Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-03-02, 07:30 AM   #1
retsam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,602
Default looking for a good tv tuner card

im looking for a good tv tuner card anyone out there have any sugestions .
retsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-02, 01:26 PM   #2
Marty McFly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 6
Default

Ive always used Hauppage's WinTV PCI and never had any problems.

http://www.hauppauge.com/html/products.htm#pci

Prolink also has new tuner cards out but I have not seen any reviews yet.

http://www.prolink.com.tw/new_web/pr...V%20HD_new.htm
Marty McFly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-02, 05:08 PM   #3
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

Hauppauge!

http://www.hauppauge.com

donot buy ATI TV cards, they tend to have compatiblity problems with Win2k, NT, XP, and are difficult to install the drivers for. Hauppauge has very simple software that compatible and works. The quality is decent too.
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-02, 03:40 PM   #4
FastM
GeForceFlop
 
FastM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 545
Send a message via ICQ to FastM
Default

I havent tried the Happauge myself but have always heard good things about it.

I sold my ATI TV Tuner for a Leadtek Winfast TV 2000 because of the much better TV quality and recording options.
FastM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-02, 08:53 PM   #5
Atrus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 9
Default

Yes, I can agree first hand that ATI cards suck. Bad drivers (who woulda thought) and poorly programmed applications. In fact I'd lock up after 10 minutes of watching TV...bah
__________________
http://www.brianschettler.com
Atrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-02, 06:18 AM   #6
adrianhall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 21
Default

I just sold my Hauppauge WinTV for a Leadtek TV2000 XP. Both good cards, but same as FastM wanted the better recording options (encoding on the fly without having to get stuff like PowerVCR, scheduling). Also, the remote control is better with the Leadtek, software is incorporated rather than having to install a seperate app. All I miss that Hauppauge had is Nicam stereo.

FastM - have you tried the new WinfastTV with time shifting on it? It kind of works, but with a slight problem on the sound. While recording, the line-in option is un-muted. When playback starts, the line-in is muted so you only hear what has been recorded (via the WAV channel). Problem happens when the recording catches up with the initial time shift, because line-in is muted it doesn't record any more sound
__________________
MAXIMUS (?) - Shuttle SB51G, Intel845GE chipset, onboard everything - P4 1.8a - 512MB PC2700 Crucial - Seagate Barracuda V 120GB - Plexwriter PX-W4012TA - Abit Siluro Ti4600 @ Default - Leadtek TV2000XP - Logitech MX700 - WinXP Pro SP1 (30.30 Dets)

MINI-ME - ASUS Terminator, SiS630 chipset, onboard everything - Celeron 1.0a - 384MB Micron PC133 - Seagate Barracuda IV 80GB - Pioneer DVD-RW 104 - Gainward GF4 Pro450 TV MX420 PCI - Logitech iTouch cordless - WinXP Pro SP1 (30.30 Dets)

NETWORK - Vigor 2200USB & Alcatel Speedtouch USB
adrianhall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-02, 10:40 AM   #7
FastM
GeForceFlop
 
FastM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 545
Send a message via ICQ to FastM
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by adrianhall
FastM - have you tried the new WinfastTV with time shifting on it? It kind of works, but with a slight problem on the sound. While recording, the line-in option is un-muted. When playback starts, the line-in is muted so you only hear what has been recorded (via the WAV channel). Problem happens when the recording catches up with the initial time shift, because line-in is muted it doesn't record any more sound
Im really not sure what your talking about, is their a new software package available or something?

Also just out of curiosity what recording settings do you use for recording something, i have been experimenting with DivX5.02 around 1500k/sec @ 320x240 with the sound done in MP3 44,000kh 16bit stereo. The videos look and sound good but their getting a little big. Also on my latest recording the sound was way out of sync with the video by the end of it.
FastM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-02, 11:57 AM   #8
adrianhall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 21
Default

You must have an older version then. On the Taiwan site there's a version dated 01/08/02, release not Beta (don't have the URL to hand). It also fixed the schedule problem where a schedule would start but needed to be stopped manually.

I have been using the DivX 5.02 codec (mainly for short recordings) with MPEG1-II sound but last night, first time I actually used the schedule thing to record X-Files, after 17:45 the sound went quiet. Tried it again and it did exactly the same. Changed to the VCD-Optimal format and sound was recorded o.k. for the test I did, 25 minutes. Going to try again tonight with different settings. I've tended to use 352x240, creates borders but looks quite a bit better.

The 1-hour recording using DivX @ 352x240 with 17:45 of sound came in at about 350MB, not too bad. VCD will be about 3x bigger, can still live with that. I just want to use it as a backup VCR.
__________________
MAXIMUS (?) - Shuttle SB51G, Intel845GE chipset, onboard everything - P4 1.8a - 512MB PC2700 Crucial - Seagate Barracuda V 120GB - Plexwriter PX-W4012TA - Abit Siluro Ti4600 @ Default - Leadtek TV2000XP - Logitech MX700 - WinXP Pro SP1 (30.30 Dets)

MINI-ME - ASUS Terminator, SiS630 chipset, onboard everything - Celeron 1.0a - 384MB Micron PC133 - Seagate Barracuda IV 80GB - Pioneer DVD-RW 104 - Gainward GF4 Pro450 TV MX420 PCI - Logitech iTouch cordless - WinXP Pro SP1 (30.30 Dets)

NETWORK - Vigor 2200USB & Alcatel Speedtouch USB
adrianhall is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-06-02, 01:05 PM   #9
adrianhall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 21
Default

http://www.leadtek.com.tw/www/Web_Leadtek/driver_e.asp

Is where you'll get the software
__________________
MAXIMUS (?) - Shuttle SB51G, Intel845GE chipset, onboard everything - P4 1.8a - 512MB PC2700 Crucial - Seagate Barracuda V 120GB - Plexwriter PX-W4012TA - Abit Siluro Ti4600 @ Default - Leadtek TV2000XP - Logitech MX700 - WinXP Pro SP1 (30.30 Dets)

MINI-ME - ASUS Terminator, SiS630 chipset, onboard everything - Celeron 1.0a - 384MB Micron PC133 - Seagate Barracuda IV 80GB - Pioneer DVD-RW 104 - Gainward GF4 Pro450 TV MX420 PCI - Logitech iTouch cordless - WinXP Pro SP1 (30.30 Dets)

NETWORK - Vigor 2200USB & Alcatel Speedtouch USB
adrianhall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-02, 02:03 PM   #10
FastM
GeForceFlop
 
FastM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 545
Send a message via ICQ to FastM
Default

cool i'll check that out tonight. I dunno if its the recording Res or Sound compression your using cause i did a 20min video using the settings i mentioned above and it came out to be 250megs. Still i know their is ways to get much smaller.

The DivX5 codec has alot of new encoding options so its gonna take a little while to experiment with all of them.
FastM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-02, 02:14 PM   #11
adrianhall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 21
Default

Just done a 1-hour recording, slightly modified the MPEG-1 Optimal to use 352x240 res, no problem with lip-sync, audio all the way through. File size ended up 1.5GB so I think loss of sound for most of the X-Files certainly reduced the size quite a bit.

Good enough for my uses though, get a bigger HDD at some point, maybe a DVD-R and I'm set
__________________
MAXIMUS (?) - Shuttle SB51G, Intel845GE chipset, onboard everything - P4 1.8a - 512MB PC2700 Crucial - Seagate Barracuda V 120GB - Plexwriter PX-W4012TA - Abit Siluro Ti4600 @ Default - Leadtek TV2000XP - Logitech MX700 - WinXP Pro SP1 (30.30 Dets)

MINI-ME - ASUS Terminator, SiS630 chipset, onboard everything - Celeron 1.0a - 384MB Micron PC133 - Seagate Barracuda IV 80GB - Pioneer DVD-RW 104 - Gainward GF4 Pro450 TV MX420 PCI - Logitech iTouch cordless - WinXP Pro SP1 (30.30 Dets)

NETWORK - Vigor 2200USB & Alcatel Speedtouch USB
adrianhall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-02, 02:59 PM   #12
FastM
GeForceFlop
 
FastM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 545
Send a message via ICQ to FastM
Default

When i had my ATI card those are the settings i used, MPEG-1 320x240 with a high k/sec bit rate.

With those 1.5gig - 2.5gig (or a 45min show) files i would use the program VirtualDub and convert the files to DivX3.11 (the audio would turn into MP3 @ 192k/sec). A typical 2gig file would shrink to around 250-300megs by the time i was done with it.
FastM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Brief Holiday Shopping Guide for Stereo 3D Technology News Archived News Items 0 12-18-12 07:31 AM
Playing with Nvidia GeForce GTX 690 in Stereoscopic 3D Mode News Archived News Items 0 07-02-12 05:00 PM
Measuring card memory usage peter_ga NVIDIA Linux 0 05-24-12 09:07 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 10:28 AM
NVIDIA could rule if they really wanted to Vid_craze NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 25 08-16-02 06:24 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.