Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-17-04, 02:20 PM   #13
Arioch
Registered User
 
Arioch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,087
Default Re: [D3]High-Resolution Texture Pack Ever?

ID games always pushed the hardware envelope and I don't think anyone was playing any iteration of Quake at high framerates and resolutions for some time after their initial releases.
Arioch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-04, 05:40 PM   #14
killahsin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,496
Default Re: [D3]High-Resolution Texture Pack Ever?

Yes but they aren't playing doom3 in that format either. But if you got top of the line hardware when quake 3 came out you could break 100 frames
killahsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-04, 05:53 PM   #15
Banko
Red Pepper Vodka
 
Banko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,155
Default Re: [D3]High-Resolution Texture Pack Ever?

When quake 3 came out, I was playing with a voodoo 3 3000 at 800x600 max details lol with an intel celeron 433mhz and 96mb of pc100 ram, and a 20gig maxtor drive lol.
__________________
Work/Gaming PC:
Lian-Li PC-80
Intel Core i7 860 @ 3.53
MSI P55-GD80
G.Skill DDR3-1600 8gb 4x2gb
Asus DRW-1814BLT SATA
ATi Radeon 5870
OCZ GameXStream 700W
Windows 7 Ultimate

HTPC/Second Gaming PC:
Gigabyte GA-EP45-DQ6
Intel Q6600 @ 2.8
G.Skill DDR2 4gb 2x2gb
NVidia 8800GTX
OCZ GameXStream 700W
Banko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-04, 05:55 PM   #16
Mike1357
lol wut?
 
Mike1357's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 89
Send a message via AIM to Mike1357 Send a message via MSN to Mike1357
Default Re: [D3]High-Resolution Texture Pack Ever?

I like how Half Life did it. The Blueshift expansion pack came out and it included a High-Definition pack which didn't totally change the whole look of the game but it made it look better than it was before. Maybe D3 will do kinda the same thing. That would be cool.
Mike1357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-04, 06:21 PM   #17
<slayer>
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11
Default Re: [D3]High-Resolution Texture Pack Ever?

Primarily, I'm just wondering if ID even knows that people are unsatisfied with the current textures, considering all the reviews that have been posted about how great the graphics are (in general). Do they know themselves that lots of the textures in the game are in-fact low-res or are they fooling themselves that "it still looks good" and "look at all the great reviews and people saying the graphics are awesome."
<slayer> is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-04, 11:48 PM   #18
***CENSORED***
Enter the Homertrix!
 
***CENSORED***'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: My own private hell
Posts: 193
Default Re: [D3]High-Resolution Texture Pack Ever?

I think high res textures mean everything. I'm much more impressed with HL2's look than Doom 3's look because of this. The average texture in HL2 is said to be at 1024x1024, with textures able to go up to 2048x2048. I wonder what Doom 3's average texture size is?
***CENSORED*** is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-04, 03:38 AM   #19
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: [D3]High-Resolution Texture Pack Ever?

Maybe we should email good ol carmack for a texture pack
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-04, 12:57 PM   #20
holmes
Registered User
 
holmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 692
Default Re: [D3]High-Resolution Texture Pack Ever?

I noticed this hi-res skin pack on fileplanet, someone wanna give it a try?
__________________

The Rig
ASRock 970 Extreme3 AM3+
AMD Athlon II x2 260
DDR3-1600 (2x2GB) Kingston HyperX
Western Digital caviar 1TB
ECS GeForce GT 220 1GB
Cooler Master Storm Scout ATX case
Corsair 750W PSU
holmes is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-18-04, 03:25 PM   #21
Mike1357
lol wut?
 
Mike1357's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 89
Send a message via AIM to Mike1357 Send a message via MSN to Mike1357
Default Re: [D3]High-Resolution Texture Pack Ever?

Is it just me, or is there something SERIOUSLY wrong with this guy's hand? http://dynamici.server239.com/uploads/e89r3u832.jpg
Mike1357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-04, 04:33 PM   #22
holmes
Registered User
 
holmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 692
Default Re: [D3]High-Resolution Texture Pack Ever?

hmm.. didn't really notice that. looks kind of "zombified"..
__________________

The Rig
ASRock 970 Extreme3 AM3+
AMD Athlon II x2 260
DDR3-1600 (2x2GB) Kingston HyperX
Western Digital caviar 1TB
ECS GeForce GT 220 1GB
Cooler Master Storm Scout ATX case
Corsair 750W PSU
holmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-04, 05:07 PM   #23
Kamel
Hardware Mass Murderer
 
Kamel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,035
Send a message via ICQ to Kamel Send a message via AIM to Kamel Send a message via MSN to Kamel Send a message via Yahoo to Kamel Send a message via Skype™ to Kamel
Default Re: [D3]High-Resolution Texture Pack Ever?

doom3 is a foot shooter. most times in games, they make a texture at a very high resolution, then scale it down to what is needed for the game. i know when i was working at becomming a graphic artist that's what i did, i tried to make a texture high enough resolution that i would never need to scale it up. almost like the whole philosephy "you can always take your jacket off, but you can't spawn one when you get cold, so you better take your jacket with you" ok, maybe my mom didn't tell me exactly that but you get the idea.

it's retarded to run textures uncompressed, the compression is lossless, so why does it matter anyway?

i disagree, the average card has quickly become 256MB IMO. all the new series are 256mb, and many of the older cards too (fx5900u/fx5950u etc). besides, why make an enthusiast game for a regular user? i could be wrong, but i think the doom3 developers knew that there were tons of people buying new pc's and hardware just for the game, if the users knew that if they got a 256mb card to get the high quality textures, by god i bet they would, lol.
__________________
hardware murdered so far: geforce 5900u, deceised: sat on it. geforce 6600gt deceised: improperly mounted heatsink. 3 asus a7n8x-e deluxe motherboards, deceised: unsure. mobile amd xp2600 processor, deceised: chipped core due to compusa heatsink. dfi lanparty ultra b, deceised: unsure, third memory bank went out. samsung cd burner 48x40x48, deceised: unsure, will only read pressed cd's very slowly. samsung TH552C dvd burner (dual layer), deceised: same as other samsung . 10gb seagate 5200rpm drive, deceised: tried fixing a pin that was pushed into the drive by inserting an ide cable upside down. 40gb maxtor drive, deceised: maxtor manufacturer. 80gb western digital, deceised: unnatural causes. swan xt10, deceised: brutal pre-meditated murder, even video taped (it wasn't y2k compliant). logitech mx510, deceised: death by electricution. ati remote wonder, deceised: death by electricution.
Kamel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-04, 03:07 PM   #24
DaveW
Its me! Hurray!
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brit in USA
Posts: 1,203
Default Re: [D3]High-Resolution Texture Pack Ever?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kamel
it's retarded to run textures uncompressed, the compression is lossless...
Err.. no its not.

Anyway, I'm happy with the resolution of most of the textures. Theres just 10% or so that look to low. They could fix these without doing much to the video ram requirements. The lab-coat type uniforms and the table tops stand out as a couple of examples. The scene with Swan arguing with Betruger near the beginning looks pretty bad.

You can edit those textures yourself and replace them with higher res ones. The problem I think is that if you double the size of the texture, the surface will cut off half of it. You have to modify the model to scale the new texture properly to the surface. Atleast I think that is what will happen, I haven't tried it yet.
__________________

Core2 Q9400 @ 3.0, eVGA GTX 260, 4G DDR 800, Vista64
DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800 GT and Ubuntu - Plymouth low resolution legluondunet NVIDIA Linux 3 06-24-12 04:22 PM
Opinions on 1280x1024 resolution skipparoo NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 103 06-23-12 12:38 AM
Now Available - Binary Domain Dan Marshall Pack & Multiplayer Map Pack News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 04:00 AM
Mass Effect 3 trailer shows free Rebellion pack weapons and characters, electric whip News Archived News Items 0 05-30-12 09:30 AM
30.82 and 40.41 resolution + monitor OSD. Max3D NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 2 09-05-02 03:15 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.