Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-09-04, 05:50 AM   #1
angelic
GeForce4 Ti 4200
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 8
Default 32-bit games on 64-bit Linux - OK now?

I've been holding off upgrading to Fedora Core 2 64-bit due to the lack of a 4k-stacks driver (now fixed) and the lack of ability to play games like UT2k3, Quake1/2/3, NWN etc..

Reading the release notes for the 6106 drivers it looks like this has now also been resolved:

"Added support for running 32-bit OpenGL applications on 64-bit AMD64 Linux installations."

So I can install FC2 on my AMD64 3200, install latest nVidia driver, install my games of choice, and it will all be sweetness and light?
angelic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-04, 05:56 AM   #2
lmfr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Thumbs up Re: 32-bit games on 64-bit Linux - OK now?

32bit OpenGL apps will run. About sweetness and light I' can't promise you anything.
lmfr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-04, 02:53 AM   #3
whig
550Ti
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 854
Default Re: 32-bit games on 64-bit Linux - OK now?

Most 32 bit games work for me so I'm pretty happy. The only one not to go is Quake 1 which I'll get around to recompiling 64 bit sometime. Q2 and Q3A are fine with the 6xxx drivers. And I get +16% fps in 64 bit UT2004 c/f 32
whig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-04, 09:02 AM   #4
angelic
GeForce4 Ti 4200
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 8
Default Re: 32-bit games on 64-bit Linux - OK now?

Well my "wish list" for things I want to work under 64-bit looks like this:
  • Quake 1
  • Quake 2
  • Quake 3
  • Malice (Q1 TC)
  • UT
  • UT2k3
  • Duke3D
  • Wolf3d
  • RTCW
  • ET
  • NWN
  • Civ:CTP
  • foobillard
  • DooM Legacy

So I'm curious, I understand that if I run a 32-bit game like some of those above it will pick the 32-bit GL libs, but do those get installed as part of the FC2/64 install or do I have to find them from somewhere and install separately?
angelic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-04, 12:27 PM   #5
Compholio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 66
Default Re: 32-bit games on 64-bit Linux - OK now?

Tested Personally (works):
* Quake 3
* UT2004 both 64-bit (duh) and 32-bit
* ET
Can test for you if you like (have available):
* Quake 1
* RTCW
No clue:
* Quake 2
* Malice (Q1 TC)
* UT
* UT2k3
* Duke3D
* Wolf3d
* NWN
* Civ:CTP
* foobillard
* DooM Legacy
Compholio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-04, 12:44 PM   #6
blueworm
[DEADAGAIN]blueworm
 
blueworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 416
Default Re: 32-bit games on 64-bit Linux - OK now?

Check this thread out at gentoo forum.
http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.p...ighlight=games
BTW quake2 will run in 64bit just needs a few changes to Makefile checkout the CVS http://www.icculus.org/quake2/
__________________
Registered linux user #271604 Get Counted! http://counter.li.org/
lianLi PC60, OCZ powerStream 520W PSU, Asus P5N-E SLI, Core 2 duo E6550, 2Gb GEIL, XFX 8800GT, TB SantaCruz
blueworm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-04, 07:13 AM   #7
angelic
GeForce4 Ti 4200
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 8
Default Re: 32-bit games on 64-bit Linux - OK now?

That Gentoo forums thread is helpful, thanks.

I'm still a little tentative about the 64-bit upgrade though (wondering what else will break and how to do these parallel 32-bit /64-bit library installs).

The weekend will tell...
angelic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-04, 08:50 AM   #8
blueworm
[DEADAGAIN]blueworm
 
blueworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 416
Default Re: 32-bit games on 64-bit Linux - OK now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by angelic
That Gentoo forums thread is helpful, thanks.

I'm still a little tentative about the 64-bit upgrade though (wondering what else will break and how to do these parallel 32-bit /64-bit library installs).

The weekend will tell...
Dont consider it an upgrade. Just install 2 seperate linuxes...(You probably allready have 1 right! All you need to do is make some room on a harddrive and install the 64 bit linux.)
I have 4... Usefull for backups also. You can then dual boot linux 32bit or 64bit. Or chroot over and you can also mount the files and copy across any 32bit libs or bins you may need.
__________________
Registered linux user #271604 Get Counted! http://counter.li.org/
lianLi PC60, OCZ powerStream 520W PSU, Asus P5N-E SLI, Core 2 duo E6550, 2Gb GEIL, XFX 8800GT, TB SantaCruz
blueworm is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linux gaming on the rise: EA arrives on Ubuntu and Valve plans Steam port News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 04:20 PM
Will Unreal Engine 4 Games Come To Linux? News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 09:20 PM
nVidia Linux drivers with Linux on Mac, help? Thetargos NVIDIA Linux 0 05-13-12 12:52 PM
Mandrake Linux 9.0 (Dolphin) now available | comments? volt General Linux 10 10-19-02 10:13 PM
PC Games, CeleronII 566, CeleronA 300, BIOS Savior, Heatsinks, NES & Sega Items +pics TekViper For Sale/Trade 5 08-07-02 10:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.