Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-17-04, 01:03 AM   #1
nVidiaGuru
nvidias #1 fanboy!
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Waco Texas
Posts: 207
Send a message via AIM to nVidiaGuru Send a message via Yahoo to nVidiaGuru
Default Fog Banding...help plz

now that ive gotten into the game a bit more and im getting to the levels with the fog in the caverns and im really annoyed by the banding of the fog itself. Heres a screenshot of what im talking about ... http://supra9301.homestead.com/files/banding.jpg ... its very noticable along the upper lefthand walls. At first i thought it was drivers so i switched from 62.20's to the 61.77's to the 65.62's which didnt solve the problem. I then thought that perhaps it was my LCD monitor itself causing the banding so i changed my primary monitor to my CRT and the banding was still present.

Is anyone lse getting this affect? is it perhaps a game setting ive messed with through the console or perhaps a setting in the application profiles?
nVidiaGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-04, 01:06 AM   #2
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Fog Banding...help plz

Yup... I hate it. I have tried everything but I cant seem to fix it..

__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-04, 01:49 AM   #3
Pandora's Box
Registered User
 
Pandora's Box's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to Pandora's Box Send a message via MSN to Pandora's Box
Default Re: Fog Banding...help plz

carmack gonna fix it...
__________________
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe 2.00 | AMD Athlon XP 2700+ | 1.5GB DDR333 RAM | OCZ PowerStream 520Watt | eVGA GeForce 6800 GT 256MB Zalman VF700 CU | Western Digital 120GB 8MB Cache 7200 RPM | Western Digital 60GB 2MB Cache 7200 RPM | Athenatech A602 Case | Linksys WMP54GS SpeedBooster Wireless Card
Pandora's Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-04, 01:58 AM   #4
Arioch
Registered User
 
Arioch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,087
Default Re: Fog Banding...help plz

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveA
carmack gonna fix it...
Is that speculation or did you read that somewhere?

I posted at Rage3D about the banding issue and someone with a X800XT PE also gets it so at least it appears to be a game issue and not a video card or driver problem.
Arioch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-04, 02:02 AM   #5
Zeno
Registered User
 
Zeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 106
Default Re: Fog Banding...help plz

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
Yup... I hate it. I have tried everything but I cant seem to fix it..
Yea, it's definitely distracting in the cavern levels. I don't think there's anything you can do to fix it. I think it's a side effect of the way they chose to implement the fog. It looks like they're blending several mostly-translucent quads on top of one another perpendicular to the user's view direction.

Strange that they wouldn't just put a per-pixel distance calculation in the fragment program and use that to do fog color - at least on the high end cards. Maybe the method they're using instead is the only one that would work across all generations of graphics card?
Zeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-04, 08:24 AM   #6
Pandora's Box
Registered User
 
Pandora's Box's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to Pandora's Box Send a message via MSN to Pandora's Box
Default Re: Fog Banding...help plz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arioch
Is that speculation or did you read that somewhere?

I posted at Rage3D about the banding issue and someone with a X800XT PE also gets it so at least it appears to be a game issue and not a video card or driver problem.

was a joke.
__________________
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe 2.00 | AMD Athlon XP 2700+ | 1.5GB DDR333 RAM | OCZ PowerStream 520Watt | eVGA GeForce 6800 GT 256MB Zalman VF700 CU | Western Digital 120GB 8MB Cache 7200 RPM | Western Digital 60GB 2MB Cache 7200 RPM | Athenatech A602 Case | Linksys WMP54GS SpeedBooster Wireless Card
Pandora's Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plz Help!!! Rll NVIDIA Linux 5 10-10-02 12:53 AM
Got a Hercules sound card, read here plz! Fluke General Hardware 32 09-30-02 08:50 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.