Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-23-04, 11:26 AM   #1
mezkal
Registered User
 
mezkal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: ...Twisting the Vertices of Reality...
Posts: 358
Default UltraShadow I and II in DOOM3

This was originally posted by SHATAAN on Guru3D. After reading it I decided to copy and past (and link the original thread's URL at the bottom) for convenience. It looks to be some *very* interesting info:-

"I added the same commandline to my config, and as far as I know it is working. They say that it does work for the 5900/5950s.


seta com_fixedTic "-1" removes 60 fsp cap

""You may remember I had posted details last week that UltraShadow II wasn’t being utilized for Doom 3, like most of you had expected it would. John Carmack mentioned that it can be enabled, but it may require unreleased drivers.

I emailed Brian Burke at NVIDIA about this, to see if the latest 61.77 drivers supported UltraShadow II, and whether the technology can be used in Doom 3. Here’s what he had to say:

"The NVIDIA Forceware graphics driver version 61.77
and the GeForce FX and 6 Series of GPUs provide
superior performance in Doom 3 thanks in part to
NVIDIA’s UltraShadow technology. The retail box
version of Doom 3 transparently benefits from
UltraShadow II’s efficient Stencil Shadowing Engine.

Doom 3 also directly supports UltraShadow II’s depth
bounds test for accelerating shadow volume rendering,
but this feature must be explicitly enabled with
the r_useDepthBoundsTest console variable."


How UltraShadow II Affects Doom 3

Turning up multisampling (FSAA) and turning down anisotropic filtering and texture detail is a way to see benefits of UltraShadow II at work. Essentially those on low-end computers can benefit it the most. Here’s a technical explanation by an unnamed NVIDIA employee about how UltraShadow II works in Doom 3 and how to benefit from its technology:


The benefit from “r_useDepthBoundsTest 1” will be greatest when you turn up multisampling and increase your screen resolution and turn down (or simply leave alone) things that affect shading speed (aniso, texture detail).

This is because “r_useDepthBoundsTest 1” improves the stenciled shadow volume rendering performance portion of Doom3’s rendering workload (but can’t help the shading portion).

You can SEE the benefit of “r_useDepthBoundsTest 1” by also enabling “r_showShadows 1” (that renders the shadow volumes in wireframe to visualize the shadow volumes that are otherwise rendered invisibly). If you toggle betweeen “r_useDepthBoundsTest” on an off, you’ll see less wireframe shadow stuff is rendered. This is indicative of the kind of pixel update savings going on when “r_useDepthBoundsTest” is enabled.

The wireframe shadow volume pixels you no longer see being rendered when “r_useDepthBoundsTest” is on are for pixels that are NOT going to be in shadow for a particular occluder. UltraShadow is effectively saving this pixel update work.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


He also gave more technical details about UltraShadow II.

UltraShadow II is a collection of a number of technologies including the following:

Stencil Shadowing Engine which includes:
two-sided stencil
fast z/stencil-only rendering
fast z/stencil culling
programmable depth bounds test

To enable UltraShadow II in Doom 3,
bring down the console by holding down
CTRL+ALT and hitting the ~ key. Type
in r_useDepthBoundsTest 1 and hit enter.
Then type vid_restart and hit enter. UltraShadow II
should be enabled if you’re using the
latest ForceWare and 6800 series card."

UltraShadow II was included as a feature in the NV35=5900/5950 cards as well."

Last edited by Shataan on 08-23-2004 at 03:27 PM"

Here's the original thread on Guru3D.

Cheers,

Mezkal
__________________
Core 2 Duo e6750
Gigabyte N650i DS4 Motherboard
4GB PC 6400 Corsair XMS2 DDR2 RAM
Zalman CNPS 9700 HSF
Thermaltake Soprano Case w/ clear side door and all three fans mounted
Antec TruPower 2.0 PSU
Gigabyte Geforce 8600GTS Fanless
2 x Dvico Hybrid HDTV tuners
1 x Loewe 32" SDTV @ 1440x820 custom res via SVIDEO
(can't afford a new TV just yet)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NVJoe
In defense of Cooper Lawrence : "I hate gamers and the gaming community."
mezkal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-04, 11:45 AM   #2
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: UltraShadow I and II in DOOM3

So basically UltraShadow II is really only needed for a low-end system? Is there any point to me enabling it with my 6800GT?
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-04, 12:00 PM   #3
Ninjaman09
Takin 'er easy
 
Ninjaman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jowjah
Posts: 6,687
Default Re: UltraShadow I and II in DOOM3

Apparently r_usedepthboundsTest yields little to no performance gain on high-end systems. So no, I wouldn't worry about it.
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.2 | ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 RAM
eVGA GTX 570 SC | Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX
Dell U2410
Ninjaman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-04, 06:52 PM   #4
Timothyb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 99
Default Re: UltraShadow I and II in DOOM3

Just add +r_usedepthboundstest 1 +vid_restart to your D3 shortcut and you won't have to worry about turning it on everytime you run it. The reason you have to use vid_restart is because reopening the game the boundstest defaults back to 0 for somereason instead of sticking to 1.
Timothyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-04, 07:30 AM   #5
Nutty
Sittin in the Sun
 
Nutty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,835
Send a message via MSN to Nutty
Default Re: UltraShadow I and II in DOOM3

Like I thouht, the bounds test only accelerates the stencil volumes, but because these are drawn soo fast, accelerating them makes little difference, when most of the time is spent texturing and shading.
Nutty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-04, 04:26 PM   #6
Dot50Cal
Registered User
 
Dot50Cal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 138
Default Re: UltraShadow I and II in DOOM3

Wow! I just tested this and here are my results:
4xAA 16xAF Trilinear Filtering Opts off (66.00)

Ultra Shadow off: 36.00FPS
Ultra Shadow on: 39.5 FPS

Pretty nice increase!
__________________
Core 2 Q9550
EVGA 8800GT
ASUS P5K DELUXE
G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB)
Creative GigaWorks S750 7.1
Dot50Cal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-04, 05:49 PM   #7
Shaitan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 256
Default Re: UltraShadow I and II in DOOM3

The fps uncap thingy works too. lol That was my post at guru3d. hehehhhe My quote got quoted. ;p
__________________
Asus Crosshair III
AMD Phenom™ II X4 955 Quad-Core Black Edition
Corsair 8GB XMS3-1600 DHX PC3-12800
WD VelociRaptors X 2 in RAID 0
BFG 295 GTX Rev. B
Enermax Galaxy 850 psu
CoolIT Systems Freezone
Samsung 2233rz
Shaitan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.