Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-31-04, 01:20 AM   #1
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default How High Can You OverClock The 6800Ultra

I would like to know the average people are getting with the ultra on stock cooling,I have been trying my and have run at 470/1250 with no problems but I am getting scared,I don't want to fry a $500 card but it acts as I could go farther.Has anyone been able to run 500 on the core yet with stock cooling.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 02:23 AM   #2
Annihlist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 183
Default Re: How High Can You OverClock The 6800Ultra

You sure that is stable? That is one hell of an overclock on stock cooling. I got 450/1200 on stock cooling with a 1.5v voltmod. After running through 3dmark 2003 20 times my temperate peaked at 74C. I am also using gainward expertool to ajust my fan speed. I know I could probably push higher but I don't want to core to reach over 80C. I tried 1250 on the memory but I got artifacts strait away. 1230 seemed fine though I turned it down a little cause in some games I would recieve artifacts every so often.
What are your temps like?
__________________
Gigabyte K8N Pro - AMD 64 3400+ Clawhammer w/1mb cache @ 2.4ghz - Albatron 6800 ultra @ 442/1.23 - Sony DRU-700A - 200GB Western Digital 8mb cache - Creative Audigy 2 ZS - Mitsubishi Dimondplus 93sb - 1GB PC3200 3-3-8 generic ram at 220/2.9v(max O/C ) - OCZ 470W Power supply.
Annihlist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 02:30 AM   #3
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: How High Can You OverClock The 6800Ultra

470??!!! Yipes.. my overclock is in my sig, but Im using the VGA silencer
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 02:43 AM   #4
Annihlist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 183
Default Re: How High Can You OverClock The 6800Ultra

I got my exhaust fan next to my vid card. Sacreficed my firewire port for it as it takes up one of my pci slots. It does a pretty good job, however the voltmod helped me push it that little bit more.
__________________
Gigabyte K8N Pro - AMD 64 3400+ Clawhammer w/1mb cache @ 2.4ghz - Albatron 6800 ultra @ 442/1.23 - Sony DRU-700A - 200GB Western Digital 8mb cache - Creative Audigy 2 ZS - Mitsubishi Dimondplus 93sb - 1GB PC3200 3-3-8 generic ram at 220/2.9v(max O/C ) - OCZ 470W Power supply.
Annihlist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 03:32 AM   #5
Annihlist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 183
Default Re: How High Can You OverClock The 6800Ultra

I managed to break 13000 3dmarks with 460/1230. However I clocked back to 450/1200 because I only cycled through 3dmark 3 times and I am scared to leave it at that.

3DMark Score 13023 3DMarks
GT1 - Wings of Fury 287.6 FPS
GT2 - Battle of Proxycon 106.4 FPS
GT3 - Troll's Lair 87.2 FPS
GT4 - Mother Nature 74.5 FPS
__________________
Gigabyte K8N Pro - AMD 64 3400+ Clawhammer w/1mb cache @ 2.4ghz - Albatron 6800 ultra @ 442/1.23 - Sony DRU-700A - 200GB Western Digital 8mb cache - Creative Audigy 2 ZS - Mitsubishi Dimondplus 93sb - 1GB PC3200 3-3-8 generic ram at 220/2.9v(max O/C ) - OCZ 470W Power supply.
Annihlist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 06:57 AM   #6
Ice Nine
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 135
Default Re: How High Can You OverClock The 6800Ultra

I managed 13069 3dmarks with my 3800+ (stock) and my ultra clocked at 440/1200:

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=3008337

At 445/1200, I hang the first run. at 440/1200, I can loop 3dmark all night, though I haven't tested other games extensively.
__________________
-Karl
Ice Nine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 07:55 AM   #7
eva2000
Registered User
 
eva2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 340
Default Re: How High Can You OverClock The 6800Ultra

Asus 6800Ultra V9999 Deluxe all stock as is single slot copper heatsink 450/1200 fine benchable at 455-460core and 1200-1250 mem highest score in sig
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 10:44 AM   #8
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: How High Can You OverClock The 6800Ultra

watercooled, hardocp got it to 475 but I think it just won't go any higher. temps were perfectly fine.

incedently, since the GT and ultra both have the same chip, this leads me to believe that the GT can also hit 475 with just a little bit more heat output putting both cards at identical performance. only one costs $100 less
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-31-04, 12:47 PM   #9
grimreefer
Registered User
 
grimreefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 549
Default Re: How High Can You OverClock The 6800Ultra

watch out for throttling, itll start doing that past 480.........
so if it can handle 480, u could leave it, plus you have a lifetime warranty
stop overclocking mem when u start seeing large black lines appear in the middle of a game
grimreefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 12:55 PM   #10
tret
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 230
Default Re: How High Can You OverClock The 6800Ultra

I have the gainward 6800 Ultra Golden Sample card that is supposed to be guaranteed at 430/1200 but with the ram at 1200 i get artifacts (lines shooting around) during the troll's lair level. I am using an Antec True 430w PS but noticed while watching the voltage that the +12v dips down to 11.5 during load, think this could be causing the prob? artifacts disapear if I set mem to 1.15 and keep core at 430. Temps are good never getting near 80c at all.

tret
__________________
Dell Studio XPS - Intel Core i7 920 | EVGA GTX295 | 6GB Dell Ram (Crap Ram) | 1x WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10k RPM | Antec NeoPower 650 Blue (Modular)
tret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 02:18 PM   #11
Arioch
Registered User
 
Arioch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,087
Default Re: How High Can You OverClock The 6800Ultra

My PC is rock solid with my Pixelview 6800 Ultra at 425/1200. The few extra FPS that I got by cranking my core up a bit more wasn't worth the trouble it caused. I am happy with this speed using the stock cooler that doesn't have to run at 100% fan speed all the time.
Arioch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 02:51 PM   #12
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: How High Can You OverClock The 6800Ultra

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arioch
My PC is rock solid with my Pixelview 6800 Ultra at 425/1200. The few extra FPS that I got by cranking my core up a bit more wasn't worth the trouble it caused. I am happy with this speed using the stock cooler that doesn't have to run at 100% fan speed all the time.
yeah same here. It runs great at 420~430 and ram runs fine at 1.20 but at 1.2 I get artifacts in 3dmark and only gain around 100 3dmark points difference so it's not a big deal.
________
list of chrysler engines

Last edited by FastRedPonyCar; 02-09-11 at 01:21 AM.
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$199.99 - SAMSUNG S23A300B High Glossy Black 23" Full HD LED BackLight LCD Monitor News 23-Inch 0 06-13-12 02:08 PM
Video: High Schoolers Build Supercomputer in Ontario News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 12:10 PM
5th Workshop on UnConventional High Performance Computing 2012 News Archived News Items 0 05-19-12 11:20 AM
How high of an overclock can I expect out of a GeForce4 Ti 4200? Danno NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 6 08-16-02 11:31 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.