Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-19-04, 09:33 PM   #1
Heavyd
Registered User
 
Heavyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 115
Send a message via ICQ to Heavyd
Default Doom3 on Windows Server 2003

Does Doom3 Install/play on Doom3, I know it only says 2k/Xp only, but im guessing that since it is newer than both operating systems it should work. Its like saying the next version of windows won't play Doom3 because its not 2k or xp. If it does work, then great!, if it doesn't, is there a way to bypass it and get it to work?
__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.40GHz w/HT, 2GB (4x512mb) DDR400, Radeon 9800pro 128mb, Sound Blaster X-fi XtremeMusic 24bit, Leadtek Winfast PVR2000, Samsung 18x DVD+/-RW Drive, Pioneer 16x DVD+/-RW, Seagate 320GB S-ATA II 7200rpm, WD 80Gb IDE 7200rpm, Abit IS7 Socket 478 motherboard
Heavyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-04, 09:46 AM   #2
de><ta
prodigy
 
de><ta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA, NY
Posts: 1,100
Default Re: Doom3 on Windows Server 2003

I have not tried it out on 2003, but of the top of my head I can not see why it should not work (ie. driver related or DX/OGL related).
__________________
IBM T60p | Intel Core 2 Duo T7200 | 2GB PC2-5300 | ATi M X1700 256MB | 100GB 7200rpm SATA

///m-powered | Intel i7 920 | EVGA x58 | 6GB DD3 1600 | EVGA GTX 285 SSC | 150GB VelociRaptor

Drag racing is for fast cars. Autocrossing is for fast drivers.
de><ta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-04, 09:54 AM   #3
intercede007
American
 
intercede007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Destin, Florida
Posts: 331
Send a message via ICQ to intercede007 Send a message via AIM to intercede007 Send a message via MSN to intercede007 Send a message via Yahoo to intercede007
Default Re: Doom3 on Windows Server 2003

There is a mod that requires you to rip an ISO of CD1 and replace a file.

I've tried to install D3 on Windows XP Professional 64 Bit Extended and it wouldn't let me. The error says "Doom3 is only supported under Windows 2000 and Windows XP".

YMMV.
intercede007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-04, 10:02 AM   #4
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Doom3 on Windows Server 2003

It'd be nice if someone would put out a mod that allows D3 to run on XP 64.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-04, 10:12 AM   #5
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Doom3 on Windows Server 2003

I used to run Server 2003 Enterprise (got it free with my VS.NET 2k3 upgrade for $26 ) and I always had huge issues after installing the nVIDIA drivers. They weren't WHQL for Server 2003 and I'm guessing because of that anytime I had to open a submenu item, like say you go to Files and there is a "Recent Items>" with the black arrow meaning the side menu will pop out...I would have like a 5-10 second delay that made my computer freeze EVERY time I moused over one. It was obnoxious.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-04, 06:37 PM   #6
Heavyd
Registered User
 
Heavyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 115
Send a message via ICQ to Heavyd
Default Re: Doom3 on Windows Server 2003

hey all, i found a solution to get doom3 to work on any version but it requires a second computer with 2k\xp. Pretty straight forward, install doom3 on the second computer and either a) copy it to cd\dvd, or b) network transfer, to the other computer, no registry problems, no nothing. Sometime in the future ill try this out with 9x, not that anyone really cares
__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.40GHz w/HT, 2GB (4x512mb) DDR400, Radeon 9800pro 128mb, Sound Blaster X-fi XtremeMusic 24bit, Leadtek Winfast PVR2000, Samsung 18x DVD+/-RW Drive, Pioneer 16x DVD+/-RW, Seagate 320GB S-ATA II 7200rpm, WD 80Gb IDE 7200rpm, Abit IS7 Socket 478 motherboard
Heavyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-04, 06:39 PM   #7
Heavyd
Registered User
 
Heavyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 115
Send a message via ICQ to Heavyd
Default Re: Doom3 on Windows Server 2003

Quote:
Originally Posted by superklye
I used to run Server 2003 Enterprise (got it free with my VS.NET 2k3 upgrade for $26 ) and I always had huge issues after installing the nVIDIA drivers. They weren't WHQL for Server 2003 and I'm guessing because of that anytime I had to open a submenu item, like say you go to Files and there is a "Recent Items>" with the black arrow meaning the side menu will pop out...I would have like a 5-10 second delay that made my computer freeze EVERY time I moused over one. It was obnoxious.
man that must suck, hey i have that with my althlon on any operating system regardless
__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.40GHz w/HT, 2GB (4x512mb) DDR400, Radeon 9800pro 128mb, Sound Blaster X-fi XtremeMusic 24bit, Leadtek Winfast PVR2000, Samsung 18x DVD+/-RW Drive, Pioneer 16x DVD+/-RW, Seagate 320GB S-ATA II 7200rpm, WD 80Gb IDE 7200rpm, Abit IS7 Socket 478 motherboard
Heavyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-04, 06:57 PM   #8
r2d2d3d4d5
Prole
 
r2d2d3d4d5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Airstrip One
Posts: 511
Default Re: Doom3 on Windows Server 2003

You could try a manual install:

Quote:
To do a manual install, do the following:

1) Create a destination folder (for example, c:\program files\doom 3)
2) Insert CD 1.
3) Copy Doom3.exe from CD 1 (Setup\Data\Doom3.exe) to your destination folder.
4) Create a "base" directory in your destination folder (for example, c:\program files\doom 3\base).
5) Copy pak002.pk4 from CD 1 (Setup\Data\base\pak002.pk4) to the "base" folder.
6) Copy game00.pk4 from CD 1 (Setup\Data\base\game00.pk4) to the "base" folder.
7) Insert CD 2.
8) Copy pak000.pk4 from CD 2 (Setup\Data\base\pak000.pk4) to the "base" folder.
9) Copy pak001.pk4 from CD 2 (Setup\Data\base\pak001.pk4) to the "base" folder.
10) Insert CD 3.
11) Copy pak003.pk4 from CD 3 (Setup\Data\base\pak003.pk4) to the "base" folder.
12) Copy pak004.pk4 from CD 3 (Setup\Data\base\pak004.pk4) to the "base" folder.
13) Go to the base folder and create a text file called "doomkey". NOTE: This file should not have any file extension.
14) Open the doomkey file in notepad.
15) Enter your CD Key exactly as it appears on the CD Key sticker. Use all capital letters and do not include any dashes.
16) Save that file.
17) Doom 3 should now be installed on your computer.

The final layout on the CD drive should look like this:
[destination folder]\Doom3.exe
[destination folder]\base\doomkey
[destination folder]\base\game00.pk4
[destination folder]\base\pak000.pk4
[destination folder]\base\pak001.pk4
[destination folder]\base\pak002.pk4
[destination folder]\base\pak003.pk4
[destination folder]\base\pak004.pk4
__________________
"life is like a box of chocolates" - chocolate is bad for you!
r2d2d3d4d5 is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Virtualization, Windows Server 2012 dominate Microsoft's TechEd News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 06:10 PM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
NVIDIA Brings 18 Years of Experience to Windows 8 News Archived News Items 0 06-03-12 06:20 AM
Sync it up: Hands on with the preview of Windows 8's cloud sync service News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 08:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.