Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-13-04, 03:05 PM   #13
T-1000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 19
Default Re: nVidia techdemo's running slow on my 6800 !?

this is what i am talking about there isn't any opengl settings
the only options are:
-Geforce 6800
nView display settings
color corrections
video overlay settings
full screen video
trubleshooting
NVRotate
Temperature settings
refresh rate overrides
screen resolutions& refreshrates
+desktop manegment
menu editing
T-1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-04, 03:45 PM   #14
SignorSalad
Yarrr!
 
SignorSalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 244
Default Re: nVidia techdemo's running slow on my 6800 !?

Quote:
Originally Posted by T-1000
this is what i am talking about there isn't any opengl settings
the only options are:
-Geforce 6800
nView display settings
color corrections
video overlay settings
full screen video
trubleshooting
NVRotate
Temperature settings
refresh rate overrides
screen resolutions& refreshrates
+desktop manegment
menu editing
What driver is this? You should have an option in that list (usually under nview display settings and above color corrections) for "performance and quality settings" that has submenu's for OpenGL and DirectX. If its missing,t here is something wrong.

You could install coolbits2, and that option will show up then. Coolbits2 info here:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=29541
__________________
--- mostly new stuff ---
SignorSalad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-04, 11:17 PM   #15
photophreak314
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Victoria, Canada
Posts: 183
Default Re: nVidia techdemo's running slow on my 6800 !?

btw, I believe that these demos are limited to 20 fps, no matter what, as even when I change the res to 800X600, it runs at 20, and at 1280X1024, runs the same (all three demos) If you force AA/AF, it has no effect whatsoever on Timbury, as 8XAA/16XAF looks and runs the same as 0/0.

To change res, edit args.txt in the bin folder.

Another fun thing: Edit timbury args.txt, but change the number of bugs to something like 400+. It makes for a great coolness, seeing hundreds(or thousands) of bugs exploding out of a little tiny plant. Mind you it takes longer to load, and once I got up to 4000 it wouldn't load.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E4400 | 2GB DDR2 | EVGA 8800GTS 640MB SSC (625/1464/2006) | 42" 1080P Sharp Aquos
photophreak314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-04, 02:59 AM   #16
T-1000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 19
Default Re: nVidia techdemo's running slow on my 6800 !?

the multi display hardware acceleration option cant be changed so i just disabled the secound monitor(tv) but noting changed
1-2fps i nalu again
what else can i try to speed up the demo
T-1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-04, 07:28 AM   #17
SignorSalad
Yarrr!
 
SignorSalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 244
Default Re: nVidia techdemo's running slow on my 6800 !?

What driver are you running?
__________________
--- mostly new stuff ---
SignorSalad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-04, 08:55 AM   #18
anzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: nVidia techdemo's running slow on my 6800 !?

These demos run like crap on an Ultra much less a GT. It never breaks 20fps for me.
anzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-04, 10:22 AM   #19
SignorSalad
Yarrr!
 
SignorSalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 244
Default Re: nVidia techdemo's running slow on my 6800 !?

20fps for the demo should be fine. Its smooth enough to not be terribly noticable, and it shows off the power of the card. This is the norm for everyone with a 6800 series card.

T-1000's problem is that it runs at 1-2 FPS, which is radically different from running at 20FPS. I had this same problem, and the fix detailed in this very forum (although I can't find the post now) was to turn multi-hardware display accelaration in the OpenGL menu to "single display mode".


If this is grayed out and not available in your current driver T-1000, then I suggest trying a different driver in the 61.xx series or 65.xx betas.
__________________
--- mostly new stuff ---
SignorSalad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-04, 12:22 PM   #20
T-1000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 19
Default Re: nVidia techdemo's running slow on my 6800 !?

interesting
i am using
66.31 from 8/25/2004
T-1000 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-14-04, 01:19 PM   #21
T-1000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 19
Default Re: nVidia techdemo's running slow on my 6800 !?

if i whant to change this option i have to change the display mode to dualview
but i am using clone even if i use dual view and change the MDhardware acceleration only for the first monitor the fps isn't changing

i am using 320W power suply is this the problem?
T-1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-04, 02:39 PM   #22
SignorSalad
Yarrr!
 
SignorSalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 244
Default Re: nVidia techdemo's running slow on my 6800 !?

I doubt it, didn't you say that other things run well? Or does everything have this problem?
__________________
--- mostly new stuff ---
SignorSalad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-04, 03:02 PM   #23
T-1000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 19
Default Re: nVidia techdemo's running slow on my 6800 !?

i can run any demo below 5900 but the 5900Ultra and 6800 demos run very slow
i get 3100 score at 3d mark 2005
T-1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-04, 03:32 PM   #24
SignorSalad
Yarrr!
 
SignorSalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 244
Default Re: nVidia techdemo's running slow on my 6800 !?

Quote:
Originally Posted by T-1000
i can run any demo below 5900 but the 5900Ultra and 6800 demos run very slow
i get 3100 score at 3d mark 2005

that sounds right for a 6800 non-ultra. If that runs ok, then its not your power supply. What about regular games? Do DirectX games run smoothly while OpenGL games drop to 1-2 FPS? or do all games run fine?

Before I selected single display mode in the OpenGL section, I had the super low FPS problem for any OpenGL game, such as doom3, original counter-strike, and the nvidia demos.

I use dual-view, and still use it even with the single display mode selected for OpenGL. selecting that option does not change my dual-view situation at all. My desktop is expanded to the 2 monitors and games play on a single monitor while my desktop remains on the 2nd screen.

BTW, Which device do you have set as the primary device in the driver? Is it the monitor or the TV? If you are in clone mode, you could try switching them to see if that helps.
__________________
--- mostly new stuff ---
SignorSalad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia 173.14.35: Fedora 17 x86 terribly slow Mr Wolf NVIDIA Linux 25 07-02-12 02:44 AM
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 09:35 PM
NVIDIA 3123 driver on SuSE 8.0 Ok , but slow to start X Gabolander NVIDIA Linux 3 09-27-02 08:41 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.