810_audio
hope it helps
Joe
okdokay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-02, 07:50 AM   #16
okdokay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 9
Default however...

I have not got the sound working for my soldier of fortune game yet.
okdokay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-02, 09:11 AM   #17
FluoDude
Geforce 4200
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Kessel-Lo/Belgium
Posts: 21
Default Other soundchip same result

I have a MSI KT333 Ultra with (I think) a via vt8233a southbridge what includes Realtek
ALC650 sound.
I just installed Redhat 8 and got my geforce 4 working with twinview, my last problem is this sound thing, when I use the audiodetection tool it detect the vt8233 but no sound , in no aplication , also not possible to start mixer

Everything looks right , but, no sound, .... ???
FluoDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-02, 10:21 AM   #18
Klaus-P
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 134
Default

Hmm well, according to my soundcard list, VT8233, VIA can be run
with the ALSA driver "VIA VT 8233 (South Bridge)". The driver (source) is contained in the package
"alsa-driver-0.9.0rc3.tar.bz2" available from ALSA or probably even on your redhat CDs and
hopefully even precompiled for your system. Install if possible the pre-compiled version of
the ALSA package and then run "alsa.conf" as root.

Last edited by Klaus-P; 11-08-02 at 10:32 AM.
Klaus-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-02, 10:52 AM   #19
FluoDude
Geforce 4200
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Kessel-Lo/Belgium
Posts: 21
Default alsa okay ..... ?

I've already heared from it and downloaded the driver package, but in the readme it told about make , compiling and stuf , I tried but the make part didn't work, I'd realy prefere rpm's but and since you wrote about such precompiled stuff, .... I just don't know where to find them..

please help .

thx FluoDude
FluoDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-02, 12:09 PM   #20
Klaus-P
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 134
Default

Unfortunately i've not Redhat, but i think most of the linux distributions have a installation and
package configuration tool, for searching cards, basic network config, install and uninstall packages
and so forth. I've just checked my alsa.rpm package on suse 8.0, sorry my fault, alsaconf is a suse script
does not belong to alsa. Nevertheless Redhat will probably have something similar for the user, i guess.

Did you have consulted your Redhat handbook about sound configuration? There you should find the name of the
appropriate package or packages.

As for compiling ALSA package. Hm yes this would be the most appropriate methode. But then it
is necessary to check a lot of stuff about your linux kernel configuration, installed kernel sources, header files, compiler
package and version numbers and so on.
Klaus-P is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-08-02, 01:28 PM   #21
FluoDude
Geforce 4200
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Kessel-Lo/Belgium
Posts: 21
Default alsa sound oke

I followed the verry nice instruction found on the alsa website , I just did'nt find them before, you have to go to the available soundcarts and the in the list click on them.

I'm now listening to Our House from Madness

Thx a lot Nvidia guys
FluoDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-02, 10:24 PM   #22
k0fcc
Joey Stanford
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to k0fcc Send a message via AIM to k0fcc Send a message via Yahoo to k0fcc
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by halibut007
I am having the same problem. No audio on a K7n420 Pro board. I am compiling from tar and also src.rpm. tried them both. I get the unresolved symbol for ac97 also.

In gnome I can open the sound card detection program and it lists nforce audio i810_audio twice.

Any help is appreciated.
I'm having this exact problem. No ALSA on my machine either. I've also used the standard RPMS to no avail. I am on the updated 2.4.18-17.8.0 kernel.
When I run modprobe i810_Audio my machine locks and I get acquainted with the reset button.

Bummer.

Everything is correct as far as the documentation and setup goes. I just get no sound. Of Course, this happened to me with RH7.3 and I wrote the FAQ on how to fix it. :-) I seem to recall that we were using NVAUDIO because there was an IRQ issue with i810_audio....hmm...gonna go check to see what my bios irq setting is for my sound card. :-)

Last edited by k0fcc; 11-12-02 at 10:30 PM.
k0fcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-02, 11:28 PM   #23
k0fcc
Joey Stanford
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to k0fcc Send a message via AIM to k0fcc Send a message via Yahoo to k0fcc
Default

IRQ looks ok but I'm getting a "spurious interrupt IRQ 7" during boot (and IRQs 5,10. & 11 are the NFORCE sound card). Grrr

Last edited by k0fcc; 11-12-02 at 11:39 PM.
k0fcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-02, 06:56 PM   #24
k0fcc
Joey Stanford
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to k0fcc Send a message via AIM to k0fcc Send a message via Yahoo to k0fcc
Default

Well, I did the nasty.. I wiped my entire hard disk and reinstalled from scratch.

Guess what. Same problem. :-( (fixed a few other things though)

/sbin/modprobe i810_audio locks my system hard.

Grrrrrr
k0fcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nForce + RedHat 7.3 Success Story rtz NVIDIA Linux 47 02-15-03 03:20 AM
redhat 8 nforce network success cd21 NVIDIA Linux 2 10-07-02 09:48 PM
Nforce audio & linux nichos NVIDIA Linux 1 10-05-02 05:16 AM
nforce & redhat 8.0 incin NVIDIA Linux 3 10-03-02 02:10 PM
Bohooo HELP, new Nforce 1.13 Audio Utilities won INITIALIZE nanyangview CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 1 09-04-02 08:40 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.