Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-05-04, 09:40 PM   #1
can|s|_ycan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12
Default BSOD with 6111

Had my hopes that this would fix the black screen of death. Ixnay on the fixeday. Maybe I should take up a new hobby, like drinking bleach. At least that would make for a more interesting day then staring at a blank screen while my cpu's are being raped by X.

If anybody has had success...please post.

SuSE 9.1 64
246 Opterons
GeForceFX 5700
2.6.5-7.104-smp
Tyan Tiger K8W (S2875)

no EE's and just font related WW's in log...everything appears as though it should be fine.
agpgart is built into the kernel
Using NvAGP 0 or 1 diasbles agp but makes things work, except gaming/watching movies is not practicle without agp bandwidth.
NvAGP 2 or 3 will cause BSOD

Last edited by can|s|_ycan; 08-05-04 at 09:53 PM.
can|s|_ycan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-04, 10:44 PM   #2
elektronisch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 76
Default Re: BSOD with 6111

Bump, nvidia please fix the stability issue its been addressed on this forum plenty of times..
elektronisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-04, 11:08 PM   #3
energyman76b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clausthal/Germany
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: BSOD with 6111

Hi,

before blaming nvidia (it is not their agpgart that hangs your box, is it?) try a different kernel and make sure, that it is properly configured&installed.
energyman76b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-04, 11:12 PM   #4
energyman76b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clausthal/Germany
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: BSOD with 6111

Hi,

one tip:

load the agp-module (or if it is built in, just boot). Do NOT boot into X! Let testgart running, look for errors in testgarts output and dmesg. This will test your agpgart, without hanging your box. Maybe it will garble your output, but than a second run will maybe clean it up (if it run, if your box crashes, it is definitive a kernel-bug).

This way, you will see, if it is nvidia's or the kernels fault.
energyman76b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-04, 06:45 PM   #5
can|s|_ycan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12
Default Re: BSOD with 6111

energyman76b: I've tried 3 drivers (1 unofficial release which proved more stable then the official), 7 kernels (some of which I used several compile time variations). All of this over the course of 2 months. I lost count of the times I've had to hard boot my box. I don't blame nvidia for this issue because I don't know the root cause. I'm just hopeing that someone with a similar configuration has had more success then I have.

# testgart
version: 0.100
bridge id: 0x74541022
agp_mode: 0x1f000b7b
aper_base: 0xf0000000
aper_size: 128
pg_total: 240896
pg_system: 240896
pg_used: 0
base=00000000f0000000 range=0000000008000000
base=f0000000
entry.key : 0
entry.key : 1
Allocated 8 megs of GART memory
start=1080135355, end=1080137281
MemoryBenchmark: 2076 mb/s
start=1080137371, end=1080139940
MemoryBenchmark: 1557 mb/s
start=1080140015, end=1080141906
MemoryBenchmark: 2115 mb/s
Average speed: 1916 mb/s
Testing data integrity (1st pass): passed on first pass.
Testing data integrity (2nd pass): passed on second pass.

Output from dmesg:
agpgart: Found an AGP 3.0 compliant device at 0000:00:00.0.
agpgart: Putting AGP V3 device at 0000:00:00.0 into 8x mode
agpgart: Putting AGP V3 device at 0000:02:00.0 into 8x mode

I have no problems with AGP while using nv or other generic fb drivers. Also, I can only build the kernel with agpgart. I cannot disable agpgart or build it as a module while makeing my config. I'm not positive on this, but I believe this is due to my architectures dependices.

Thanks for your post!
can|s|_ycan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-04, 10:06 PM   #6
energyman76b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clausthal/Germany
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: BSOD with 6111

Hi,

well the nv driver and fb don't use the agp-architecture, so they don't be affected by agp-probs. But your testgart run looks ok. If you run testgart, are you able to start X after that?
energyman76b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-04, 01:30 AM   #7
can|s|_ycan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12
Default Re: BSOD with 6111

Yes, I am able to start X after running testgart. Although, this is with agp disabled. With it enabled, I still get hard-locks.

As to fb not using agp; that's how I've always understood it. My confusion arises from the lack of options to build agpgart as a module or not at all. Would you know why this is the case if agpgart is not needed??? I'm at a lost in understanding this...I'm assuming it has something to do with the system architecture? I just dunno...
can|s|_ycan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-04, 02:05 PM   #8
energyman76b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clausthal/Germany
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: BSOD with 6111

Hi,

AFAIK opteron-boards always need the agpgart?

Maybe you should try and build and own kernel form kernel.org sources and spend extra time on the agp-config-options?

I think, you should built the module into the kernel, but I am not sure. (Yeah, I know, on ia32, they tell us, to make it a modules, but if I remember right, it is better to built it in on opterons/amd64)
energyman76b is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-07-04, 04:45 PM   #9
kmare
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: greece
Posts: 180
Send a message via ICQ to kmare
Default Re: BSOD with 6111

Quote:
Originally Posted by energyman76b
I think, you should built the module into the kernel, but I am not sure. (Yeah, I know, on ia32, they tell us, to make it a modules, but if I remember right, it is better to built it in on opterons/amd64)
well I don't know if it is better to build agpgart into the kernel for 64bit amd, but remember that you will not be able to try the agp support that is built in the nvidia driver (NVAGP=1) at all. Anyway 2.6.8 will be out soon (a few days). Give it a try... you never know... your probs may magically disappear...

BTW: a self compiled vanilla kernel usually helps...
kmare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-04, 11:43 AM   #10
tgnb
Registered User
 
tgnb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 19
Default Re: BSOD with 6111

Quote:
Originally Posted by energyman76b
Hi,

AFAIK opteron-boards always need the agpgart?
This is untrue. I've compiled my kernel without it and used the nvidia agp, or tried turning it off altogether and tried several different kernels over the last month with my 6800. THe problem remains the same. I had a FX52000 in that same box before without ANY problems other than it beign slow . One thing i have not yet tried is putting the fx52000 back in and seeing how stable it is with these new drivers and if i also get the hangups whenever i try to use anything 3d.

Last edited by tgnb; 08-09-04 at 04:18 PM.
tgnb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-04, 10:34 PM   #11
can|s|_ycan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12
Default Re: BSOD with 6111

Thanks for everyones post. I popped in a 5200 card and had no hard locks.
It's nice having extra cards to play with

I'm thinking there is a bug in X that doesn't like the 5700 chipset (at least within my hardware config and/or 64 bit OS because I'm sure others are running this chipset just fine..)
can|s|_ycan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.