Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-11-04, 11:35 AM   #1
valdyn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 6
Default Switching between 2 Screens in a dual head setup

I'm using one gforce5000xt with twinview and 2 Screens, _no_ xinerama.
( I'm not talking about virtual desktops, its 2 independent X11 screens, just served by one X-Server )
It's working perfectly fine for me, I can play a fullscreen game on one display, and work on the other.
However the way to switch the current screen is done by moving mouse "between" the 2 Screens.

That's naturally not convenient, when the mouse is captured in a fullscreen app / game.

Is there any way to bind Screen switching to a keyboard shortcut?

Thanks in advance,
valdyn
valdyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-04, 04:44 PM   #2
zorinlynx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11
Default Re: Switching between 2 Screens in a dual head setup

I have this exact same setup, and have been wondering the same thing. I can keep an eye on what's happening on the non-game head, but I can't actually mouse over and do anything there.

A hot key to "release" the mouse would be great.

Has anyone done this successfully?

-Z
zorinlynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-04, 07:25 PM   #3
Trendane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Default Re: Switching between 2 Screens in a dual head setup

Well....I encountered a very similar situation when I first got 'Neverwinter Nights' running under Linux. The solution I found was in the nwn.ini file to set it like so....

[Display Options]

FullScreen=0
AllowWindowedMode=1

Switching FullScreen to '0' and AllowWindowedMode to '1' took it out of full screen entirely and allowed me to switch desktops at will. The problem is....now I can't really use side-screen turning to rotate the POV in the game. But I'm learning to use the keyboard for more refined control....so it's an acceptable trade to me.

This may or may not be a workable solution for other games.



And....ummm....should I even ask what's going on here? ->
Trendane is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Realy messed up dual head vdub12 NVIDIA Linux 1 09-15-02 12:26 AM
How do I get Dual Head working? Heath NVIDIA Linux 1 08-22-02 12:44 PM
mx 440 xtacy dual head and cli squid NVIDIA Linux 4 08-15-02 04:04 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.