Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-08-04, 01:08 PM   #1
MillTek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 10
Default How to set refresh rate

Hi,
On a Debian distro of Linux I have a PNY FX5200 dual head video card. I run two Viewsonic monitors. They aren't the same model (GS790- and PF790) and at the size I use, 1280x1024 a good refresh rate would be 90Hz. The system always sets it to 85Hz and I would like to alter that. Is therere a way to set the Vert refresh rate used?? I'm running 6106 Nvidia drivers by the way.

I'll post extracts from my config files if needed.

Thanks

Jim
MillTek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-04, 07:37 PM   #2
how
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 142
Default Re: How to set refresh rate

Quote:
Originally Posted by MillTek
Hi,
On a Debian distro of Linux I have a PNY FX5200 dual head video card. I run two Viewsonic monitors. They aren't the same model (GS790- and PF790) and at the size I use, 1280x1024 a good refresh rate would be 90Hz. The system always sets it to 85Hz and I would like to alter that. Is therere a way to set the Vert refresh rate used?? I'm running 6106 Nvidia drivers by the way.

I'll post extracts from my config files if needed.

Thanks

Jim
First is your monitor 19" and support 1280x1024@90Hz? I don't know what your models are.

The Xserver video driver always sets to 85Hz for 1280x1024 because it is the standard VESA modes. It gets it from the monitor. If you want non-standard modes then you need to specify modelines in your XF86Config or xorg.conf. There are couple of modeline caculators on the web and here is one http://www.dkfz-heidelberg.de/spec/linux/modeline/
I just recently used it and i get 90Hz!
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-04, 09:55 PM   #3
MillTek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 10
Default Re: How to set refresh rate

Thanks . I'll try the calculator. My monitors do support the size by the way.


Jim
MillTek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-04, 03:47 AM   #4
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: How to set refresh rate

Really higher doesn't have to improve image quality at all, getting away from its optimal frequency (85Hz useally) even decreases quality a bit. Further you don't see the difference between 85Hz and 90Hz.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-04, 08:23 AM   #5
MillTek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 10
Default Re: How to set refresh rate

The only reason I'm trying to get 90Hz to work is that the specs for both monitors state that 90Hz is best for 1280x 1024. No other reason. I just want to run them at their design specs.

Jim

Last edited by MillTek; 08-09-04 at 09:53 AM.
MillTek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-30-02 11:59 PM
New 40.41 refresh rate fix ???? Smokey NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 8 08-30-02 01:32 PM
Refresh rate fix for opengl? Zarich NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 1 08-29-02 02:47 PM
Refresh rate not fixed in SP3 Creole Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 2 08-03-02 11:32 AM
Multi monitor refresh rate problem ascully General Hardware 6 07-31-02 02:56 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.